We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a Kind Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Puerta America
Ranked #97 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
petersam
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of a Kind Hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

There is simply no other hotel like this anywhere in the world. It's not that it is the fanciest, most luxurious, or most comfortable hotel. It isn't. Rather, it's design is unique. In fact, each FLOOR was designed by a different designer, incorporating a variety of really neat elements. However, form and function don't always line up. So while I describe the good and the bad below, I would definitely stay here again, if only to try out a room on a different floor and see what that is like. At the front desk, they have tablet computers with pictures of each floor to help you choose where to stay.

I was on the 2nd floor. The rooms and hallways were clad in white leather. B&O telephones (that's extravagant). Electronic controls for windows, blinds, and lighting styles were good touches. The desk/counter was in marble. There were bowl sinks, frosted glass walls for the toilet, and three different shower heads. It was really neat. However, I did need to use the room, and that was a little odd at times. The shower had no door; instead I guess you were expected to not let too much water bounce off your body and on to the floor of the room or onto your dry towel. There were no towel hooks, just a rack just inside the shower itself. Water leaked onto the floor of the room more than once. The spigots on the sinks were so high that no matter what you did, water would splash onto the counter and the leather backsplash. There was no actual latch or door frame on the door in front of the toilet. This is not the best room for more than one person at a time. In addition, there were only two electrical outlets - one by the sink and one by the "desk"-end of the counter. So plugging in and using the iron (which you have to ask for) and using it means moving the desk chair (no wheels) or standing in a very narrow spot in front of the sink.

The room was immaculate. The sound proofing was superb. There was no street noise whatsoever. I only heard others' water running if I was directly in the bathroom.

The gym was on the 13th floor but only had a so-so view because it was set back behind the nightclub. It was only open from 8 AM to 10 PM, so it wasn't very convenient if you have an early morning meeting. Fortunately, early morning in Madrid isn't all that early. The gym is small, with one treadmill, one bike, and one elliptical along with a rack of dumbells.

The breakfast buffet was not all that good. I would have expected more for the 22 EUR it cost! I recommend instead walking to one of the restaurants on Avenida de America towards the metro stop. They're not fancy, but there are a couple of good diners there.

On that note, the location of the hotel isn't great. It is not close to anything - a 30 EUR taxi ride to the airport and a 10 EUR ride to the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room choices when you check in or look online and call ahead. Each floor is uniqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    910
    296
    106
    72
See reviews for
237
1,314
135
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here with 5 friends (3 couples) for long weekend in Madrid. Firstly the rate we got was outstanding. Great reception area, and Bar. Great views from bar on top floor also. Wide selection of rooms, a little more concerned with style than practicality but otherwise excellent. Great staff in all areas. Ate at Hotel one night and again great service and price. It is a little out of centre but in Madrid you will need to use metro's to get around so bite the bullet stay here and get a tourist ticket so you can hop on and hop off the Metro which is about 150yds away

Room Tip: We went for second floor but the higher the better the views of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanLad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel staff could not be more pleasant upon your arrival. I checked in no problem, room was lovely, had great views and was very large. The hotel itself is very well kept and extremely funky!

Breakfast is worth a mention since the selection really is excellent.

One word though - it's quite far out of central Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is freekin cool! We on the 7th floor, which is the White Floor... You have to pay a bit extra to stay in that floor for some reason - not sure why... but it was really cool. We didn't pay, we got upgraded because the hotel was full. If you don't know much about this hotel I suggest you check out their website to see all the different rooms you can choose from. OK, now here's the important stuff: The hotel is a distance from the city center, I'd say about 20 minutes on the Metro. There is a metro stop literally a 2 minute walk from the front door, so as long as you don't mind being right in the center of things, its no biggie. That was the biggest downside, but if this hotel was right in the city center the price would be double. We used the pool and the steam room...very nice! The surrounding area is nice and there are several restaurants to choose from! Very fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Here is a really orginal concept each floor of this hotel has been totally designed by an established European designer and it's amazing.

You know you have arrinved somewhere special when on arrival you are offered an IPad to select your room from, being female some forty minutes later I was still deciding!

The good news is there are eleven floor and this weekend I return to experience another floor....

I ate at the restaurant on the first night I stayed it was a truely fantastic meal. I had so many different small samplers brought to me I didn't really need to order a starter, the staff throughout this hotel are proud to work somewhere so fantastic and it shows, they are happy, helpful and charming.

I went to the bar for drinks and have to say that the music playing was fantastic, I heard so many new things, my Shazam went into overdrive! The cocktails were well made and the barman so intent on you having a good time it was hard to leave.

On the roof is a pool and a trendy open air bar that apparently is 'the place' to be at the weekends, I can understand why.

In the past I have been to Madrid and it had never really fired my imagination, having found this hotel I'd say it is fast becoming my favourite 'new' european destination that and 9 more floors to discover!

If you want something different and are inspired by good design and a completely new hotel experience then stay here, as to what floor.... I'll get back to you on that!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#99 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#155 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#28 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Property: Silken Puerta America
Address: Avenida America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Madrid
#71 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,897 - ₹ 24,694
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing