We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and in a lovely area”
Review of TOTEM Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TOTEM Madrid
Ranked #49 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Superb hotel and service. In a excellent location close to all the select stores . A 15 minute walk from Buen Retiro park and other locations. Rooms are tasteful and spotless with turndown. Showers are big sunflower heads which are needed in this hot city. Really good find which is such value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank parsley2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTotem, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Parslez2314,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at TÓTEM MADRID and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you have appreciated the location of our hotel as well as the design and comfort of our rooms. As for the showers, it is good to hear that they succeeded to freshen you up during our warm summer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon,

Best regards,

M Andreu
Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

TOTEM is a super nice, modern and very well-located new hotel. And considering the location, not expensive (yet). As a cousin to one of my other favorite hotels in Madrid, Hotel Urso (in barrio Malasaña), I expected high quality rooms and was not disappointed. Rooms are normal size for Europe. Everything worked very well (AC, shower, lights, bedding, furniture all top notch) and the modern design scheme is nice without being bland or too expensive. It is located on the prettiest street in barrio Salamanca, near to many top shops and restaurants. (And all the shops are not large brands, some are small, unusual boutiques.) Bar is very light and nice, wish it had windows to the street. Restaurant (Hermosillos y Malditos, aka The Pretty & the Damned) is pretty but food is damned by blandness (coffees were good, the usual hotel breakfast is good, good place to meet people). For life, I still like Malasana or Chueca or Las Letras barrios better, but for unfamiliar visitors to Madrid this area is hard to beat (close to Retiro Park for lots of greenery and a run or stroll).

Room Tip: For quiet, overlook courtyard, although boring view. Views onto Calle Hermosilla have big nice wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkpk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear pkpk1,

Thanks a lot for taking the time of sharing your experience at TÓTEM Madrid and for the excelent review giving to this stay.

I am glad you enjoyed the unbeatable location of the hotel in the reknown Salamanca district and also glad that we didn't dissapoint your expectations, taking into consideration you already knew our sister property, Hotel Urso & Spa.

I also want to thank you for your kind words about our hotel facilities, Cocktail Bar and Restaurant and the confort of our rooms. Clients' satisfaction is our aim and it is fantastic to see we have fulfilled your needs and that we achieve to create a unique experience.

We hope to welcome you again at TÓTEM very soon,

Best regards,

M Andreu
Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable. The hotel is well located in the Salamanca section, walking distance to good restaurants, shopping and easy access to museums. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and all spoke English well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Michael K,
Thank you for your lovely feedback about your experience with us and thank you for choosing TÓTEM for your stay in Madrid. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our staff.
I am delighted to know you enjoyed our room facilities and our privileged location in the trendy district of Salamanca. As you mentioned, TÓTEM has indeed an unbeatable location, surrounded by many luxury boutiques and various gastronomic options, and it is at a short distance from the most famous sightseeings of Madrid.

We hope to welcome you again at TÓTEM Madrid.

Warm regards,
Manuel Andreu,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This gem of a boutique 4 star hotel is located in the heart of Salamanca, Madrid's upscale, leafy residential neighborhood. Situated on a relatively quiet tree lined boulevard the Totem is the perfect place from which to explore this amazing city's key sights and attractions that are more predominantly located in more frenetic areas, but to then retreat at night back to a more relaxed and peaceful haven. Madrid is a great pedestrian city and during our 3 day stay we walked to numerous attractions including the Reina Sofia museum, the Prado, Plaza Mayor and the Royal Palace. Closer to home the Totem is surrounded by not only the regular world luxury brand name outlets, but numerous more affordable designer shopping options, along with a host of fantastic restaurants, cafes and other specialty stores (there's a wonderful artisan chocolate shop just up the street from the hotel). While I can't comment on the other rooms, which some reviewers have classed as small, we stayed in a Junior Corner Suite which was light, airy and spacious with pleasant views over the surrounding residential dwellings. Service at the hotel was first class with extremely helpful front reception staff, while the ground level bar area was a great atmosphere in which to enjoy refreshing drinks after a hectic day of sightseeing. The adjoins restaurant which appears to be independently managed served a decent but limited choice breakfast which was included in the room rate. Also, ate dinner there one night and the food was excellent and very well priced. However, a few small quibbles detract from an otherwise perfect stay.
Every day the cleaners would take away the key card activating the room's power and AC resulting in us having to constantly ask the reception for a second card key. Presumably as part of the same sustainability program the room's mini bar fridge was automatically turned off at midnight until the morning resulting in drinks remaining luke warm during our stay. While this didn't overly inconvenience us, other guests who use the mini bar more frequently would find this a hindrance.
Despite these minor concerns I highly recommend the Totem as a Madrid hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Corner was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MoreFunForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTotem, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear MoreFunForever,

Thank you for for having chosen TÓTEM Madrid for your stay in Madrid, and thank you for your lovely words about our Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our fantastic location in the residential district of Salamanca, where visitors and madrideans meet up in the most upper class boutiques and restaurants of Madrid. It is also as you mentioned, the perfect place for visitors seeking for a quiet place, a few steps away from the most famous sightseeings of Madrid.

I am delighted to know you appreciated the comfort and view of our Junior Suite. It is indeed one of our brightest rooms due to its location in the corner of the building and its three large windows.

Regarding our breakfast, our aim is to fulfill all our guests’ whishes, however it can sometimes happen that a guest remains unsatisfied. Therefore, I am open to any suggestion regarding the proposed options. We continuously strive to improve our services and products, and I believe guests’ feedback is one of the most relevant tools to do it.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused with your room keys. After checking with the housekeeping department, I found out that the maids actually use their proper cards in order to turn on the light while cleaning, and they probably must have taken your key by mistake.

Concerning the minibar, the system turns off during the night for two reasons: firstly, it is as you said part of our sustainability programm, and secondly, to avoid disturbing noises during the night. However these minibars are specially manufactured to maintain the same temperature during 10 hours after being turned off. If it was not the case, it is likely that there was a failure with this minibar in particular. I kindly invite you to contact me directly at totem@totem-madrid.com to find out which room it was and fix it.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at TÓTEM Madrid on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Warm regards,

Manuel Andreu,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The Totem is located conveniently in a central area, but tucked away on a beautiful, quiet street. We enjoyed strolling the tree lined neighborhoods shops, restaurants, bars, and cafes. Reception staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly. Always with genuine smiles and kind words. Our room was clean, elegant, and sleek. The bathroom had large soaking tub and separate shower. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft, luxurious linens. Hotel bar was a stylish retreat with a cool vibe, bartenders energetic and accommodating. Overall, we felt nicly pampered during our stay. We were pleased with location, service and amenities of this hotel and will be happy to visit again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smbschaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTotem, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank your for your nice review about your experience with us. I will make sure to pass along your feedback to all our staff.

Regarding our location, it is as you mention excellent for visitors who are looking for a central, trendy and luxurious environment with various shopping and gastronomic options, and at the same time like to enjoy the quietness of the hotel’s surroundings.

I am glad to know you also enjoyed the unique atmosphere we try to spread throughout the hotel, from the room areas to the Cocktail Bar. It is mainly thanks to our devoted staff and to our contemporary design that we manage creating this singular ambiance.

We would be pleased to welcome you again should you plan to visit Madrid in the future.

Warm regards,

Manuel Andreu,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#17 of 442 in Madrid
496 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#27 of 442 in Madrid
586 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#5 of 442 in Madrid
884 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOTEM Madrid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOTEM Madrid

Address: Calle Hermosilla 23, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Hermosilla)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#66 Business Hotel in Madrid
#153 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 11,446 - ₹ 20,490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TOTEM Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lifestyle-boutique hotel located in Madrid city Center. Elegant and contemporary, TÓTEM MADRID is located on a beautifully restored heritage building placed on the corner between Hermosilla and Lagasca Streets, connecting you to the best of Barrio de Salamanca, the most upscale district and the luxury fashion hub of Madrid. A charming fifteen minute walk or quick subway ride to the city center and the Triangle of Art Museums. 4 stars Hotel, urbane and distinctive with luxurious and smooth finishes, all in TOTEM MADRID exudes sophistication combined with a modern and cosmopolitan style creating a fresh environment, the perfect place for a business or a leisure stay in the capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your TOTEM Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hermosilla Madrid
Hesperia Hermosilla Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing