We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon over, but Convenient Location Still Wins Out”
Review of Hostal Mirentxu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Mirentxu
Ranked #152 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Honeymoon over, but Convenient Location Still Wins Out”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Was back during a long weekend. Booked directly on their website, so got the rock-bottom price of 20-25 euros/night during my stay. However, that also meant I got the lowest quality room. Tiny, single bed without much support, no washbasin, no mirror, no TV, no window (there was a opening of some kind partly covered up that opened into the stairwell, so the noise of the elevator could be heard.) Shared bath(s) were just as clean and convenient as before, and the owner and family were still courteous and friendly. And the location still hasn't changed, which is to say perhaps the best combination of convenience, quiet, and security for the tourist. I say security because this time around I noticed that Calle Zorilla, which is in back of the Parliament, has police boxes at every corner that were manned 24/7. I was out most of the time and just needed a place to sleep and clean up. Hint: wifi worked best in the hallway towards the center of the hostal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    46
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
35
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Mirentxu was a bit like a funeral home; the lights were dim and
the place was creepy.
This is a hostal not an hotel, but there are good bright happy hostals to be found.
Their website pictures are beautiful, stylish, modern.
Based on my experience, the truth is the complete opposite.
What photoshop and airbrushing can do is just pretty much amazing.
The building is divided into three hostals, the Mirentxu was on an upper floor.
From the street you arrive at a pair of enormous wooden doors that have seen better days.
You will probably trip into the courtyard like I did.
There is a watchman on the right hand side of the courtyard in a scruffy
looking office.
I thought this cannot be the right place, looks like a dive.
He pointed to the correct floor up wooden steps; we avoided the old lift.
Our room was bright and clean and that is the best thing I can say
But very disorganised with cables from the digital TV hanging around and the picture breaking up.
The building was surrounded by scaffolding around the back and looking out the scaffolding, the boards were right up outside our dusty window.
There was no air conditioning, so we would have
had to keep the windows shut at night and during the day when we were not there, for security reasons.
I did not fancy being robbed in the middle of the night.
Without open windows, we would have ended up a pair of baked Spanish pies.
The friendly receptionist, working for the owner, poor lad said that noisy work would commence at 8am the next morning when the workmen would start.
But I had requested a quiet room and obviously a safe room would be part of the normal requirements.
The Hostal had debited the price of one day’s lodging one month earlier.
Bells had started to ring then.
“What’s the rush“ I thought then.
I now know.
I explained that we had not received what we had asked and requested for a full refund.
Only gave refund for the day after.
We stayed a couple of hours, long enough to find a nicer, safer, air conditioned hotel round the corner, and paying just a little extra.
If you want a dreary thirty years behind the times hostal, choose this one if not choose another.
The modern traveller wants a hostal that is cheerful, pleasant, air conditioned, safe from being robbed accommodation.
This was not it.
Sadly it was a very disappointing experience.
Get a grip Mirentxu and make this place a happy stay for everyone’s sake.

Room Tip: Don't put too much trust on some hostals; photos can be manipulated and feedbacks are subjective...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pablochase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I must be the only one who feels like this but there is no Air Conditioning in the rooms at this place. After we paid and checked in they told us there is no AC and their website says that when we made the reservation. Neither their website states this nor does Hotels.com where we made the booking. Also when we asked Expedia they said that it was going to be a private bathroom for a couple, but it ended up being a shared bathroom instead.

Right now the temperature is over 100 degrees and its extremely hot and sweaty here. If I knew before that there would be no AC here or even one person wrote a review on this, trust me that I would have never booked at this place!!

Hopefully this review helps others out there wanting to make a booking at this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praveen_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

O Hostal Mirentxu é gerido por uma simpática e acolhedora família. O hostal fica numa localização fantástica, pertíssimo da Puerta del Sol e dos três principais museus madrilenos. O quarto era acolhedor, confortável, limpo e com boas instalações. A casa de banho era básica mas muito limpa. O serviço de quarto está disponível todos os dias. É caso para afirmar: voltaremos a ficar neste hostal na próxima estadia em Madrid!
Obrigada!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pflp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

If you are an independent Spanish speaker, the Mirentxu can be a great value option. I used to live in Madrid, so I knew it was in a great location that was safe and convenient to all the major sites. I had a single without bath right near the front desk. The proximity was not a problem since the front desk was rarely staffed, and guests are given all the necessary keys upon checking in, so one can come and go at will. The older woman who is there most of the time speaks no English, though some of her younger relatives do.

The room was spacious with basic furnishings, and a wash basin with only cold water. The single bed was adequately comfortable. Heating was fine. There was only one electrical outlet in the entire room, though the hotel has excellent free wi-fi. It looked like there might have been water damage at one corner of the ceiling. There were french doors that led out to the air shaft/courtyard that is so common in Spanish buildings. Since my room did not face the street, it was very quiet unless, as happened one night, one of the other tenants in the building decided to have a loud late night party.

There were two shared bathrooms (one with toilet, shower, and washbasin; one with just toilet and washbasin) just across the hall from my room. Both seemed to be relatively renovated and were spotlessly clean. There were no lines or long waits to use them during my visit.

Probably the biggest drawback to this hotel is the lack of air conditioning, which would be a severe drawback in the summer. And, at peak occupancy, there might be more wait times for the bathrooms and/or increased noise in the hallways.

So for a Spanish speaker who already knows Madrid, staying during the late winter off-peak season, this was a great bargain for 28 euros/night.

One tip: People have written about difficulty finding this hostal. It is on the 3rd floor of the same building as the La Ancha restaurant, famous for its paella, where a meal can cost as much as one night's fee at the hostal! Every taxi driver should know it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#326 of 436 in Madrid
182 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#113 of 436 in Madrid
552 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#168 of 436 in Madrid
1,035 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Las Cortes
Hostal Las Cortes
#147 of 277 in Madrid
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mirentxu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mirentxu

Property: Hostal Mirentxu
Address: Calle Zorrilla 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Mirentxu 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hostal Mirentxu Madrid
Hostal Mirentxu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing