We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendlier Staff would greatly improve this hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #144 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendlier Staff would greatly improve this hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a recent visit with a small tour group. It is in an excellent location, and the rooms are comfortable. However, the visit was plagued with glitches that may not have been the fault of the hotel staff, but that were not handled with any amount of grace or accommodation. The Internet was not functioning. The staff kept insisting that it was the fault of the guests, who "did not know how to connect." Really? All of them? That message was delivered by the young woman at the front desk with an attitude of impatience and irritation. Similarly, one of our tour group was placed in a room with broken air conditioning in 100 degree heat. Again the hotel denied responsibility, though it was eventually fixed. If you value the prime location of this rather expensive hotel, go for it. If you prefer service with a friendly and courteous smile, skip it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    432
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
215
462
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Couldn't be better located for a first visit to Madrid. Clean basic Spanish '4 star' hotel. Room clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast coffee poor! However check that there are no tour parties of braying North American students booked in when you are staying - they clutter the place up and make passgae to the breakfast room hard in the mornings - that is if they haven't trashed the breakfast room when midnight feasting the night before.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We just returned from our Spain trip and spent three nights here at Hotel Opera. Our room was a triple facing the opera house, so it was plenty spacious. The bathroom had a tub/shower as well as a stall shower and a double sink. the room was very clean and bright. We did have some street noise in spite of metal blinds, but it didn't keep us awake. We were in Madrid during the last game of the Euro cup so we saw lots of excitement in the plaza. The location is very good--20 minute walk to the Prado and 5 minutes to the Royal Palace. We liked the cafe because of its convenience and the staff was vey friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband daughter arrived in Madrid this morning from New York. Upon arrival at the hotel at 11:30, they were told they would have to wait until 1:00 pm to check in. They went out for a coffee, walked around and went back to wait in the lobby. My daughter fell asleep and when she woke up, saw people coming in and checking in. They had to go back to the front desk and ask again to be checked in. They reserved a deluxe twin bedded room and found themselves in an extremely small room, dark and dismal. They requested an upgrade and were told none were available, maybe tomorrow. My family is made up of world travelers. On a video chat, I agreed with their assessment that this hotel was like a two-star hotel in an upcountry province in an Asian country (which will go unnamed). Our travel agent will hear about this and this hotel has definitely lost our business and recommendation to our other global friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricebowlsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We took a trip for the wifes birthday to Madrid, as we had been to spanish region but never to the capital. Overall a very good hotel, very central, and easily accessible to the Metro. Staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms slightly above average and reasonable. breakfast was good and will set you up for the day,

Getting there

As it is a 2 min walk to hotel, we took the metro, taxi would run you about 30 euros or more, hotel has a shuttle for 13 eur per person, and do drop offs to airport, did not check if they arrange collections. I would recommend the shuttle or taxi if you have a lot of luggage, we had one piece of carry on each and a bag, so we took the metro. The cost is 4.50 (1.50 plus 3Eur supplement).
On arrival to airport, follow the signs within the airport, its about a 5-7 min walk from our arrival point taking a right and following signs. Take the number 8 line to Nuevos Ministerios, transfer to grey line one stop to Cuatros Caminos, and then transfer to red line for opera, overall took about 50 minutes from airport to hotel. On arrival at airport walk up exit with the opera house facing you, it is on the right hand corner, you cannot miss it. The location is very central, but we still purchased a travel 10 ticket in the airport for trips to Bernabeu and the Park, and more than person can use it, just put ticket in the machine, walk through, then hand it back and the next person can use it, this is perfectly normal and allowed. the airport trips will take up 4 anyway, don't forget you will need an airport supplement ticket on way back, which you can buy at departure point or at the airport.

The hotel

Check in was a breeze and we checked in just after 11am and got a room, so we could start touring straightaway. Hotel is 3-4 minutes to Plaza Oriente, Palacio Real, 10 minutes or less to Plaza Major and Mercado de san Miguel (which you have to try). Free Wifi but you will need a code for each device, I took one but could only use on iPad and not on smartphone, they will give you a second no problem. Hotel also has 2 communal computers for use should you need them, email check in online etc...

Room was pleasant if not overly large, plenty of closet space for a couple, bathroom was large in comparison to room, and pleasant, showers powerful. Only downside was some slight noise from street at night time, but nothing that kept us awake, light sleepers might want ear buds, but it was low level. Beds were singles pushed together and made separately which was fine for us considering the wife does a World In Action when sleeping in hot countries. Aircon worked fine. Flatscreen TV but never used it, too much nightlife! Toiletries in bathroom.

Staff were very pleasant, and always wanted to help. Breakfast was selection of fruits, ham, salamis, cheese, cereals, fresh juices, coffee and eggs scramlbed and boiled with bacon sausage or mushroom, and plenty of cakes, croissant etc..Very pleasantly surprised at selection, only downside was if a lot of people arrive at the same time, plates glasses etc.. can be scarce, no big deal for us, as it only lasted for about 15 minutes and was then resolved, I think I heard a comment of staff arriving late or absent for morning shift.

Enjoyable trip, very central and would stay here again.

Tips - You have to try the Mercado de san Miguel, for a bite to eat, beside the Plaza Major. You can get negotiate on paintings in the Plaza Mayor on Sundays, we managed to get a decent painting and knocked 20% off the price, could have gotten more I think but, it was great value for the price purchased, we used Aer Lingus and not the nazis in Ryanair, so was easily transported back home. Tried Sobitin, nice to do as oldest restaurant in the world, but quality of food can be easily beaten elsewhere, and cheaper too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#68 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#148 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 21,974
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing