We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #38 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

OK, it's not the Ritz, but I cannot imagine a hotel that offers a better combination of location, price, and nice room than this hotel. One side of the hotel looks out on Puerta del Sol, the heart of Madrid. The price for our room was only 99.9 euros, about $130 - what a deal for a nice hotel with a super location in a major European city! Our room was very clean, functional, with a large bathroom. The front desk staff all spoke English and were very helpful. One helped us get bullfight tickets during San Isidro that were better than the ones offered by Galicia Localidades, the main broker. Our tickets were Sol, but we were only in the sun for one of the six fights, and even for that one it was to our side.

We were on the fourth floor overlooking Calle del Carmen, one of the side streets off of Puerta del Sol. Our balcony had a nice view of the plaza, the cafe in front of the hotel, and up the street. The windows were fairly new and solid and helped considerably with street noise. Speaking of, Madrid never seems to sleep. The streets are packed (!) until at least 11:00 pm (probably later, but we didn't stay up but so late because we were on our feet all day), not just with young adults but people of all ages. It was amazing. After we had gone to bed we might hear musicians in the plaza, or carousers singing at 5 in the morning. Again, our windows mostly muted this. To me it was not at all a nuisance, but added to the color, the amazing vibrancy, of the city. Back to the hotel, it had free wi-fi, but it seemed to work somewhat sporadically (maybe because I was on the 4th floor). At any rate, I never had a problem with it working in the lobby, and the hotel also has two internet terminals in the lobby. We had a car since we were also doing day trips from Madrid (Segovia, Avila, El Escorial, Toledo) and underground parking was only a block away in Plaza del Carmen. The hotel had a 6 euro discount but it was still expensive. Just the cost to have the flexibility for the four of us to come and go as we please. If you're not doing day trips, however, don't have a car in Madrid. You're paying for the car and the parking, not to mention the hassle of driving, and the Metro is very efficient.

Room Tip: If you want complete quiet, get a room on the interior courtyard. If you want a more interesting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhettB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    867
    117
    22
    19
See reviews for
550
978
168
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I booked a double room at Hotel Europa for 4 nights after reading about the Hotel in Rick Steves' Spain. The hotel was excellent in every way and exceeded all of my expectations.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with comfortable beds, AC and free wi-fi. The whole building exhuded the special charm of a family business, with friendly and helpful staff. The room rates were very reasonable, definitely the best value around, especially when considering the quality of the hotel and location.

Located right in Madrid's Puerta del Sol, the hotel was within close walking distance to all of the major attractions including The Prado, Reina Sofia, Atocha Station, Retiro Park, The Botanic Gardens, and Plaza Mayor.

We ate at the Cafeteria Europa several times, where there was excellent food and great service--the place was bustling with locals at all hours.

I can't say enough good things about this special place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bml88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

With Hotel Europa, the location was so good that we didn't spend any waking time in the rooms - at all. We hung out in the square (Puerto del Sol) or walked all over the city. The locals don't start eating u til about 9 pm and then have 3 or 4 hours of tapas. Shops are open late too and the hotel's location take full advantage of the Spanish lifestyle. We had an inside room and it wasn't too noisy, although you could regularly hear the subway's brakes below the hotel. Despite that, we slept great both nights that we stayed there. The beds were comftable but not really plush. The shower was nice and had plenty of warn water and pressure. Also, it was a breeze to get there via the subway system. It took about 45 minutes (directions posted below). Breakfast was included in the adjoining restaurant and was adequate, but nothing special.

We would return in a heartbeat. The location makes this hotel mucho fatastico!

Directions to Puerto del Sol on the Metro: Take the Pink Line, L8, to Columbia.  Then change to Purple Line, L9, and head for Principe de Vergara on the Purple Line, L9.  Then head for Sol  on the Red Line, L2. Hotel is directly behind the horse statue in the square.

We would

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here after reading a recommendation in the Rick Steves travel book and I wasn't disappointed. It's in a fantastic location right on Puerta del Sol. Our window opened onto Calle del Carmen, but we could still see the bustling square below. There is a metro station right on the square but you can walk to most places of interest. There is free internet as well as some computers set up in the lobby, free for guests to use. This is very convenient for researching or booking tours and shows. Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_hagerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in Hotel Europa for 2 nights in April. It was overlooking Plaza Mayor. If you are on the upper floors it isnt too noisy and you can open your window and look at the Square.
The staff were so helpful and spoke excellent English. There is a restaurant right next door which was reasonably priced. We ate breakfast there every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#52 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#47 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#106 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#142 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,419 - ₹ 10,698
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ostrovok and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing