We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveller rating
453
479
164
67
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
479
164
67
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayoroldest hotelfamily roomgreat locationfrosted glassbunk bedsliterally stepspedestrian areacentral locationcan't beat the locationwalking distancerooms are smallgreat showerwould definitely stay here againcharming hotelinternet accessfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first night in Spain and first of two nights in Madrid. We stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of our trip, than again one more night at the end of our trip some 12 days later. This room for our family of four was spacious, with a queen bed for my wife and I and bunk beds for the kids. Location, just 100 yards from Plaza Mayor and not much further from Puerta del Sol was fantastic. Laptop in room was nice, but connection a bit slow. Room was clean, beds comfortable and staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel. The draw back was the bathroom, which seems to be the norm in this chain. The frosted glass door had no latch to close it. The shower/tub, had a half glass shower screen which means you had to be careful when showering to not get the rest of the bathroom wet. There was a separate shower/sauna with no operating instructions, needing and engineering degree to get it to work, which we never did. Not too much street noise given the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lump62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Hotel was clean and rooms very well furnished. Free wifi, laptop in room , nice large fridge / minibar. Comfortable beds , only drawback that it was two singles instead of a double that I thought I had booked.
Shower room equipped with good shower, clean towels and nice toiletries. Phone and wall mounted tv . Air con. All in all very nice room and comfortable with lively little balcony overlooking lovely side street and not too noisy .
Staff were friendly helpful and courteous at all times abd breakfast was quite good also .
Hotel location was superb. 15 min walks to royal palace prado museum, right at the corner of plaza de mayor.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here on the 22nd and 23rd of September 2011. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy. The rooms were more than adequate with everything you would need for a short stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and we had breakfast which we found to be great value.
But most importantly the hotel is in a great location, central to everything. A couple of good tapas bars close to the hotel were La Descubierta and La Panera, definately worth a visit!
The best way to get from the airport to Madrids main square is by metro, here are some helpful directions:
After collecting your baggage, it's a bit of a walk to the exit.
Keep walking towards the exit and eventually you'll see diamond shaped signs with "metro" on them; follow these signs (the entrance is inside the airport).
- Each subway line is signified by a colour and a number. To differentiate between both directions each line takes, each one is signified by the final stop on that line in that direction.
There is only one subway line to take from the airport, pink line (No. 8), and it only goes in one direction, so it's impossible to go wrong.
There is an intercom system on the trains to announce consecutive stops.
Stay on this line until the last stop, Nuevos Ministerios.
Disembark and take the dark blue line (No. 10, direction Puerta del Sur) 3 stops to Tribunal.
Disembark and take the light blue line (No. 1, direction Valdecarros) 2 stops to Sol.
There are a number of exits but they are all in close proximity to each other on the main square.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Overall I would agree with the previous few reviewers, it wasn't great but it wasn't atrocious. M

Positives: Bathroom with massage shower, reasonable sized room, excellent location.

Negatives:
Service - a million miles from 4*, despite asking for various broken items (toilet seat, mini bar, door key thing) to be fixed on the first night & again on the second they were not, we were offered a new room for the 3rd and final night but declined as it seemed too much hassle .

Decor - dated & in my opinion not at all boutique. Laptop in the room was extremely slow & dated - not very high tech really.
Cleanliness could be improved especially in bathrooms (mouldy shower seal)

Breakfast - offered as a good will gesture - having tried it we were glad we didn't pay the extra for it! Served in a cellar room, the hot food looked like it had been offered on more than one morning but cold selection was passable. Would recommend coffee & pastries etc in plaza mayor/elsewhere.

We didn't have a problem with the beds as other reviewers found although offering a 2nd pillow would be nice. All in all I'd mark it "Must Try Harder".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fjbLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We just left this hotel in Madrid. This is a great location right off Plaza Mayor. The front desk staff were very nice, but the room was very small and had a LOT of problems! Light bulbs out (never fixed after reporting), toilet seat broken and laying loose (fixed after reporting) and trim broken on the main writing table...it looks like this hotel needs a lot of loving maintenance attention.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews