We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hostal Santillan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Santillan
Ranked #15 of 285 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

From the quaint elevator to the friendly staff, the central location and cozy room, this was the perfect place for my Madrid trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Can't ask for anything better!...very clean, 55 euros a night, near metro and close to everything...felt like i was home in NYC on broadway / 42nd street. across from the broadway play "Lion King". They don't have check-in services all night...I believe till 11pm, however, I did receive an email from the manager the night before I checked in asking when will be my arrival and if possible to email him with the time so he will have someone available...which i thought was very nice instead of me getting there and not knowing what to do if noone answers the door. love the elevator ("lift")...very cute and felt like i was in europe! they give you a key for the front door and your room door...felt like i was in my apt. building. the check-in is on the 8th floor; my room was on the 7th floor. this seems to be a residential building. so, price, close to all and inexpensive...surely my way of traveling!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was a very decent stay on the main Gran Via of Madrid. The hotel is located on the 5th and 8th floor of the building. Half of the building are small residents and the other half consists of rooms for the hostals/hotels in the building. The hotel is in a great location but is modestly marked. The lobby area is a residence so it's a little odd checking in to a place walking through a living room. Almost all of the rooms are located outside this small residence on the 5th floor. Each room is very nice, professional, and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to someone who wants a budget hotel but be assured a clean room. The staff was very helpful but speak little english.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly2011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Perfect location with friendly (non-english-speaking) staff. The view to Gran Via is awesome, especially during the Madrid March Strike. The place is about as clean as a 2-3 star motel, if you really care about it as I do.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was a great place to stay, perfectly located within easy walking distance to everything I wanted to see in Madrid. The room was pretty basic, but it was clean and comfortable, and we didn't spend much time there. The staff was really friendly and eager to help. However, the desk is not 24 hours though, plan accordingly. I would stay here again though, and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerchickSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 285 in Madrid
539 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 285 in Madrid
409 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#7 of 285 in Madrid
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast
Centro
JC Rooms Santo Domingo Hotel
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 285 in Madrid
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santillan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santillan

Address: Calle Gran Via 64 | Floor 8, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 4,631 - ₹ 6,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santillan 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gran Vía one of the most transient and known streets in Madrid, the hostal is located in a building representing the 1930´s in the historic center of Madrid.There is no need to use public transport for visiting the center of Madrid, however, the hotel is less than 100 meters from 3 different subway stations and bus stop for the tour bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Santillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Santillan Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing