We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for doing business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #55 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for doing business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a large conference with our work colleagues and found Melia Castilla to be an excellent venue. The food was great, the staff very attentive and the conference rooms/facilities were of a very high standard. The room was very comfortable (14th floor for me) with an exceptionally comfortable bed. I have no idea how they do it, but the swimming pool water was so clear and chemical free that I didn't need a shower afterwards (I did if you care). I just about remember the generous servings of Limoncello in the pool bar as well. A fairly limited interest piece of information is that it is a few blocks from some lovely parks to run in rather than just pounding the rather harsh pavements. Head North and North West for an arc of parks. A very enjoyable stay all together.

Room Tip: Aim high! I was on the non-street side overlooking the pool - very peaceful and a lovely sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank your very kind comments about our hotel, we are realizing that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your nice words about our rooms, swimming-pool and staff. It is very motivating for us checking that our service and facilities are reaching the expectations of our Guests.

You are very welcome to the Meliá Castilla, hoping you to come again in your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    890
    243
    63
    35
See reviews for
518
531
128
1,228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed in Melia hotels for the last 3 years in Madrid usually the ME MADRID REINA VICTORIA which is more down town and also an excellent hotel, but the location of the Castilla is much better for business and nearer the airport.
The space in the rooms is excellent, the room facilities - good aircon, good digital TV and an iron and ironing board ! (it amazes me that some hotels still don't offer this as standard and you have to hunt around with room service for the one iron/ironing board in the hotel).
Even an outside swimming pool with a bar that you would never expect in this area.
The breakfast buffet is probably one of the largest (and very good) selections I have experienced.. even Sushi ...

For my next business trip I will be staying there for sure,.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was very quiet and the AC was excellent... it was cold inside when it was very hot out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_M_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind opinion about our hotel. We are very happy to see that you had a very good experience with us and you will stay in Meliá Castilla again in your next visit to Madrid.

As you say, we have a very special swimming pool area that it is not usual to see in Madrid.

Moreover, we have just set a new chillout bar from 20:00 until 2:00 where it is possible to have a drink after a hard work day.

We are expecting you to come again very soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We've stayed in many central Madrid hotels but needed to be closer to the airport so this was a good solution for us. Very comfortable and old world. Close to the fashionable shopping area. Excellent breakfast buffet catering for Spanish, Continental and Far Eastern tastes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your words about our hotel and its facilities.

As you say, we are only 15 minutes far from the airport and very good connected with it, with the city center and with several shops and malls in the nearby.

We are hoping to see you very soon in your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have been to the Melia Castilla on business and it was perfect. Excellent level of service (at least on the executive floor where I stayed) and very nice meeting & events facilities.
Hotel is pretty close to the airport (15-20 mn drive) and hence not directly in the city, but the metro station nextdoor will take you to the center in 5mn.
Breakfast is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybeanBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your opinion in Tripadvisor about Meliá Castilla hotel.
We can realize that you enjoyed your last visit in our hotel, very well located for business, shopping and connected with the Chamartin train station and with the International Barajas Madrid Airport.

If you stayed on our Royal Service, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that we are going to inaugurate, the next 1st of September, the new concept of The Level, where all our Guest will be able to discover the privacy and exclusive service of Meliá hotels.

We hope you to visit The Level very soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miege, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Maxium price-value ratio.
Spacious (around 35 sq m + separate bathroom + separate toilets) spotlessly clean room (863)
Elegant and practical furniture. Flat TV screen. Beautiful marble lobby. Staff very helpful efficient and smiling. Thanks to Oliver at the bar I discovered the best Rhum/Rom I have ever tasted (the Zacapa XO - not cheap) I have stayed at many, many hotels in my life (70). This is probably the best one everything considered. Only drawback: don't expect a view. But the underground station is only 200 m away and there is a taxi rank at the entrance.

Room Tip: Choose a 863 room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and for the kind words you say about Meliá Castilla.

We have just told to Oliver about your opinion. We are happy to see that our service reached your expectations.

For your next visit, we would recommend you to experiment the new concept of “The Level” located on the 15th floor, where you will enjoy a very good view of the city and of the mountain range of Madrid in a sunny day.

Thank you again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#165 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#83 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#42 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,488 - ₹ 20,273
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Melia Hotels APAC, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing