We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
getaroom.com
US$ 279
View deal
TripadvisorUS$ 279
Priceline
Expedia.com
Melia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,676)
Filter reviews
2,676 results
Traveller rating
1,766
634
187
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,766
634
187
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level dry martini shopping district beautiful hotel tapas small room concierge salamanca spain gran metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 2,676 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Great location. The property is well-appointed. Not spectacular, but definitely a more-than-comfortable stay. The management and reception was awesome, friendly and accommodating.

Now the bad and ugly:
Bad: Breakfast is terrible. Nothing distinguishing, a few pieces of bagel and lox, some salty eggs and fruit.
Ugly: The Dry Martini Bar was probably the worst and weirdest part of our Madrid stay. Do not get their touted Medusa hookah-cocktail contraption - this beautiful glass tower has neither tobacco nor alcohol (correction, there is alcohol, but you can't drink it?) They didn't offer any explanation before leading us to order what is practically a bottle of air haha (it'd be more funny if it didn't cost 100 euros).

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ml8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fenix Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel.

We very much appreciate the words you dedicated to all our staff. We feel proud to know that thanks to our service you had an enjoyable time.

On the other hand, I am deeply disappointed to know that our Dry Martini Bar in this instance failed to exceed your expectations. Please, be assured that is not our usual procedure and we are looking forward to have another opportunity to welcome you back and restoring your faith in our Hotel.

With Best Regards,


Sandra Hernández
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The facilities and service are both excellent. We have stayed at many "5 star" hotels, but this one truly is. The room was the beST, AND THE SERVICE IS SECOND TO NOONE. GREAT LOCATION. WE WILL DEFINITELY RETURN IF WE A FREE R IN Madrid again.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fenix Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Dear Guest,

You left us speechless with your great review regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix!!

We are delighted to read that your room fully satisfied you and our service turn your visit into a very special experience.

Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The manager and staff work very hard to address all their guests' needs. Hotel is a beautiful building, very convenient to restaurants and shopping and within walking distance to many of Madrid's attractions. Has the best martini bar in town.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davnjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fenix Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review on Tripadvisor!!

We very much appreciate your kind comment and we are delighted to know that you spent a wonderful time between us, especially because of our convenient location near by the best restaurants and boutiques.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and keep surprising you with our service!

Best Regards,


Sandra Hernández
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

My fiancé and I stayed at the Gran Melia Fenix for 3 nights in March. I'd made an error with dates when booking, so we ended up with a deluxe room for our first night and a premium red level room for the last two nights. The difference in rooms was quite significant (the latter room was almost twice the size) but with the price difference to match - we absolutely loved the larger premium room but the deluxe room was perfectly adequate.

Access to the red level lounge was a little luxury we thought we'd go for and it was certainly luxurious - little tapas, nibbles, fruit, desserts, a full range of drinks, all available during most of the day. Great service in there too. But Madrid is such an amazing city and the hotel is so well located (close to a metro station and within walking distance of lots of attractions) that we spent most of our time exploring and not a huge amount of time in the hotel.

With that said, the time we did spend in the hotel was lovely. The rooms were clean, quite traditional in decor but with all the amenities you would expect, and the service was top class. We had a couple of drinks in the Dry bar too and they were great. Overall a very nice hotel in a great location with excellent staff, I would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fenix Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Fénix!!

We thank you for taking a bit of your time in sharing this lovely comment regarding your stay with us. We love to know that you enjoyed your trip to Madrid and you were fully satisfied with your stay.

We appreciate your great compliments about our staff and we hope to welcome you back very soon and keep surprising you with our services.

Kindest Regards,


Sandra Hernández
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Madrid was the start of our 7 week holiday. We have never been to Madrid and were unsure of what to expect. I chose this hotel after reading other comments on trip advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. The staff are wonderful, nothing was to much trouble. Loved the bar for drinks before or after dinner, and breakfast was fabulous also. Only comment I would make is the rooms are small. So if you want more space book a junior suite. But we didn't mind as we spent very little time in the room, so much to see and do in this beautiful city.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MaureenI996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fenix Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks about the Gran Melía Fénix.

I am glad you loved our DRY Martini and fulfill your expectations with the breakfast. It is very rewarding and always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I will be very happy to share your comments with the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews