We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel @ its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silken Puerta America
Ranked #108 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel @ its best”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great designer hotel. Fixtures and fittings are top notch, staff extremely friendly and fabulous breakfast. Cocktail bar on ground floor good although could do with losing naff lounge music but still well worth the a visit. Only a slight grumble, it is a little bit out of town although metro close by. Don,t let that put you off, this hotel is the best I have stayed in when visiting Madrid. Will defo go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris11271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    928
    308
    114
    75
See reviews for
247
1,354
137
603
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was recently lodged in Hotel Silen "Puerta de America" in MAdrid.

The Hotel is fascinating. Each floor was designed by different arquitechs, fashion-people.

Nonetheless, the most exciting for me was breakfast. Just, yummi and huge range of options.

Only handicap was that my room had a proyector and screen in bed, which was superb but you could not rent a movie to watch it on te screen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The location is not good if you're a tourist, as it's a half-hour subway ride with a couple changes to get to the city center. We were there for a meeting, so the location was bearable, and it's about a 20 min walk or short cab ride to Calle Serrano, which has some great restaurants and shopping.

I didn't like the rooms in this hotel at all. Over a 3-week period, I stayed in rooms on the 8th, 9th and 10th floors. Overall what annoys me about this hotel is that design trumps practicality. A common theme of rooms on all three floors I tried: very little space to store clothes. Yeah I had a lot for a 3-week trip, but I can't imagine sharing the space with another person even when packing more lightly.

The 10th floor is almost all black -- even if this doesn't depress you, the shower will, as it's designed so that water will spray all over the bathroom floor. Also unless you reach the shower through the bathtub, you'll get blasted with cold water when turning the water on.

The 9th floor was the "best" of the ones I stayed on. The only annoying impracticality was the bathroom faucet had only a temperature control. So the water was either off or on full blast, which I think would be annoying if sharing the room and using the bathroom in the middle of the night.

The 8th floor is all white and arguably the least practically designed of all. There's a dearth of towel racks, so to have a towel nearby the centrally located bathtub/shower, you need to rest the towel on the cramped sink area. The bath/shower itself is a disaster, as the design guarantees that with the slightest draft, the shower curtain will envelop your body -- all I could think about what how nasty this must be, with all the previous guests. The worst though is that whatever materials were used to build this floor, they amplify sound to the point that you can hear EVERYTHING from the hallway. The first night I literally thought I forgot to close my door, the sounds were so clear.

Except for the 10th floor, the other rooms I stayed in had very minimal desk space, so forget about really working in your room.

While wireless is free at this hotel, it's also very slow and unreliable. In my room on the 9th floor, it barely worked at all. The worst though is that every time you log in, a username and password must be entered. And it's a ridiculous password, like "9DdfX4ga", which is fun to type on a smartphone. Then there's the annoyance of having this log in only valid for three days, after which you have to remember to ask the front desk for another code.

Special damnation is reserved for the gym. This is easily the worst gym I've ever experienced in my life. Why even bother having one? Once again design trumps practicality, as it's all black and almost completely dark, with glass walls. The first time there I was paranoid about walking into a wall as my eyes were adjusting to the light. I understand in Europe gyms are small and less highly prized, but there's no need to make a gym look like a nightclub. Also the temperature control didn't seem to work, so in combination from the humidity (and chlorine scent from the adjacent pool), I almost felt like collapsing after 30 minutes on the elliptical, despite being in decent shape.

The service at the hotel is average and the sandwiches in the lobby bar are good for a quick dinner. Overall though, the impractical design of this hotel is a huge turnoff for me. Maybe for a quick weekend trip this is ok, but for three weeks it's uncomfortable to say the least.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th and 10th floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria K, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Puerta America, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Costumer,

The Hotel Silken Puerta América is a project that has brought together nineteen of the top architecture and design studios in the world, and what makes our hotel a unique place, where our guest can enjoy not only the avant-garde design but the creativity of the architects.
We regret than you have not enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have not found the rooms comfortable, we can assure that everything is working properly.
We really appreciate your comments and we will be working in order to improve whatever could be improved, as you said, at the 8th floor the towel rack is not as close as it must be from the shower, and we are studying a solution.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments,

Kind regards,


Valeria Knop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here and chose a Mark Newson room which was great. Had a brilliant price booked through British Airways which included a delicious breakfast. Room and hotel in general very clean and well maintained. The top floor bar was empty when we popped up, but I imagine it is full of the beautiful crowd in high season. The gym/pool area on the top floor are not worth packing clothes for! That was the only gripe. Everything else was great. The underground metro network is on the doorstep and is superb and very cheap. Puts London to shame. Great hotel and fantastic value for money if you are looking for a base to explore Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Silken Puerta America is a superbly designed, welcoming hotel. The design influence brings beauty to every floor - I ended up riding up and down the lift to check out all the different floors. The service is good and dining options reasonable. The breakfast is outstandingly good. Room was clean and well laid out, beautifully designed and very trendy. Overall, strongly recommended !

Room Tip: Use the iPad at check in to select your favourite style !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#97 of 436 in Madrid
2,103 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 436 in Madrid
899 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 436 in Madrid
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#60 of 436 in Madrid
2,201 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,945 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#150 of 436 in Madrid
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Property: Silken Puerta America
Address: Avenida America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,160 - ₹ 26,003
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing