We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Ranked #136 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Velada is a good very reasonably priced hotel close to the centre of madrid and only 11 euro in a taxi from the airport. rooms are fine and the staff speak good english....the breakfast is ok as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia M, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope see you again around here.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

The rooms are relatively spacious and well-maintained. The hotel is in a bland industrial/business district, but close to 2 metro stops (same line). Breakfast is average, and the hotel "cafeteria" has a very limited menu. Not many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Running_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia M, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comments and about description for the rooms. Just a few days ago, we have changed the cafeteria's menu and we have updated our dishes. We hope you have the chance to return sometime to our hotel and testing them!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is well appointed, with quiet, clean, spacious bedrooms. The shower in our room (143) was good and we also had a jacuzzi bath. The free wireless internet worked well and was easy to connect to. The breakfast buffet catered for every taste and offered a wide range of options but is perhaps a little overpriced at 15 euros. We didn't try out any of the channels on the TV, but I was surprised that it wasnt a flat screen. The big advantage for us was the free shuttle bus which took us to Madrid Barajas airport within 15-20 minutes. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia M, Revenue Manager - Velada Hoteles at Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased that your stay was good. If some day you wish come back at our hotel, we recommend you review the offers with breakfast included, sometimes we have special promotions...

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

is a nice giveaway pen from this hotel.. I'm still using it..
otherwise, just another standard, boring hotel that I stayed..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is huge, and is located some 20-25 minutes direct metro line from the city center (Plaza Espana, Callao etc). The breakfast is excellent, of course, the coffee sucks, but the bar is next door. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean. The TV should be flat screen and should offer wider range of TV channels from Europe, and rest of the World. Internet works well, shower is great but as in many other hotels, shampoo and shower gel are not very inspiring. If you arrive late in the evening there is a shop+restaurant just next door open until 1 AM. All in all, very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marko-Caco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Ventas
#59 of 437 in Madrid
765 reviews
Holiday Inn Madrid
#292 of 437 in Madrid
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maydrit Hotel
#110 of 437 in Madrid
1,466 reviews
San Blas
Occidental Madrid Este
Occidental Madrid Este
#85 of 437 in Madrid
688 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#170 of 437 in Madrid
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala

Address: C/ Alcala 476, 28027 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Velada Madrid Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in Madrid
#94 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#104 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#107 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 4,128 - ₹ 13,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Madrid, the economic, political and social centre of Spain, Velada Hotels present a hotel designed to cater to your every need, located on one of the city’s main thoroughfares, the Calle Alcalá. The hotel is strategically located in the city centre, minutes from the Congress and Convention Centre (IFEMA) and Barajas Airport, making it an ideal destination for any type of trip. Opened in the spring of 2003, the Velada Madrid Hotel has a total of 261 rooms spread over four floors, with all kinds of services and amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velada Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing