We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Location poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #98 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we choosed this hotel because we thought it is a 4* at the end the hotel merit only 2* also they don't mention that you have to handle all your luggage for 200 meters on arrival cause no cars are allowed to enter this zone and you have to leave the hotel before 7am on departure to be able to get taxi front hotel door otherwise 200meters again.
the good thing it is in the heart of the city for those who don't look for a comfort the hotel still acceptable.

Room Tip: It is not a 4* hotel I think it just 2*
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 310 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is well located but some challenges with noise from street from (no matter that there appears to be sound proof windows - just noises till mid a.m.). Rooms nice but avoid 119, windowless dungeon (should not have to pay full price for such a room). Staff friendly, breakfast good, wi-fi worked well. If you want to sleep this may not be hotel for you.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Aussie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate for taking the time to write the comment, we appreciate knowing that your stay at Petit Palace Posada del Peine has met their expectations, although specific details were not to his liking. Thank you for your confidence in us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Sept 2012. 1st impressions were bad. A dingy, tiny foyer and it took forever to register and get a key. Our 1st room on level 1 had cafe/restuarant tables literally right outside our window. After insisting on another room we were moved to the second floor where the noise was marginally less. This hotel was very noisey at night, with cafe patrons etc until 11.30-12.00pm then at around 4am every morning the garbage hopper trucks sounded like they were coming thtough the door! Everytime you opened the door to the room, 3 or 4 ceiling tiles lifted and dropped with a bang - too bad for the people on either side if they were asleep.

The bathroom needed lots of attention and there was no plug for the sink. That didn't matter too much as the water took forever to leave the basin anyway. The hotel is very dimly lit and dingy looking. I'd rate it 2 star at best.

The breakfast room was the best feature of the hotel. Well lit and a good spread of food.

Didn't like being so close the Plaza Mayor because there were just too many people and there were lots of beggars etc in this part of Madrid. If I ever go back, I'll stay in a modern hotel in the newer part if the city.

parrabill

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear guest,
 
First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important to improve our services and facilities. As you said, the hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to Plaza Mayor, opposite the famous and visited Mercado de San Miguel and a short walk from Puerta del Sol, which is a great advantage for the most of our guests .

Regrettably, we can not prevent it from being a busy street, but as you may check, the hotel is soundproofed with double window. We can't do anymore, I'm sorry if it was a nuisance. We are glad that our breakfast buffet was to your liking, we will strive to improve it.
 
Best regards
Prado Nombela Barroso | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Loved the location! Located less than a minute from Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. There is great food all around, shopping, bus and train stations within a 3 minute walk. The breakfast is reasonably priced and offers a wonderful selection. We received a smoking room, but there was no smell.

Room Tip: Floors 1&2 were non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and for making us your feedback about it. We're glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay. As you say, the hotel is situated in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions. Hoping you come back soon.

Merry Christmas,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pros:
- Great location, very close to Plaza Mayor and Sol, and most other Madrid attractions are walkable. Sol is less than an hour from the airport on the metro.
- Free wifi (code available at front desk)
- Comfortable beds
- Warm room
- Large bathroom with powerful shower

Cons:
- Room is quite small for the price
- Slightly dated
- Lot of noise from outside, being so close to main square

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for choosing Petit Palace Posada del Peine for your stay in Madrid. We are glad to read that the hotel has details that they were to your liking. We will work in your comment to improve the cons, as we work for maximum customer satisfaction. Wishing you a happy 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#90 of 440 in Madrid
992 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 440 in Madrid
764 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 6,133 - ₹ 16,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing