We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #43 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

One of the great things about Spain is the hospitality of most people.This hotel was no exception. It combined a sense of history and heritage together with comfortable accommodation,tasty food and helpful service. A special mention has to be David, the Director for food and drink and the Concierge,Carmen. David was an excellent host making sure that we ate well and was always available for a chat. He had an excellent knowledge of the hotel and its history and provided reliable recommendations for restaurants to try in Madrid. Carmen, arranged a fantastic night out for us, booking a good restaurant nearby(which we found out later also hosted Will and Kate!) and also arranged for a booking at an entertaining Flamenco show.

The location of the hotel was also good, with the Prado located a few meters away.

We truly felt at home at this hotel.The only issue I had was that the sun terrace was closed for renovations. Other than that, if I ever return to Madrid, I would certainly choose to stay at the Palace!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingquestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,283 of 4,263 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

A beautiful hotel in a fantastic central location. Service absolutely fantastic. Food amazing and the most extensive choice for breakfast I have ever seen.

Rooms of a really high standard, extremely comfortable and well equipped. Had an excellent night's sleep on the most comfortable bed ever!

Would definitely recommend a stay here and just can't fault the service - they have just thought of everything. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the fountain and avoid the inner rooms overlooking the dome of the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our second visit to the lovely and historic Westin Palace Madrid. We love this historic and luxurious hotel, but were overwhelmed by the professionalism and personable service we recieved during our stay. The fantastic staff were attentive but not overwhelming. Our concierge became our personal valet as he provided extremely helpful insight regarding the local sights. The hotel could not be in a more perfect location very near the Prado and Reina Sofia museums, train and bus stations and numerous local attractions (Cibeles, Puerta de Alcala, etc.). The hotel offers an amazing restaurant, but there is also a very convenient and inexpensive VIPS attached to the hotel offering delicious, simple food. There is also a Starbucks if you simply MUST have it...guilty as charged! We took the Red bus city tour which provided an excellent quick tour of the city from which we planned our next few days of activities. We love Madrid and a highlight of each visit is our stay at the Westin Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: It's hard to go wrong at the Westin Palace. We enjoyed the views from an upper floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolverine325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The intentionally grand Palace Hotel on the Plaza de las Cortes was apparently built, in 1912, as part of King Alfonso XIII's plans to improve the level of accommodation in his capital city which, until that time, had fallen embarrassingly short of the luxurious standard in other European capitals like Paris, Rome and London. Like many five-star hotels of this architectural period, the hotel is truly grand. Not fake, 1980s, square glass chandelier 'grand'; not soaring blue skyscraper, incongruously minimalist 'grand', but actually, elegantly and wonderfully grand. A vast and beautiful stained glass dome allows natural light to pour into the lounge; the elegant entrance leads into an airy, marbled reception with tromp l'oeil. It feels, appropriately, like the entrance to a royal palace.

It is located, like the Ritz, in the best part of the city. This is a clean and beautiful part of Madrid near the green lung of the Retiro, with wide tree-lined boulevards and grand fountains. Near to the Prado and close enough to the Gran Via, I was relieved not to have stayed closer to the Old Town which, while charming, was certainly seedier and more crowded. The only thing that bettered it in terms of ambience in the whole city was the spectacular Campo del Moro, next to the Royal Palace.

The consistently high level of service began as soon as we arrived. Just as we were getting out of the taxi, a doorman informed us he had already arranged for a trolley to carry our luggage to a side entrance; he suggested we wander through the glass doors to the reception desk. Upon checking in, we received an upgrade to an Executive Room. After a few minutes, we were in a lift on our way to the fourth floor and our room.

The room itself was very comfortable, possessed a truly enormous bed and must have been one of the biggest non-suites in the city. The bathroom was of luxurious creamy marble, very large and of the classical style. It possessed the sublime Heavenly shower as well as the useful separate toilet room. His and hers sinks, really fluffy bathrobes - not those awful hung-dry things that pseudo-luxury hotels consider pass for fluffy - and a comprehensive range of toiletries including, to my girlfriend's delight, hair conditioner. There is plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe, an absolutely vital ironing board and iron and the room has a very quiet air conditioning system.The ambiance of the room was so perfect, we almost didn't notice it didn't really have a view. When in our room, we didn't hear another soul. It was exceptionally quiet. No banging doors, no shouts, no rolling luggage.

Despite the wonders of the hotel building, the beauty of its public spaces and the luxury of its appointments, the shining glory of the Westin Palace Madrid is the staff. Friendly, courteous, kind, thoughtful; these people see self-important celebrities, international movie stars and grandee politicians walk through their doors but not once do they relax the high level of their service because they haven't seen you on the cover of OK! Magazine. Nothing is a big issue for the hotel. You need something booked? Not a problem, we'll do it and get you the best table. You've forgotten your plug adaptor? Not a problem, we have one for you.

The service was unbeatable. One particular, and unhappy, incident exemplified this.

Whilst eating breakfast at a cafe near the Retiro Park, my DSLR camera was stolen from under my table by a thief sat close to us. After panicking, expressing sharp anger and stumbling back to the hotel in dizzying dismay, I went straight to the reception. I felt sure that they would help in some way and they certainly did. As soon as I had relayed my story to the lady there, a Westin host by the name of Aurelia Pareja had come out having learned of the incident, asked me what had happened and expressed her sincere apologies and pledged to help in any way she could. We went straight to the business suite, completed a form to hand to the police and were then accompanied by the equally helpful and understanding Jorge to the local police station in order that he might translate the problem to the representatives there. He did so, providing valuable advice, keeping our spirits up and going beyond his duties to ensure that the police took our issue seriously.

After a day spent out of town at Aranjuez, trying to ignore the loss of our holiday's means of documentation, we returned to the hotel looking forward to dinner at Pan de Lujo - which the hotel concierge had arranged for us - and found an excellent and not inexpensive bottle of Rioja and a plate of Serrano ham waiting for us in the room with a sweet letter from Aurelia expressing sympathy and offering to help in any way they could. It was difficult to think of what more she, or the hotel, could do, so complete had the service been.

We left, for Toledo, with heavy hearts knowing that our next hotel had much to live up to and that the grand, exceptional and above all enormously helpful Palace would be sorely missed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxeDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March for two nights. The hotel is located in a busy circle but it was very quiet at night. We loved the stained glass dome in the dining area near the lobby. The buffet breakfast was very good and we especially enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice. I think this is a 6 star hotel! Across from the hotel is the Prado museum and you can also take a sight seeing bus and the stop is located across from the Prado all within the traffic circle.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweet-Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#39 of 440 in Madrid
1,973 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 440 in Madrid
1,927 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 440 in Madrid
2,054 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#37 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 16,313 - ₹ 47,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing