We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #89 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Posada del Peine is among a chain of "high tech hotels" in Madrid. As we wandered around town I observed at least two others. I am not sure what makes them "high tech"? There is a laptop in each room which is included in the room price. There is also free wifi available. The old Dell was somewhat useful to check-in online or look at the train schedule though I am always reluctant to venture into my personal email or any bank account as I know key-stroke recorders and sniffers exist. (I don't want to hand anyone my login or password on a silver platter).
There was nothing brilliant about this hotel. The room size was average (square) with a queen bed and a quarter of the space being taken up by a frosted glass cube which was the bathroom/shower. The wallpaper was dingy/worn as was the carpet. The light fixture were dated and the room as a whole appeared "worn". It's not dumpy, just worn and dated. The flat panel TV was hanging the wall swivel mount by one last bolt so I notified housekeeping - Nothing was ever done to correct. There is a breakfast spread available in the basement, however, we opted to wander out for all our meals.
This location was great. One block from Puerta del Sol where you can catch the Metro to anywhere. Two train connections had use to the bullfights or soccer stadium (Real Madrid). It was also very easy to navigate to/from the airport via metro.
The Plaza Mayor is a stone’s throw East. Many dining options but in our case, we ate little places off the beaten path with the locals and only drank and people watched in the Mayor.
On the other side of Mayor was the market with fresh juices, breads, sushi, tapas... anything you could imagine. A little pricey but worth a visit after 11am.
The Royal Palace is within 10 minutes walking as are many other attractions. I don't know if this was the "best location" to stay in Madrid but it did not disappoint us.

Room Tip: The higher the better though street noise was never an issue here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOTurTYPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 373 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first night in Spain and first of two nights in Madrid. We stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of our trip, than again one more night at the end of our trip some 12 days later. This room for our family of four was spacious, with a queen bed for my wife and I and bunk beds for the kids. Location, just 100 yards from Plaza Mayor and not much further from Puerta del Sol was fantastic. Laptop in room was nice, but connection a bit slow. Room was clean, beds comfortable and staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel. The draw back was the bathroom, which seems to be the norm in this chain. The frosted glass door had no latch to close it. The shower/tub, had a half glass shower screen which means you had to be careful when showering to not get the rest of the bathroom wet. There was a separate shower/sauna with no operating instructions, needing and engineering degree to get it to work, which we never did. Not too much street noise given the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lump62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Hotel was clean and rooms very well furnished. Free wifi, laptop in room , nice large fridge / minibar. Comfortable beds , only drawback that it was two singles instead of a double that I thought I had booked.
Shower room equipped with good shower, clean towels and nice toiletries. Phone and wall mounted tv . Air con. All in all very nice room and comfortable with lively little balcony overlooking lovely side street and not too noisy .
Staff were friendly helpful and courteous at all times abd breakfast was quite good also .
Hotel location was superb. 15 min walks to royal palace prado museum, right at the corner of plaza de mayor.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here on the 22nd and 23rd of September 2011. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy. The rooms were more than adequate with everything you would need for a short stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and we had breakfast which we found to be great value.
But most importantly the hotel is in a great location, central to everything. A couple of good tapas bars close to the hotel were La Descubierta and La Panera, definately worth a visit!
The best way to get from the airport to Madrids main square is by metro, here are some helpful directions:
After collecting your baggage, it's a bit of a walk to the exit.
Keep walking towards the exit and eventually you'll see diamond shaped signs with "metro" on them; follow these signs (the entrance is inside the airport).
- Each subway line is signified by a colour and a number. To differentiate between both directions each line takes, each one is signified by the final stop on that line in that direction.
There is only one subway line to take from the airport, pink line (No. 8), and it only goes in one direction, so it's impossible to go wrong.
There is an intercom system on the trains to announce consecutive stops.
Stay on this line until the last stop, Nuevos Ministerios.
Disembark and take the dark blue line (No. 10, direction Puerta del Sur) 3 stops to Tribunal.
Disembark and take the light blue line (No. 1, direction Valdecarros) 2 stops to Sol.
There are a number of exits but they are all in close proximity to each other on the main square.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegaldanny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Overall I would agree with the previous few reviewers, it wasn't great but it wasn't atrocious. M

Positives: Bathroom with massage shower, reasonable sized room, excellent location.

Negatives:
Service - a million miles from 4*, despite asking for various broken items (toilet seat, mini bar, door key thing) to be fixed on the first night & again on the second they were not, we were offered a new room for the 3rd and final night but declined as it seemed too much hassle .

Decor - dated & in my opinion not at all boutique. Laptop in the room was extremely slow & dated - not very high tech really.
Cleanliness could be improved especially in bathrooms (mouldy shower seal)

Breakfast - offered as a good will gesture - having tried it we were glad we didn't pay the extra for it! Served in a cellar room, the hot food looked like it had been offered on more than one morning but cold selection was passable. Would recommend coffee & pastries etc in plaza mayor/elsewhere.

We didn't have a problem with the beds as other reviewers found although offering a 2nd pillow would be nice. All in all I'd mark it "Must Try Harder".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fjbLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 442 in Madrid
1,813 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 442 in Madrid
4,043 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 442 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 7,064 - ₹ 17,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing