We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet people!”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #15 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I stayed in a 19 bed mixed dorm with 2 friends. We were lucky with our roommates as everyone was lovely and friendly. Beds very comfortable. Three showers and three toilets in the room which was perfectly sufficient.

Cheap drinks in the bar, the sangria is so good!

Location is about a 5 minute walk to Sol and it is in a nice area.

Didn't do the walking tour but I have heard it's very good.

I would definitely return to this hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Hi there,
So happy to know you had fun with us!!! We are looking forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 198 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Cat's Hostel offers a great free walking tour Monday-Saturday! Gianpaolo was a great tour guide! After giving us a tour of Madrid for an hour and a half he gave everyone advice on where to go, eat, drink, etc. After the tour we had the most amazing day! Gianpaolo walked around Madrid with us, had lunch with us, and showed us some great local spots! I would definitely recommend this hostel and walking tour!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kirby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Hi, thanks very much for your comment!!! We are so happy to know you took the walking tour with our best tour guide Gianpaolo, he is great!!! A lot of more activities are waiting for you in your next time with us!!!!! Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

As a first time backpacker, I quite enjoyed Cat's hostel. It is a great place to meet new people! They also have this amazing terrace in the center where you can hang out and decompress (see below). I highly recommend Gianpaulo's 11 am walking tour of Madrid. He is extremely knowledgable and personable and knows how to help you find whatever you are looking for. He even sat with me after the tour and mapped out all the local spots to hit with the best views of the city. Make sure to tip because his salary is based on customer tips. I love Madrid and would come back to this hostel again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kaynast24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you very much for leaving this comment. Glad to know you liked our free walking tour. Gianpaulo is great!!!Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Ok..where do I even begin... I am just back a few days from my first visit to Madrid and holy hell what a week it was!! :D The hostels, Cat's and Mad were equally the best fun ever with the nicest staff ever, who went above and beyond for us. As soon as we arrived at the hostel, the staff made us feel like we were at home and so welcome. Big shout out to the best pub crawl guide Isabelle!! :D Thank you for the best week ever and for looking after us and making sure we had so much fun every night :D it was an epic week and I cannot wait to come back :)

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Just returned from a few days staying here. Location of the hostel is AMAZING and close to everything you need - restaurants, shopping, museums etc. Bar had a great atmosphere with cheap drinks and had the chance to go on one bar crawl too. Bar crawl was good fun with all the people who went but a little slow and we only went to a few places - don't bother paying extra for Kapital, wasn't that great.

We had a room in the attic and felt it was very clean and AC worked well on bottom bunks, not so well for my friend on top. Showers were hot and bathrooms kept clean throughout the stay.

A special massive thank you to the staff member called Sergio. After an incident in our room with another guest he sorted everything out, even at 4am and nothing was too much to ask. Thank you so much Sergio for listening and sorting everything out for us!

Room Tip: Bar crawl to Kaptiol not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#4 of 424 in Madrid
377 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 424 in Madrid
901 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 424 in Madrid
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#10 of 424 in Madrid
590 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#11 of 424 in Madrid
913 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#12 of 424 in Madrid
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 1,404 - ₹ 6,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing