We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #75 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Having friends in Madrid, I visit there once or twice a year and usually stay at the Catalonia Las Cortes, off Plaza Santa Ana (love the hotel and location) . However, because the prices are escalating there, and I wanted to be closer to a Metro stop on this trip (two weeks ago), I decided to try the Catalonia on Calle Atocha.

I was a bit concerned about the noise factor, the hotel being on a very busy street. I was also worried when I saw that the room I reserved (#615, with a terrace) was directly across the elevator. Neither were an issue at all.. the rooms are very soundproofed and I slept blissfully.

The decor here is much more "modern", although not in an over-the-top way like the Melia on Plaza St. Ana, or some of the other design hotels in Madrid and Barcelona. The room was sort of a mini jr. suite, with a small sitting room with sofa and desk, and separate bedroom. Spotlessly clean, thoughtfully designed, fine linens, a great bed, and nice bathroom amenities. The terrace (off the sitting room), was quite large, with two deck chairs and a nice view of the city. And the wifi is free, fast, and reliable.

The front desk people, like the other property, could not be nicer or more helpful. And the Anton Martin station being just down the street is real plus.

I wasn't fond of the lobby-- a large, empty space with little sitting room.

Still, it was a lovely hotel, at a great price for the amenities and location. I haven't tried the other Catalonia hotels, but so far I think the Catalonia management is excellent. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMTORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

What can we say? Thank you very much indeed! I wish we had a review like this one every day! We really appreciate your nice words and we hope you will visit us in your next trip to Madrid...Regarding this next visit, let us make you one suggestion: you already know the exclusive and charming Catalonia Las Cortes hotel and our modern and spectacular Catalonia Atocha hotel. Why don't you try with our last opening Catalonia Plaza Mayor? It is a wonderful four starts hotel located in Atocha Street, number 36. Whatever you decide it will be a pleasure for us to meet you again. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 580 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fabulous hotel. Very clean and welcoming, The rooftop jaccuzi and sunbeds were lovely to strat the day with, although the water was cold (not heated jaccuzi), however, the hotel staff said the water would be a better temperature in the hotter months. We visited in August last year had an amazing time. weather was just right, could walk for miles without feeling lathargic and didn't really need a cardigan, even in the evening.

The hotel was close to a metro station and was also close to a few popular tourist attractions. and lovely restaurants and clubs and bars too. It was very close to the centre of madrid and was easy to walk to all the close attractions.

The room was lovely big, with a comfortable bed and enough room to snuggle and have your own space too!. there was a TV, more than enough cupboard space and a safe. The bathroom was luxurious and the shower could fit a whole group into it, it was also powerful and great to have a wash in. The hotel provided a comb, little soaps and a sewing kit too.

There was a little fruit shop close by so I could get my daily dose of fruit and also plenty of cafe's and restaurants close by for breakfast lunch and dinner!

Madrid is a lovely city and would love to go again. However we went to visit a friend and she found parking difficult round the hotel....but I don't think this took anything away from our fab stay at Catalonia Atocha. Was a little on the expensive side but worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We are happy to know that the only inconvenience during your stay was related with the weather. Unluckily, this is something very difficult to predict, as springtime in Madrid is especially variable. Regarding the temperature of the Jacuzzi, it is difficult to keep it warm with this weather conditions. But following the request of several guests we have changed the water heater for a more powerful one and now, even if the temperature outside is around 15oC, people can use it. The problem comes in the moment of coming out, but this is not a problem for some of our courageous guests.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel again. We hope it will be a third stay in the Catalonia Atocha hotel very soon. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What an amazing hotel. This trip to Madrid was a surprise for my husband. He's quite fussy about hotels, and thought I would never find anything nice within my budget in expensive Madrid. I can across this hotel through venere, and loved the rooftop terrace, so went ahead with the booking. On arrival, I couldn't get over how lovely the hotel is. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. When we had problems getting football ticket, an employee came out of the hotel to the bank with to help resolve the problem - thank you. Location wise, Plaza Santa Ana was 10 mins walk away and become one of your favourite stops. The metro station was less than a minutes walk from the hotel, with only 2/3 stops from Gran Via and 1 stop from La Latina. Would happily stay here again :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Madam,
We read your review this morning. What a nice way to begin our day!!! Thank you very much indeed for your very nice compliments. We made several copies of the review and we gave them to our Department Managers. I am sure they will feel very proud of their staff after reading your comments. I hope you will choose hotel Catalonia Atocha **** in the next trip to Madrid. Of course, will be a pleasure for us to see you again. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We happened upon this place by accident, but it gets perfect marks for location, price, cleanliness, service and design. We opted for a room with a huge balcony and a small separate living room (which I highly recommend) and had an incredibly restful long weekend sunning on the balcony and strolling the great nearby neighborhoods. The bathroom has very generous and a hairs stylist had no problem setting up shop and working on my wife's hair. Small Chinese-run odds-and-ends stores about 50m up the road has anything you might need, like power adapters, at reasonable prices. This is our new go-to hotel in Madrid!

Room Tip: Splurge for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DajomoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for your nice compliments. As you had a wonderful weekend in one of our Superior Rooms let us make you a suggestion for the next trip to Madrid: don't miss the opportunity to make a reservation of our spectacular Junior Suite. For only 60€ supplement you will have the opportunity to enjoy a huge room with a king size bed, original wooden floor, spectacular frescos on the ceiling, a 50 inches flat TV and a full equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, separate shower...A real dream. Thank you again for your kind review. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great location with a metro station 2 minutes walk away. Perfect to get to central or even walk 10-15 minutes.

Superb rooms which are spacious with also a huge shower.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help.

free wifi.

Dominos and kebab food places 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We feel very happy the hotel met all your expectations. Of course, it will be a big pleasure for us to meet you again in our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind review. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 437 in Madrid
726 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 437 in Madrid
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#186 of 437 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 437 in Madrid
1,559 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#127 of 437 in Madrid
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#58 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 8,208 - ₹ 15,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a few meters from Paseo del Prado and Atocha Station, the gateway to Madrid of high speed trains (AVE), Hotel Catalonia Atocha benefits from a strategic location; one step away from the main museums and tourist attractions of the capital and in an area of ​​great commercial and leisure activity. The hotel is complemented by a café-snack bar, a restaurant for conventions and events, free Wi-Fi and a beautiful terrace with heated seasonal jacuzzi with spectacular views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing