We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look at the bigger picture ”
Review of Retiro Park

Retiro Park
Ranked #1 of 839 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Peaceful urban park centered around a beautiful lake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I have been to this park before and I can say its beautiful and could spend hours here... However this trip the park was closed... Some people are moaning that they closed the whole park and it inconvenced them... Maybe some poeple should read up on the tragic event that happened there and have respect for the family that are grieving... It's closes for peoples safety

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"crystal palace"
in 1,869 reviews
"boating lake"
in 886 reviews
"rose garden"
in 445 reviews
"row boat"
in 237 reviews
"rowing boat"
in 221 reviews
"large lake"
in 147 reviews
"fallen angel"
in 191 reviews
"palacio de cristal"
in 287 reviews
"busy city"
in 287 reviews
"green space"
in 144 reviews
"sunny day"
in 351 reviews
"few hours"
in 388 reviews
"nice walk"
in 171 reviews
"people watching"
in 316 reviews
"watch the world"
in 158 reviews
"walk around"
in 207 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 207 reviews
Filter

1,715 - 1,719 of 49,285 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Absolutely beautiful park, it is very big so it is unlikely you will be able to see all of it. When the weather is nice in Madrid, it is one the best places to go. The places for food inside are probably not worth it, however, there are tons of places just outside the park on all sides that are great. A must-see.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Siobhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

A very huge Park! You have to walk for hours in order to visit every little place here! Its so beautiful!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank dimos_siametis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

As per previous reviews, we visited Madrid for four days over Easter. My husband has never done the tourist sights of Madrid and the Retiro was on my list to show off knowing we could spend a few hours of a sunny warm afternoon in its grounds. How disappointed was I! Appreciate a fatal accident has occurred (according to other reviews) but there seems to be a bigger issue within Madrid council funding as you walk around the city and notice lots of closed off areas?! Anyway, a little girl had a tantrum at the closed off gates as she couldn’t enter.....I know how she felt :(

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TouringScotsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We planned to spend a few hours at The a Retiro Park, to rent a boat and also go fir a long walk.

Unfortunately on the two days over the Easter weekend that we had bought tourist bus tickets for - which drops off and picks up at the park - the park was deserted and all the gates were locked. It was CLOSED!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ash1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Retiro Park also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Retiro Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing