We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent service, but this hotels needs renovating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #31 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
269 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent service, but this hotels needs renovating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Was upgraded upon checkin as Platinum SPG to a room with a view. The window was open when I arrived in the room, so it was freezing, but not a big deal.

The room was descent in size, with a view directly onto Neptuno fountain and the huge round-about surrounding it. But the room is tired, with stains on floor and furniture, and in need of a pain job.

Apart from this, it is an ok hotel with a nice bar, a very good breakfast, and a nice welcome gift with a bottle of olive oil for Platinum customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,310
    994
    261
    82
    48
See reviews for
794
1,502
164
578
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was a return visit for me. My first visit, in August, 2010, was a little underwhelming, and I was disappointed in "the little things" that went unaddressed by a hotel of this caliber. Shortly after posting my review I was contacted by the hotel manager, Marc Lannoy, who asked if I was willing to share a little more information about my stay. I was surprised, but I did not mind, and we emailed several times over the course of a week or so as he asked and I answered questions he had about my review. All in all, he struck me as tremendously responsive and concerned about the experiences his guests have, and I was impressed. At that time, however, I did not anticipate a return visit to Madrid at any time in the near future.

This month I found myself back in Spain with business trips in Seville and Barcelona. I decided to spend the weekend in between in Madrid seeing more of the amazing museums, and so I booked a return reservation to the Westin Palace Madrid.

I have to say, EVERY single thing I had commented on in my first review was not an issue this time around (and I reread it right before writing this review to make sure!). The reception desk was friendly and responsive--both upon check in and check out; the concierge made some outstanding suggestions for lunch since I had arrived late in the morning--and circled places on the map; even warning me about a somewhat dangerous area near El Rastro and to watch out for pickpockets there; and the waiter for dinner made sure to mention what was included with the meal voucher at dinner, and clearly indicated that beverages, including water, were extra. It was literally the opposite of everything I had mentioned about in my first review. It occurred to me that my name might have been flagged in the reservations computer, prompting the friendly greeting. However, neither the concierge or the waiter had any way of knowing who I was (since I didn't make a reservation for dinner). I am certain there has been a fundamental change in the way training has occurred here.

To me, this hotel continues to be one of, if not the, best located hotels in Madrid. You can walk almost anywhere within 20 minutes, including all of the museums, Plaza Mayor, etc. The views of the Neptune Fountain from the rooms with that view are awe-inspiring. And the service on this return trip, and the stunning executive suite, would surely keep me returning again and again.

It is gratifying that there are managers out there like Sr. Marc Lannoy who read these reviews and care about the experiences of all of their guests> It has certainly made a HUGE difference in the quality of this property! Given the opportunity, I will surely be back!

Room Tip: The view of the fountain is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A grand, old hotel reasonably kept up by Westin. Breakfast buffet is bounteous and staff is attentive to your coffee and juice. Afternoon tea is good, if you can catch the eye of a waiter. The tea pot is good for two cups, arrives with milk (if you wish), and the three pastry selections are outstanding. My room was modest and was not with a promised walk-in shower. The king size bed was really two singles pushed together. The cleaning staff arrived at erratic times and didn't always keep the bathroom amenities in supply. The chief charm of this hotel is its proximity to the Thiesen-Bournemisze, the Prado, and the Naval Museum.

Room Tip: Try to be Prado side and high, in spite of the potential for traffic noise. The view is rewarding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladislov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this Westin a number of times over the past years. Generally it has been a good experience but the property went through a rough period about 5 years ago. I am happy to report that it is back again. The location could not be better - it is just a short walk to the three main museums (the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and the Reina Sofia) the city center and the Atocha train station. The rooms are traditional but comfortable and reasonably well laid out for work. It is a busy hotel so sometimes it is not so easy to get the attention of the staff. Generally everything works and our group was handled efficiently. Elevators can be slow but fortunately the floors are accesible via large staircases. The lobby and public spaces are very grand - a perfect place to have tea or a glass of cava after a long day at the museums before heading out for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Westin in late March this year. The location is superb! Very centrally located. The Prado is a two minute walk away and the fabulous Neptune fountain on the Plaza de Canovas del Castillo is right out the front door. The mercado, Palace Royale, and many other tourist destinations are within walking distance as well. The lobby, restuarant and meeting rooms are beautifully appointed. We only ate breakfast at the hotel (included in the room rate) but it was quite nice. The room was average in size and nicely appointed. We had a window looking out onto the plaza which was nice but could hear sirens and other noise at night. The noise factor was definetly trumped by the great location. There were loads of great tapas bars and restuarants within easy walking distance of the hotel. The one major negative was that the staff was quite snobby; from the waiters to the desk staff, they all had an air of disdane about them which was suprising given that we found the Spanish people everywhere else to be very warm and gracious. I can't comment on the room rates as my company footed the bill but I would assume it is in the high price category.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#34 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#29 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 447 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,773 - ₹ 37,754
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood EMEA, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing