We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Madrid Principe de Vergara

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Ranked #53 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Modern hotel well located, near the metro station. It was refurbished 2 or 3 years ago and is probably the best urban NH I've been.

Stayed in the 8th floor, facing backwards, so it was very quiet. We had a nice balcony with artificial grass. These just exist in the 8th floor and we weren't charged more beacuse of this, so take a chance and ask for a room that floor.

It's 10-15 min walk to Serrano, Velazquez and Ortega y Gasste stores. So you can walk there or catch a cab, plenty of them always passing in Principe de Vergara.

We got a good price by booking early, so it was worth staying there rather than in Velazquez/Serrano area, always more expensive.

People in the reception were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    531
    93
    8
    10
See reviews for
163
354
61
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is a shame that they do not offer wifi as they do in other hotels, especially in Spain.
The beds are 160 or less ( i mean double beds!)
Very clean and well located near the Serrano area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabulani2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed in NH Principe de Vergara for two nights (business trip). The hotel is very close to a metro station (Avenida de America), 2-3 minutes walk from the exit (just follow the Principe de Vergara exit signs; the hotel is on the same side as a petrol station, just go down the street).
The check-in & check-out process went quickly, staff was very friendly, nice and professional. I found my room clean and spacious. Although it was next to the elevator, I couldn't hear anything from the outside (other guest waiting for the lift etc.) and the room seemed well sound-isolated. In the bathroom you can turn on speakers and listen to a programme that you have running on TV in the room (it was very relaxing taking a shower and listening to music :) ). There are enough different TV programmes available (many different languages).
There was just enough of choice of food for breakfast in my opinion. I am not very picky and can always find something to eat, but I only sort of missed more vegetables (like tomato, cucumbers, olives ...). On request they can also prepare for you eggs, bacon ... Someone could, however, miss broader choice of different food, but in my opinion everyone can find something for him/her and not to leave breakfast hungry. The food was fresh and delicious.
If I remember correctly, you can use 15 minutes of free wi-fi internet (you ask in the reception for a password). In the lobby there's a computer and again, if I am not wrong, a minute of use costs 0,37 eur. I didn't need to use it so I can't judge about the price of this service.
On my way back to the airport (weekday in the morning), I needed cca. 35 minutes from the hotel to the exit of metro station at Terminal 2 at the aeroporto (so - very quick!).
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJoeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

First time to Madrid and stayed at the Principe de Vergara Hotel. The hotel is located in a good area of the city and the rooms were modern, well equipped and following advice from earlier comments, quiet, after requesting room to the rear. Staff are all very helpful and the breakfast is very good. Choice is extensive and the opening times generous. Free wi-fi is also available located within reception lobby.

Getting around, we pretty much walked most of the time. It takes prob 20 mins or so to main park, Retiro, and is a must to have a look around. We hired out bikes which made it a bit easier because the park is huge. We also got the city bus tour - well worth it and saved us walking all the time. There are 2 routes available, the cost of which covers both. One day charge is 20 euros, 24 euros for 2 days use. You can buy a ticket on the bus or at the various kiosks. One of the routes does come up closer to the hotel which is handy. Public bus route also available and relatively cheap right outside hotel.

As for eating out, I would thoroughly recommend Cazorla. Turn left outside front of the hotel, walk approx 2 blocks until you see a '7' sign for a convenience store and take a right at that junction. One block along you will see the restaurant at corner where you can either stand at the bar or have a sit down meal. Not too expensive and the food is good quality tapas and main dishes. Well worth it and only 5-10 min walk away.

A great trip had by all and the hotel was ideal - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevieDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Hotel provided good clean room that was exactly what we needed for our weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_j0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#176 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Metropolitano
#52 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#71 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Principe de Vergara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Principe de Vergara

Property: NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Address: Calle Principe de Vergara 92, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Principe de Vergara)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Business Hotel in Madrid
#41 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,664 - ₹ 13,452
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Madrid Principe de Vergara 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Madrid Principe de Vergara hotel is centrally located in Madrid's posh and exclusive Salamanca district, close to the city's chic shopping areas, such as Goya, Serrano and Velazquez streets, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Madrid Principe de Vergara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Principe De Vergara Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid
Nh Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing