We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is what is worth”
Review of Hostal Las Fuentes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Las Fuentes
Ranked #97 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The location is what is worth”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel is near the metro Opera, but the room is small an the staff is not very kind. They don`t make an effort to help us. We noticed a missing cracker from our room, so we went to speak to the staff and they did not give a a feedback. I wouldn`t return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    270
    80
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
263
119
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this Hostal in Madrid. I agree it was a little difficult to find but the location was great, right off the Plaza Opera. We arrived via the Metro from airport which was very cheap compared to Taxi. Person at airport gave us map and marked the transfers so it was very easy to get to town. Restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. The metro was great. Very clean as compared to Paris metro. The room was fine and bath had shower/tub. Room was cleaned everyday with fresh sheets. Small frig if needed. We had street room and it was noisy but we were not there to sleep in. I would stay there again without question.

Room Tip: ask for room not on the street if you need the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCurrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The taxi had a little difficulty finding this hostal but it was worth the effort. The signage was not very noticeable but once inside and in the small elevator you soon got to reception. The room though typically small was adequate and the shower and toilet facilities very clean and well equipped. This place is very well positioned to visit the Plazor Mayor, Sol and Opera. Can access the metro in a minute to everywhere you want to go but there are some very interesting narrow streets and squares so close that you wilenjoy yourself in this area. There are some very good eateries and bars in the back streets. Worth discovering them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just to clarify for those who may not know it, the hostal in Spain is not a youth hostel but a low budget, no frills, small hotel (usually in apartments buildings) that offer rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. I have lived in Madrid for over a year and have often looked for accommodation for visiting friend and family so I am pretty familiar with the "hostal scene" of the town. Among all the places I have seen, this is definitely a real find!
Location is perfect, right off Calle Arenal: 5 minutes walk from the Opera House and the Royal Palace on one side, and 5 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol on the other side (and 2 metro stops at the same distance!).

Beside the quite shabby entrance to the building (which is a constant of Madrid's hostels which seem to never have well groomed entrances!) the hostel was a surprise. After a very quick check in, I was assigned a small (I was alone so it was a single room) but incredibly neat and clean room with a nice window on the street below. The bathroom was once again small but super clean and functional. The rooms was basic but perfectly comfortable and well cared for. They serve no breakfast (as in all the hostals) but right below, on Calle Arenal, there are about 1000 bars and coffee places, including Starbucks.

I paid 45 euros per night for a room with private bathroom and I'm sure I'll stay here when I go back next time. I could never find something so cheap and comfy in such a central location!

Since it's only a few steps away. if your are coming back from a crazy disco night (Joy is just a few stesp away) stop at the Chocolateria San Gines (Pasadizo San Ginés, 5) and have the best churros con chocolate in town :-)

Room Tip: Please remember that this an hostal, which means a low budget hotel so don't expect feather beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Good option for budget travellers. I stayed 2 nights and apart from the fact that the "receptionist" did not speak English very well everything was ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#77 of 436 in Madrid
439 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#151 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 436 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 436 in Madrid
588 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#98 of 436 in Madrid
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Fuentes

Property: Hostal Las Fuentes
Address: Calle Fuentes 10 1 D | Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Family Hotel in Madrid
#148 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,426 - ₹ 14,739
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Las Fuentes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Fuentes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing