We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, excellent location!!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #296 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money, excellent location!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I travelled with a friend and our experience of the hotel was better than what the reviews said. There is'nt an elevator at the street level of the hotel so everytime you go in or out, you have to go up or down a flight of stairs to get to an elevator. For young people in shape this should not be a problem. For a 3 star hotel I was pleasantly surprised, the room was small but very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect- we didn't have to use the metro almost at all. Breakfast was good with a variety of foods. The receptionists were not so kind or helpful and most of them did not know english. WIFI is free at the hotel but not always worked. All in all, I would return to this hotel if i were to be in Madrid again.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask a room not facing the main street which is the Gran Via, but take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    321
    269
    88
    56
See reviews for
123
282
123
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The street level of the hotel doesnt have an elevator, you have to carry laugage by yourself all the way down to reception and then up when you leave. we arrived in the middle of the night with two babies - they refused to help!!! the elevatores in the other floors are tiny, most of the time we walked up and down the stairs, like most of the guests there.

Room Tip: dont stay on upper floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

best thing of the hotel is its location. right in the center of madrid. we didn't have to use the metro AT ALL! the rooms are not luxurious, but comfy, clean, and homey. the staff is very proffesional and breakfast is perfect!!! highly reccomended for both young and adult travelers. probably not for families. all in all very satisfying.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view on the gran via are smaller but also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naama Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

this hotel does not deserve the bad reviews it has received! we have just returned from a city break in Madrid and stayed at this hotel. the location is excellent and a great base in which to explore the city and all major attractions. It is a 3 star and is exactly that. reception staff were helpful polite and friendly. Rooms were kept clean daily by the maids and were spacious. hotel overall very clean. free wi-fi Breakfast very good and great variety. restaurant staff also good. could not fault any aspect of this hotel and would recommend it as a base to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have just returned from the Hotel Rex in Madrid. It is what it says it is a 3 star. Clean hotel, maids did a good job every day, reception staff were friendly, I needed a sewing kit and they had one, which wasnt a problem to them. Breakfast was good, good variety. Excellent location for loads of attractions. We stayed in room 310 which had no view as it looked out onto the void space between our hotel and next door but we were only sleeping and showering there so we didnt mind, was actually nice to get some peace and quiet as the city is constantly buzzing. My only complaint was other guests being noisy froom 6.30am and throughout the night as the hotel is not soundproof. People like to bang doors!!!
Very close to Sol and Plaza Mayor which are nice areas. We took the city tour bus which was good and then the next day we walked to many of the attractions. We ate at a New Orleans restaurant called Gumbo well worth a visit the staff were very helpful and excellent food. Alot of police about which was good to see but never felt threatened at any time.

Will definately be returning to Madrid and would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Room Tip: If you want a view out onto Gran Via ask for front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#268 of 435 in Madrid
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 435 in Madrid
1,863 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#117 of 435 in Madrid
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Calle Gran Via 43, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,152 - ₹ 10,569
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Rex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing