We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the british”
Review of Espahotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Espahotel Gran Via
Ranked #183 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for the british”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights in May 2012, on my own, on a works trip, its mainly all spanish tourists no other british and no decent food, the breakfast bar is so small you get more then 8 people in it and you cant move, there was such a que for breakfast on the monday that i did not have any the rest of the week and the staff where rude.
My room was ok, TV did not work and the decor is something from your granny's living room.
when the people in the next room turn on the water for a shower/wash the pipes make a right noise and when you turn off the water it sounds terrible which is not good if you need to sleep.
Personnally I would not stay there again, but if you are british and going to madrid ( not impressed with Madrid, Barcelona is much better and has a beach as well, and is set up for british tourists, unlike madrid, I did not find another british person in madrid) if your just going for a lads/girls holiday the hotel would be ok just for sleeping, but its not a place I would want to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    216
    75
    16
    8
See reviews for
131
157
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed overnight and we thought it was a bargain, because the location is excellent, the room was clean and that been renovated recently, the staff were attentive and friendly, and indeed it was great value for money. We recommended it to all our friends.
The only problem is that the hotel doesn't have a car park, an the cost of a parking your car at a near-by car park for 16 hours is very close to the price of the room for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The name of the hotel is now Espahotel Gran Via. The location is excellent. Cleaning services have been excellent. They have washed up all dishes every day and the Internet has worked. We did make our own breakfast daily after the first morning. The restaurant was empty and the breakfast not very delischous. The buffet breakfast costed eight Eur. Also the internet costs eight Eur pro day. There are lots of steps when coming into the hotel, which is not very nice. But the location was so good that you hardly can imagine better. There are many really good restaurants near by, the sight seeing buses drive along Grn Via and to shopping areas only a short walking.

Room Tip: The windows keep well the noise outside even by the street Gran Via. We were in the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Everything is OK: cleanliness, bedding, reception, location, price. This hotel is on the main boulevard, close to a lot of sites to visit, 2 minutes from metro station. If we are back to Madrid, we would be staying again at this place.
Some small negatives points: AC is noisy, Wi-Fi is not free (3 Euro an hour!), and there is only one long pillow across the bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The location is great,could not be more central.The room is big and clean,stuff very helpful(even more then in the other hotels). If you need any help,or just need tickets for flamenco show,you can ask at the reception,and you'll get all you need.
I really loved the place,and I'll be back !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#231 of 436 in Madrid
389 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#180 of 436 in Madrid
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#159 of 436 in Madrid
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espahotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espahotel Gran Via

Property: Espahotel Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 65, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,654 - ₹ 12,994
Hotel Class:3 star — Espahotel Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to stay in the heart of Madrid, close to all the points of interest in the city and you are looking for space, comfort, independence and all the facilities of an apartment without giving up on hotel services, choose Gran Via Apartments. Space, comfort and well-being for a unique stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Espahotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Hotel Madrid
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing