We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #108 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is a great value with discounts and I would definitely stay here again. It has easy access to Plaza Del Sol and metro stations. We even walked to the Prado Museum. Having reserved a terrace room (Room 532), we assured ourselves that nights would be quiet.

Pros: Quiet, great locale with easy access to metro, sights, shopping, very clean. Air conditioning. Great service by the staff. All the little things provided, such as razor, soaps, etc. Firm bed, clean white sheets, and I wish I could have taken home the pillows - hotel pillows can be hit or miss and these ones were definitely a hit.

Cons: There was a little hall noise Saturday night (the fault of some guests, not the hotel) and the shower doors leaked at the base because the glass doors were about 1/2 inch above the actual stall (which is more a problem for the hotel's own room service since it pretty much ensured we'd need new towels daily). Wi-Fi was based on simple Netgear w/WEP and was unreliable at times (connectable but DHCP down). Used the mini-bar fridge to store our own water, but it wasn't very cold. TV was LCD but bare bones on channels, but we didn't come to sit in the hotel all day and watch TV, so hardly used it.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are quiet from outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    1,344
    330
    100
    58
See reviews for
577
1,544
229
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

As soon as we arrived we were greeted like a 5 star hotel, fresh juice brought to us and someone taking our bags. The room was lovely but our room was close to the stairs and lift making it very noisy. The hotel itself appears to be filled downstairs with business people that work in the city and therefore constant people coming in for coffee, taps etc. Loved the people watching if your'e into that. When ordering a drink you receive free tapas which is nice but we had mussels on the last night and can only direct this to the hotel. I did email the management about this and they took some time getting back but did apologies eventually and explained that they had no other customers complain and did take this off their menu. Wouldn't stay again due to lack of sleep, but if you get a good deal don't have a room by the lift or stairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from Sol, which is considered the centre of the town. So very difficult to beat the location if you want a hotel located centrally. It is less than 10 minutes walk, down slope, to cibeles where you can take the aerobus.

The hotel itself is clean and the room we had was spacious. There is a renovated part and a part which isnt yet. We stayed in a room in a part of the hotel which was not renovated yet, but the room looked descent with a flatscreen tv where you can order movies for around 10 euros a movie.the bathroom is dated and small. A minibar is present, but drinks are quite expensive. 3 euro for a coke ex VAT. The hotel restaurant-bar was expensive and the food was just average. There is also a nicer looking restaurant in the hotel, I did not try it so can't comment on this one.

During the night we were woken by the noise of the truck that is collecting garbage outside. This is really costing a star in the rating of this hotel, although it is something that is not really the hotel's fault.

Of course there are better hotels in madrid, but I am not sure if there are hotels which offer better value, because the price was low for what you get.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IvanFromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for your feedback, we take note of your recommendations
and of course if you wish to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards.
Carlos López García.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Spent 3 nights here in a huge, renovated attic double room with a beautiful, big, sunny outdoor terrace.

Room was stylish, clean, comfortable and had everything you need. Air con worked really well which was critical as Madrid was hot, 37 deg C! Right next to a metro stop and a block from Sol metro which is a major interchange for getting around. Although we just walked everywhere or used the tour bus - the location is excellent.

Fabulous location for shopping, buzzy squares, cafe culture, hop on hop off bus tours. Staff were really helpful and answered every question with great patience and great English (sadly I had very little Spanish).

Hotel cafe was excellent and we enjoyed many drinks and snacks here without paying over the odds for the location. Didn't have a room rate with breakfast but ate in the hotel cafe or at the VIPs on the next corner which had fantastic brunch type deals for Euro 6 including orange juice - excellent value and really set us up for a days sight-seeing.

Taxi drivers right outside the door and really helpful. Would recommend it in a heartbeat and would love to return.

Room Tip: Attic floor rooms have great outdoor terraces and were not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklyfenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
hotel cafe and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Cordially yours.
Carlos López García.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Always nervous about booking an overseas hotel as standards are slightly different from what we are used to in the US. This is a great hotel to settle into for a few days as we did. Location was great for the metro and all the important sites you will want to see while visiting Madrid. Great breakfast included. Hotel is updated with a great size bathroom and very clean. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnutMarietta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location,
cleanliness and breakfast.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Best regards.
Carlos López García.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#51 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#95 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#94 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,311 - ₹ 16,152
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing