We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,000)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveller rating
1,044
738
129
40
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
738
129
40
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor pedestrian street calle arenal great location opera metro san gines royal palace star hotel first floor small balcony churros central location opera house triple room breakfast room two metro stations tapas
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Central located Easy walking distance for many of the sites. Very clean rooms, with large bed. Very good shower. House keeping was a bit erratic. Our room overlooked the street but with the door to the veranda and the shutters closed there was very little noise. The walls were a bit thin so there was noise from other guests banging doors.

Room tip: All rooms appear to have just been refurbished. Could not see a down side to any of the rooms.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Archibald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is adorable and in a super central location - everything is walkable from the hotel and right around the corner from the famous churro places.

Our biggest issue: the doors inside the hotel SLAM hard and it can sound like bombs going off. The housekeepers start cleaning rooms very early (around 8am!) and the in and out of the rooms is extremely loud. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything.

If you’re an early bird, maybe this won’t bother you, but if you wake up anytime after 830am, be prepared for the noise.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Veedz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights excellent location for just about everything we walked everywhere. Very good informative friendly staff, great recommendations for places to go for lunch/Dinner. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was great nothing to not like. Enjoy

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Road316200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Recently refurbished hotel near Puerta del Sol, which is pretty much in the heart of Madrid and ideal for tourists - you can walk (and should, since Madrid is such a great walking city!) to practically all of the locations that you will want to visit, i.e. the Prado, the Palace, the Teatro, major shopping streets, etc. Rooms are typically small as in most urban European hotels, but the beds are comfortable and the linen is nice, extra pillows, and a well pressured hot shower! Hotel staff is very accommodating - and they offer loaner umbrellas, because as we all know "the rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain" (it rained every day we were there!). I thought that we would have no view out of our interior window and was pleasantly surprised to find that I had a view of the dome of the cathedral next door - the good news is that the window was not on the street, so no noise from there. A cool detail is that they kept the ancient wood shutters for the window, which added a nice touch to the very modern furnishings.

Hotel has good WiFi, but note that all of the TV channels are in Spanish, i.e. no CNN or Sky News in English.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Great location, centre of everything!
Lovely clean modern room, comfortable huge bed.
Perfect as a base to see this great city.
Yes a little noisy at night, but was expecting that due to being central, great to hear the street singers under our balcony.
Friendly helpful staff.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews