We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Level all the way...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #26 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Red Level all the way...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

As with many hotels, its all about your expectations. We stayed at this hotel because of its old world charm and it surely delivered. The Red Level was great. It consists mainly of a small room on the 7th floor offering a private breakfast and snacks/open bar all day. I got the impression that the Red Level is a service add on, as supposed to a special room. For example, our room was on the 5th floor and a couple we were with were on the 6th floor, but we were both on the Red Level plan. Breakfast downstairs was good too. As for location, this hotel is about a 40 minute walk to Sol, which is the center of town. if you want to be where all the action is then this hotel is a little of out of the way. Its in the posh Salamanca district which is very upscale, great shopping and restaurants were only a block away. Retiro Park and all the museums were within easy walking distance. Taxis were easy to find and the subway was less than a block away. The Red Level concierage was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jehNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

As a member of the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World our commitment is always give our guest the best service and facilities.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Kind regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    478
    133
    33
    13
See reviews for
351
863
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Right from the moment you step out of the taxi the service was exceptional. All the staff were helpful and very friendly. We upgraded the rooms at a small charge and our friends 50th birthday started with a cake and cava in the room. The breakfast was first class and nobody could do enough for you. Cocktails in the `Dry' bar into the early hours ended each day and once again the staff were brilliant. Location was perfect for a gentle stroll into the heart of Madrid. This hotel ticks all the boxes for quality, cleanliness, location, style and service.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book a room on the fifth floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I also would like to thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, and staff; be sure that I will share them with the entire team.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Holoing we will have the opportinuty to welcome you back at the Gran Meliá Fénix,

Cordial greeting from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in Madrid after a long transatlantic cruise at the Fenix. It was a great experiance.
Nice, clean and spacious room and very good service. Also Well located

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafainLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Once again thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate that.

Looking forward to welcom you soon in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Right next to the Colon metro station, Gran Melia offers a great location within a walkable distance from Prado Museum and Retiro park, and quick and easy access to Plaza Espanya, Plaza Santana, Plaza Mayor and other major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having choosing us during your visit to Madrid.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

Thank you again for your special comments and we hope to see you again in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Went with a friend to join a group who stayed in a different hotel for a hen weekend. Paid extra for room with whirlpool on balcony and for red level. Worth every penny.
Excellent service, ate in hotel restaurant one night, lovely lovely food, especially the steak, and I am fussy! Very good value meal.
Bar was great with very large cocktails.
Would definitely go again, top drawer shops nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!!!It is a pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel.

I just want to let you know that i will share all your comments with the Gran Melia Fenix team, (specially...).

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Yours sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,568 - ₹ 36,787
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Prestigia and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing