We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #145 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We took a trip for the wifes birthday to Madrid, as we had been to spanish region but never to the capital. Overall a very good hotel, very central, and easily accessible to the Metro. Staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms slightly above average and reasonable. breakfast was good and will set you up for the day,

Getting there

As it is a 2 min walk to hotel, we took the metro, taxi would run you about 30 euros or more, hotel has a shuttle for 13 eur per person, and do drop offs to airport, did not check if they arrange collections. I would recommend the shuttle or taxi if you have a lot of luggage, we had one piece of carry on each and a bag, so we took the metro. The cost is 4.50 (1.50 plus 3Eur supplement).
On arrival to airport, follow the signs within the airport, its about a 5-7 min walk from our arrival point taking a right and following signs. Take the number 8 line to Nuevos Ministerios, transfer to grey line one stop to Cuatros Caminos, and then transfer to red line for opera, overall took about 50 minutes from airport to hotel. On arrival at airport walk up exit with the opera house facing you, it is on the right hand corner, you cannot miss it. The location is very central, but we still purchased a travel 10 ticket in the airport for trips to Bernabeu and the Park, and more than person can use it, just put ticket in the machine, walk through, then hand it back and the next person can use it, this is perfectly normal and allowed. the airport trips will take up 4 anyway, don't forget you will need an airport supplement ticket on way back, which you can buy at departure point or at the airport.

The hotel

Check in was a breeze and we checked in just after 11am and got a room, so we could start touring straightaway. Hotel is 3-4 minutes to Plaza Oriente, Palacio Real, 10 minutes or less to Plaza Major and Mercado de san Miguel (which you have to try). Free Wifi but you will need a code for each device, I took one but could only use on iPad and not on smartphone, they will give you a second no problem. Hotel also has 2 communal computers for use should you need them, email check in online etc...

Room was pleasant if not overly large, plenty of closet space for a couple, bathroom was large in comparison to room, and pleasant, showers powerful. Only downside was some slight noise from street at night time, but nothing that kept us awake, light sleepers might want ear buds, but it was low level. Beds were singles pushed together and made separately which was fine for us considering the wife does a World In Action when sleeping in hot countries. Aircon worked fine. Flatscreen TV but never used it, too much nightlife! Toiletries in bathroom.

Staff were very pleasant, and always wanted to help. Breakfast was selection of fruits, ham, salamis, cheese, cereals, fresh juices, coffee and eggs scramlbed and boiled with bacon sausage or mushroom, and plenty of cakes, croissant etc..Very pleasantly surprised at selection, only downside was if a lot of people arrive at the same time, plates glasses etc.. can be scarce, no big deal for us, as it only lasted for about 15 minutes and was then resolved, I think I heard a comment of staff arriving late or absent for morning shift.

Enjoyable trip, very central and would stay here again.

Tips - You have to try the Mercado de san Miguel, for a bite to eat, beside the Plaza Major. You can get negotiate on paintings in the Plaza Mayor on Sundays, we managed to get a decent painting and knocked 20% off the price, could have gotten more I think but, it was great value for the price purchased, we used Aer Lingus and not the nazis in Ryanair, so was easily transported back home. Tried Sobitin, nice to do as oldest restaurant in the world, but quality of food can be easily beaten elsewhere, and cheaper too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    432
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
215
462
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very close to the Opera House and the metro is just around the corner. Great and clean rooms . Good breakfast and gently staff !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haifa-LHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have just returned from a 4-day stay in Madrid where I stayed at the Hotel Opera. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, lovely bathroom and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is suited to all types of travelers and located right in the heart of city, a 2 minute walk from the Metro 'Opera'. It takes approximately 45 minutes to get to and from the airport with 2 changes on the metro. Breakfast has a wide selection of food to suit all so can't fault it. In addition there a several cafes nearby should you wish to venture out.

I shall definitely be returning to Madrid and will definitely stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location, central and easy walk to Plaza Mayor, Puerto de Sol, Gran Via, Royal Palace. Tourist bus stop nearby. Metro round the corner. Found the hotel quiet, we were in a room on 9th floor, it wasnt the smallest of rooms but the sloping wall/ceiling did cause my hubby a few problems. breakfast was adequate but it wasnt very well laid out and in a small room, said it seated 50 but more that a dozen people in there in morning made it very cramped and staff very slow to clear tables. The cafe attached to the hotel was very good, excellent service from everyone who worked there. would go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houthalen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hotel was located very close to the royal palace. Metro station at 50m. Shops, bars and restaurant at walking distance. The best hotel for a citytrip. BUT: quite noisy at night (you could hear people screaming on the street at night, when you were awake, you could even hear the metro underneath you! Breakfast was ok, except from the sandwiches, they weren't always fresh and sometimes too hard to eat. Everyone in the breakfast room was complaining about this. You could have toast as an alternative for the sandwiches (the sort of toast you eat after you had a stomache flue). Fresh orange juice was available every morning, as well as (a little TOO) fresh fruit... Room and bathroom was very clean. Not so much space around the toilet, it looked like it was made only for children to use...

Room Tip: ask specifically for a room on the "quite" site. We asked for it when we booked and LUCKEL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#144 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,782 - ₹ 21,908
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing