We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #60 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent, excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

i cannot wait to tell you what a wonderful experience we had at this hotel. A few weeks before our trip i started emailing the hotel and get very prompt and warm reponses back Tanya Brazal and Noemi Badanes(did not get to meet Noemi as she was on vacation when we got there). Gave us very useful info on how to get to the hotel from airport.

Upon our arrival met warmly Sandra although she was busy at the front desk and stored our luggage as we arrived early and gave us a map so we can start exploring the city. BTW way upon entrance to the hotel there is this very nice smell to the hotel as you come through their revolving doors. It proved to be very welcoming when we get back to the hotel from a day of walking and smell that wonderful aroma. I never was able to find out what scent that was. Reception says that the housekeepers know but did not get a chance to ask them.

We asked for a quiet room and were given just that at the back of the hotel in the 6th floor. Aside from faint footsteps outside(hallways are all laminte flooring) our room was very quiet. Our bed was bigger than our kingsize bed at home i think and those pillows were just heavenly. My husband tried to see the brand but there was not tag on them. The shower can fit 2 people in it and they have a rain showerhead that is really superb. They do not have a bathtub but i do not take baths on hotels anyway. Our room was just a standard room but very very comfortable. The free use of the safe is a plus too and it is large enough to fit a laptop. Hotel also has wifi that was pretty fast. We also borrowed an outlet adaptor from them and they just listed it and asked us to return it. The hotel we stayed in Barcelona wanted a 15 euro deposit. There is no iron in the room, but was delivered to us immediately upon request also free of charge.

We did not try their breakfast buffet. It was on special for 10 E but we are not big breakfast eaters so we usually just go to one of the eateries a few steps from the hotel. My husbands favorite is Museo de hamon. Get a decnet breakfast for about 3-5 E each.

We felt safe walking along Atocha to get to the different sites. the hotel is at the center of everything. we get to plaza mayor on one end and then get back to rest at the hotel and walk the other end to the museums. We only had to use the metro once to watch a bullfight and that took just 20 mins. Metro stop is just a few steps from hotel. We did notice a sex shop as you walk towards the museum but i will not take this out on my review of the hotel. You cannot really see anything from the outside and you definitely cannot see it from the hotel. Out of sight out of mind. I do not see why this bothers the other reviewers.

We did not get to try the hot tub but the views on the rooftop was nice.

I would like to make mention of the wonderful staff Tanya,Noemi, Sandra and the rest of them. We were always greeted warmly. Would deifinitely stay at only this hotel if we see ourselves back in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vhperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    490
    101
    21
    9
See reviews for
187
539
82
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington tyne and wear
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Thanks tripadvisor!! I got the information from this site before I booked the hotel. My husband and I agree the hotel is fabulous. Helpful and friendly staff in all parts of the hotel. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking a courtyard, quiet at night, hardly any daylight with only one window in our room. This did not spoil our stay at the hotel. The hotel is very close to the metro, Anton Martin station is only a few minutes away. Museums are at the end of the Calle Atocha in a little square off the main street. Go and see the Picasso painting "Guernika" at the Museum "Reina Sofia" it's a wonderful and awinspiring!!. The hotel is centrally located and every place of interest is within easy reach. Buffet breakfast at the hotel was only 10 euro worth every euro!! The waiter/waitress were very helpful and did not mind we only spoke a few words of spanish they understood our geordie accent!!. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. My husband and myself will be returning next year to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask at reception for a room located on the 7th floor, you won't have any noise if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbarrett49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Madam,
I wish all our guests would come back to the hotel after their first stay. I know some of them do it, but you are saying you will certainly come back. And it makes us feel really proud of our job, as it proves you really enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your very kind review. See you next year! Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We came here as a family for my sister's 50th birthday and we found a little gem.

The hotel is not far from the museums and also from the main square.

the hotel was very tidy and staff were great.

We didnt have breakfast with our booking but there were places close by you could get food.

The one thing i didnt like was how cold the jacuzzi was. It says it has a pool but its talking about the freezing jacuzzi. Its also very very windy at on the top floor.

Apart from that we couldnt complain.

Room Tip: This hotel is perfect for a weekend away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and had the luck of having their only suite which was very nice with wooden floors, huge bathroom and a huge size. It only faces the street and can sometimes be a little noisy. A part from that service and friendliness was fine. The hotel is located right across the metro station Anton Martin, so you are connected immediately to the whole city. Plaza Santa Ana is only 5 minutes walking. Breakfast is nothing special and in the basement, so no windowns which gives it a strange atmosphere. Food is presented without detailed look & feel, so you may skip the breakfast experience at this place. For the cushions in the room I asked for a flat one as they only had really big and fat ones, but nothing available. A pity - had to sleep with a folded towel under my head;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
First, I would like to thank you for using your valuable time to write your opinion about Hotel Catalonia Atocha. That said, I regret what happened with the pillow, as clearly we made a mistake. As you have seen, we offer three different kinds of pillow in all the rooms, but in the case of the Junior Suite, you can also choose three different kind of special pillows "a la carte". I believe that one of the new Receptionist hadn't been informed properly about this point and that is why I guess they didn't offer you that service. We are really sorry for it. In case you stayed again in the Junior Suite, you would find the information about this service in a little brouchure placed on the desk. Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Have just spent 3 wonderful days in Madrid staying at the Catalonia atocha...this was our first visit to Madrid and we did a lot of research before we travelled as to which hotel to stay in and all the positive comments on trip advisor about this hotel are 100% true. It's location is perfect for exploring all that Madrid has to offer on foot or on the metro. The rooms are very very comfortable, the shower was fantastic and the roof terrace was a huge bonus and a great way to unwind after a day of sightseeing. The staff where fantastic and made us feel very welcome. We cannot recommend this hotel enough...just book it!! When we come back to Madrid (hopefully soon) we would not stay anywhere else.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and, of course, thank you very much for your extremely kind review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#190 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,545 - ₹ 15,774
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing