We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #47 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great either”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked int De las letras for my girlriends 30th for 4 days, and chose this hotel specifically as it had the opton of terrace rooms with jacuzzi so we culd get some sunbathing in as well as seeing the city etc. The reception staff ere pleasant enough and we were given a room (604) at the side of the hotel off of Grand Via (which I requested) initally all seemed great, spacious room, large terrace, great views, afternoon sun, then as soon as I turned the jacuzzi on alarm bells rang, it made a noise like a knackered hoover but 3 times as loud, which kind of counters the whole relaxing spa experience we were hoping for. But we decided to overlook that as we were settled and unpacked. After our first day and meal out we decided to have a late night jacuzzi only to discover it was broken. phoned reception who sent an engineer up to repair the next morning. A boiler suit clad man came the next morning and repaired the motor, whic promptly broke about ten minutes after he left, so called reception again, repair man came back up with boss and repaired it again. We then headed out for the day only to return later to discover the jacuzzi was broken again. Called reception again and they offered to move us to another room the next day, not ideal but what choice did we have. So the next day we were offered a couple of options on the same floor and opted for 608, smaller room on Grand Via but bigger terrace and the jacuzzi made no noise. But despite the inconvenience caused, and the fact that we had a dodgy jacuzzi in first room (something I susspect we arent the first to discover and they are too tight, skint to repair) we were offered nothing in compensation, not a comp bottle of wine, dinner in restaurant, nothing. Now I know I could have pushed for this, but as a decent hotel this is something they should do as a matter of course. So overall it was ok, but the second room was smaller, the jacuzzi while quieter was a lot colder, so it kind of tainted what was meant to be a very special trip. On the upside they maids keep it very clean, and it s location is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0dy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    604
    104
    46
    29
See reviews for
194
755
100
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night trip to Madrid and stayed at this beautiful hotel. I think we were so very lucky to get room 610 which is a duplex on the top floor with the bedroom on the upper part. It is surrounded by floor to ceiling arched windows which is stunning. We slept so well with the blackout curtains. The service was faultless and the breakfast superb. The hotel has a great boutique feel to it and is centrally located in Grand Via just a few hundred metres from the Metro. It's so easy to walk to the main spots and the Madrid tour bus has a stop just across the road. Madrid is a fantastic city and I would always look to stay at this hotel if we are lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: From our experience, try to upgrade to a 6th floor room. Check out the actual hotel website for deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had two great weekends in Madrid staying at this hotel, staying with two other couples.

The hotel is located not far from the center of town, so everything is walkable. It's a fairly busy street - Gran Via - but it didn't seem to intrude.

They had a promotion on that if you paid with Amex you got an upgraded room. It was worth it, as the better rooms are a lot nicer. Twice we had a deck and big room with sofa. Standard room is smaller with no deck. One couple had a huge room on two floors - 610 - that had windows on three sides and good views.

We didn't eat here, only drank. The roof top bar is nice but quite expensive. The lobby bar is good value and a nice place to chill over a tasty Rioja.

A short walk away is a very good market for food and drinks, plus wine - mercadosananton.com.

A taxi to/from Barajas is about EUR25-30, but can be higher if they go the long way. Sunday's it's EUR40.

Recommend trying Market San Miguel near Plaza Major for nibbles and delicious Mahon Negra.

A really good local restaurant to try is Meson Restaurant O'Barquino, not far from Reina Sofia mueseum, which is also very good and free entry on Sunday's. Bit hard to find, no-one speaks English but food worth it.

Room Tip: If here more than 1 night upgrade the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed for weekend with friends. Great location, breakfast and staff. Large bedroom and bathroom. However the room was very dark, you allways needed light on, this was also true of bathroom. room contained 2 tv's, large 3 seater sofa + smaller 2 seater. So well equiped with seating. Plenty of storage. Placement of mirror inn bathroom could be better, difficult to use for makeup (small problem) Overall great hotel in great location and excellent staff and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A great hotel in the heart of Madrid.
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, rooms are modern and beautiful, clean and comfortable after a long day of travel or touring.

A wonderful hotel that is an amazing find among the many options. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaairosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
985 reviews
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 436 in Madrid
560 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 436 in Madrid
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,830 - ₹ 22,424
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing