We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
461
486
165
67
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
486
165
67
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor oldest hotel family room great location frosted glass bunk beds literally steps pedestrian area central location can't beat the location walking distance rooms are small great shower would definitely stay here again charming hotel internet access front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Loved the location! Located less than a minute from Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. There is great food all around, shopping, bus and train stations within a 3 minute walk. The breakfast is reasonably priced and offers a wonderful selection. We received a smoking room, but there was no smell.

Room Tip: Floors 1&2 were non-smoking.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and for making us your feedback about it. We're glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay. As you say, the hotel is situated in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions. Hoping you come back soon.

Merry Christmas,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pros:
- Great location, very close to Plaza Mayor and Sol, and most other Madrid attractions are walkable. Sol is less than an hour from the airport on the metro.
- Free wifi (code available at front desk)
- Comfortable beds
- Warm room
- Large bathroom with powerful shower

Cons:
- Room is quite small for the price
- Slightly dated
- Lot of noise from outside, being so close to main square

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for choosing Petit Palace Posada del Peine for your stay in Madrid. We are glad to read that the hotel has details that they were to your liking. We will work in your comment to improve the cons, as we work for maximum customer satisfaction. Wishing you a happy 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The best thing of this hotel is great localization near the most famous place in Madrid - plaza Mayor. It's easy to take a trip from this place, because few steps from hotel is metro station - Sol. Hotel building is very old but rooms have different style - very modern. Doble room costs around 150euros.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important for improve our services and facilities. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations. As you say, Petit Palace Posada del Peine is located in the heart of the city, close to Plaza Mayor, the Mercado de San Miguel, the Puerta del Sol and the main tourist attractions of the city as the Royal Palace and Gran Via St.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Petit Palace, Posada del Peine is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Old Town Madrid. It is located half a block to the Plaza Major and a couple of blocks to Puerta Del Sol. Direct access to the hotel with baggage can be tricky because after 11:00am, no cars or taxis are able to access Calle Postas, and you must walk the last long block to the hotel over a rough cobblestone street. However, the hotel is definitely worth the trouble to get there. The hotel consumes most of a very old, triangle-shaped building which encompasses several old buildings linked together inside; there are multiple levels of each floor with several different staircases and hallways on each floor - easy to get lost in the hallways until you learn your way around.

The rooms are not huge, but very modern, well-organized and comfortable with large baths and step-out balconies. The hotel offers free internet access and even provides a laptop in each room! Bed and linen quality was very good, as should be expected for a 4-star hotel. Although, for the additional cost of 10 Euros/person, I would not recommend their breakfast because there are so many wonderful cafés nearby which serve breakfast. The front-desk staff was extremely helpful with advice and a map. I look forward to staying at the Petit Palace again!

Room Tip: From what I learned, most of the rooms are the same size and they all would have the same view; your only choice would be one or two beds - there are no "deluxe" or "suite" rooms, but all are very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenaswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Posada del Peine.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop was of help to you.

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Best regards
Eri Martinez Varela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel itself is an old building, so there are some expectable issues with the upkeep, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel room. The morning buffet was good, the staff friendly, and there was another cafe right outside the hotel doors. Our main reason for booking this hotel was that it's a stone's throw from the Plaza Mayor, which was our base for touring Madrid. Close to the Puerta del Sol, also, for mass transit.

No WiFi in rooms, but there was a laptop there for personal use that we used to access the internet during our stay. I found the bed comfortable. Room tight and we would have liked to have luggage racks, but bathroom larger than many we've seen in older buildings. Good shower. Plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Upper floors are likely smaller rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKCOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear guest:

We appreciate your comments and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion .

All the staff works hard in the hotel to ensure the majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay. I am sorry we couldn’t fulfil your all expectations.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Prado Nombela Barroso ( Gerente)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews