We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
464
495
169
68
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
495
169
68
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor oldest hotel great location family room frosted glass bunk beds pedestrian area central location can't beat the location rooms are small walking distance charming hotel would definitely stay here again great shower fourth floor internet access front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is well located but some challenges with noise from street from (no matter that there appears to be sound proof windows - just noises till mid a.m.). Rooms nice but avoid 119, windowless dungeon (should not have to pay full price for such a room). Staff friendly, breakfast good, wi-fi worked well. If you want to sleep this may not be hotel for you.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Aussie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate for taking the time to write the comment, we appreciate knowing that your stay at Petit Palace Posada del Peine has met their expectations, although specific details were not to his liking. Thank you for your confidence in us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Sept 2012. 1st impressions were bad. A dingy, tiny foyer and it took forever to register and get a key. Our 1st room on level 1 had cafe/restuarant tables literally right outside our window. After insisting on another room we were moved to the second floor where the noise was marginally less. This hotel was very noisey at night, with cafe patrons etc until 11.30-12.00pm then at around 4am every morning the garbage hopper trucks sounded like they were coming thtough the door! Everytime you opened the door to the room, 3 or 4 ceiling tiles lifted and dropped with a bang - too bad for the people on either side if they were asleep.

The bathroom needed lots of attention and there was no plug for the sink. That didn't matter too much as the water took forever to leave the basin anyway. The hotel is very dimly lit and dingy looking. I'd rate it 2 star at best.

The breakfast room was the best feature of the hotel. Well lit and a good spread of food.

Didn't like being so close the Plaza Mayor because there were just too many people and there were lots of beggars etc in this part of Madrid. If I ever go back, I'll stay in a modern hotel in the newer part if the city.

parrabill

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear guest,
 
First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important to improve our services and facilities. As you said, the hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to Plaza Mayor, opposite the famous and visited Mercado de San Miguel and a short walk from Puerta del Sol, which is a great advantage for the most of our guests .

Regrettably, we can not prevent it from being a busy street, but as you may check, the hotel is soundproofed with double window. We can't do anymore, I'm sorry if it was a nuisance. We are glad that our breakfast buffet was to your liking, we will strive to improve it.
 
Best regards
Prado Nombela Barroso | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Loved the location! Located less than a minute from Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. There is great food all around, shopping, bus and train stations within a 3 minute walk. The breakfast is reasonably priced and offers a wonderful selection. We received a smoking room, but there was no smell.

Room tip: Floors 1&2 were non-smoking.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and for making us your feedback about it. We're glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay. As you say, the hotel is situated in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions. Hoping you come back soon.

Merry Christmas,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pros:
- Great location, very close to Plaza Mayor and Sol, and most other Madrid attractions are walkable. Sol is less than an hour from the airport on the metro.
- Free wifi (code available at front desk)
- Comfortable beds
- Warm room
- Large bathroom with powerful shower

Cons:
- Room is quite small for the price
- Slightly dated
- Lot of noise from outside, being so close to main square

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for choosing Petit Palace Posada del Peine for your stay in Madrid. We are glad to read that the hotel has details that they were to your liking. We will work in your comment to improve the cons, as we work for maximum customer satisfaction. Wishing you a happy 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The best thing of this hotel is great localization near the most famous place in Madrid - plaza Mayor. It's easy to take a trip from this place, because few steps from hotel is metro station - Sol. Hotel building is very old but rooms have different style - very modern. Doble room costs around 150euros.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important for improve our services and facilities. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations. As you say, Petit Palace Posada del Peine is located in the heart of the city, close to Plaza Mayor, the Mercado de San Miguel, the Puerta del Sol and the main tourist attractions of the city as the Royal Palace and Gran Via St.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews