We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Santillan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Santillan
Ranked #6 of 280 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

From the quaint elevator to the friendly staff, the central location and cozy room, this was the perfect place for my Madrid trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    163
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
162
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Can't ask for anything better!...very clean, 55 euros a night, near metro and close to everything...felt like i was home in NYC on broadway / 42nd street. across from the broadway play "Lion King". They don't have check-in services all night...I believe till 11pm, however, I did receive an email from the manager the night before I checked in asking when will be my arrival and if possible to email him with the time so he will have someone available...which i thought was very nice instead of me getting there and not knowing what to do if noone answers the door. love the elevator ("lift")...very cute and felt like i was in europe! they give you a key for the front door and your room door...felt like i was in my apt. building. the check-in is on the 8th floor; my room was on the 7th floor. this seems to be a residential building. so, price, close to all and inexpensive...surely my way of traveling!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was a very decent stay on the main Gran Via of Madrid. The hotel is located on the 5th and 8th floor of the building. Half of the building are small residents and the other half consists of rooms for the hostals/hotels in the building. The hotel is in a great location but is modestly marked. The lobby area is a residence so it's a little odd checking in to a place walking through a living room. Almost all of the rooms are located outside this small residence on the 5th floor. Each room is very nice, professional, and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to someone who wants a budget hotel but be assured a clean room. The staff was very helpful but speak little english.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly2011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Perfect location with friendly (non-english-speaking) staff. The view to Gran Via is awesome, especially during the Madrid March Strike. The place is about as clean as a 2-3 star motel, if you really care about it as I do.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was a great place to stay, perfectly located within easy walking distance to everything I wanted to see in Madrid. The room was pretty basic, but it was clean and comfortable, and we didn't spend much time there. The staff was really friendly and eager to help. However, the desk is not 24 hours though, plan accordingly. I would stay here again though, and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerchickSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#29 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Malasana
Hospedaje Romero
Hospedaje Romero
#17 of 280 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 280 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santillan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santillan

Property: Hostal Santillan
Address: Calle Gran Via 8 Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,938 - ₹ 6,047
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santillan 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gran Vía one of the most transient and known streets in Madrid, the hostal is located in a building representing the 1930´s in the historic center of Madrid.There is no need to use public transport for visiting the center of Madrid, however, the hotel is less than 100 meters from 3 different subway stations and bus stop for the tour bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Santillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Santillan Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing