We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great classic hotel”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #36 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Gran Melia Fenix at the end of April, beginning of May. I chose this hotel for our citytrip to Madrid for my wife and two of our children (17 and 20 years old) after reading all the positive reactions on tripadvisor. We stayed in two connecting rooms (see helpful room tips)
The service was fantastic! Whether at the reception, in the bar, the excellent restaurant or anywhere else in the hotel, all the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The dinner in the hotel's restaurant (Epoque) was excellent, but if you fancy something completely different there is always the Hard Rock Cafe which is in the same building as the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, the amenities provided were excellent and very complete. The hotel is situated outside the center of Madrid, but the metro and busses are close by. It is also situated close to the beautiful Ritero park and relatively close the Santiago Bernabéu stadion. The buffet breakfast has all you need from Spanish to English breakfast all in a very relaxed atmosphere. If you like luxury and excellent service this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: If you need 2 connecting rooms ask for room 531/532 (5th floor with nice view) To get to these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiTorrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,


On behalf of all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations .

Once again thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate that.


Yours sincerely,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 956 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

I won a 2 night stay here thru LHW. As we where 3 we got an extra bed for half price. The hotel seemed very quite dispite that it was fully booked. Didnt see much people. It didnt feel like a luxury 5 star hotel but more like a good 4 star. The staff was very friendly but lacked a bit og knowledge especially when it came to restaurant recomendations. We got a premium room and it was a bit cramped and seemed a bit dated and the bathroom was extremly small, like they tried to fit bidet, wc, bathtub with shower and two sinks in a very small room. Better to get rid of the tub and bidet.. And a strange glass door into the wc which almost was impossible to use because of the door and wall on each side. The furniture in the room was worn out and we didnt understand the a/c. If i had paid for this i would have asked for another room, but since we won, then i let it be. So all in all after staying in 5 star hotels like for example crillon and bristol in paris this didnt feel pampering or the atmosphere of a luxury 5 star hotel. But plus for smiling and friendly staff ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Gran Melia Fenix, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at Gran Melia Fenix for two nights at the end of Feb. the hotel was easy to spot across the road as we came out of the station. The metro is very simple to use from the airport.

The hotel is beautiful and very grand. The spiral brass and marble staircase is a real feature, with thik carpet. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable with the "romantic package" champagne and fruit and candles waiting for us. The bed was massive.

Floor boards creaked, but that just goes with the age and charm of the property. The decor was rather grown up and oppulent and included a large desk and plenty of wardrobe space. Very cosy.

The red level package meant that breakfast was included and canapés were available throughout the day, as well as premium brand drinks, including champagne. The drinks selection was vast, wine perfectly chilled. Food was well presented and excellent quality. The only strange thing was that you weren't allowed to take drinks into your room. And at this premium you would expect at least bottled water to be in your room or at least allowed to be consumed away from the Red Level lounge. We asked for a bottle to take out with us and were given the tiniest bottle you ever saw. We just replenished at a local supermarket at 30 cents for 1.5L. Really silly to make us have to do that.

Clarins toiletries were generous and replenished.

We were asked to check out early even though our booking included a late checkout, but MY HUSBAND agreed and were allowed to continue using the facilities in return. I didn't mind really.

There was a lovely terrace and comfortable seating area in th lounge. We ventured out mostly and didn't get to use our 80 Euro open credit and the hotel was a lovely place to come back to.

The tourist buses operate from just outside.

The property is located around a 15 - 20 minute walk to the main areas, which was a pleasant route.

We had a great stay and I have no hesitation in recommending this period property. I will post my pictures in due course.

There's a nice unassuming local restaurant across the road to your right as you leave the hotel which serves traditional tapas - very authentic and great service.

Room Tip: Go for the Red level package if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It is very nice to read your kind comments about the Gran Melia Fenix!

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Our apreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My Husband and I were taking a cruise from Barcelona, but flew in to Madrid for a night, and stayed here...wow! The hotel from the outside looked kind of 'old' (fyi, this was our frist trip to Spain,or anywhere in Europe!) when we walked in, we saw that it was very classic and authentic. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, spoke great English, and were helpful in suggesting sights and areas to visit.

Our room was beaufiul, like none I've seen in the states. You walk in to a small corridor with the bathroom to the left, and continue on to the bedroom, which has a french door ( i loved the separation). The detail and craftsmanship made it very romantic; gold details, lighting, drapes, wooden frames on the walls/doors, elegant furniture, comfortable bed/bedding...just great.

The bathroom was a great size, very clean, and it had a bedet! Not used to those, but of course it was funny to see. No washcloths though, so take ur own, or use the small towels next to the bedet (i guess it's to dry off??).

The location, I thought, was a little off the 'main touristy area', which I was unaware of at the time of booking. We were so tired from our long overnight flight, we did little sightseeing as it was, but found it pretty easy to walk to/from the hotel during the day and at night, as there were lots of people on the street for a Friday night.

Comfortable, free internet in the room (with a cord), adapters available at the desk (for US hair tools,chargers etc.), friendly service, and overall beautiful.

I'd recommend this hotel to those visiting Madrid!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no1likeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in the name of all the Gran Melia Fenix staff for your feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel and we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Madrid,

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in March. It was booked as a birthday treat for my dads 50th. They provided a free upgrade, cake and cava. As soon as we arrived they wished my dad happy birthday! The hotel is very clean and upmarket. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The cocktail bar is fantastic (the garden outside is also lovely). the rooms are spacious and well decorated. There is a lovely turn down service each night and the rooms have all the extras you would expect from a 5* hotel. I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynmwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and nice post!!

We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Fenix it will be a pleasure to welcome you back! Now you can consider our hotel like your home.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards from Madrid.

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#10 of 437 in Madrid
641 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#52 of 437 in Madrid
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,893 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 13,326 - ₹ 54,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing