We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee counter”
Review of La Mallorquina

La Mallorquina
Ranked #4 of 81 Bakeries in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Centro
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coffee counter”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I love this place: you walk up to the counter, order your coffee, point to a pastry, eat it rather quickly, pay and leave. Its vibrant with atmosphere and the staff is suprisingly nice and sociable for such a fast paced environment. Greasy and sweet rich pastries. Eat them with cutlery: this is what the locals do.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    698
    226
    77
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delicious Pastries and breakfast goodies”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We came here twice during our stay in Puerta del Sol. It is very crowded and full of locals buying goodies. It feels very mom/pop and there are simple glass cases filled with baked items. We got a croissant which was amazing, and asked what the most popular item was. The server indicated it was a chocolate rolled croissant which was seriously so decadent and delicious. When you bite into it, it just melts in your mouth. On one side of the bakery are to-go items, and on the other side is standing-at-the-counter-service for coffee and a pastry. Definitely a great place for a tasty pastry.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LApuplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot to Stop”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The coffee is delicious and the pastries are tasty. The Cafe has a great local feel; very authentic Madrid.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank KG_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Nice place for pastries and coffee, sandwiches. It's always crowded but service is fast.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

When in the Plaza del Sol, make it a point to stop here for a pastry (or two or three!). My sister and I were in Madrid for a week and we stopped here at least four times. We especially loved the croissants (chocolate, and ham and cheese) but every thing we tried was excellent. It is always crowded, and understandably so, but don't let that deter you. The wait it not long, and certainly well worth it. I'm heading back to Madrid at the end of January 2012 and can't wait to make a stop here again!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank VCUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mallorquina also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Mallorquina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing