We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value for the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mollete

El Mollete
Reserve with
El Mollete is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #443 of 10,194 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Nice family restaurant recommended by friend. We ordered blood sausage, cheese croquettes and huevo rotos. Each dish is 10 euro. Food is great. Make sure you reserve online if u don't speak Spanish. They do have english menu that we have to rely on.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Megachaoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    91
    21
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was really quite underwhelmed by this place. Yes, the non English speaking staff were lovely and the food was fine but nothing special that you couldn't do at home. We had found this restaurant via the Tripadvisor app as everyone else sitting around us up the stairs had presumably done as they were all English speaking. Disappointing overall. It was 80 Euros for 5 biggish tapas, 2 desserts and a bottle of nice red wine. I suspect there is more atmosphere if you just eat on the ground floor at the bar.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a Sweet surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was twice with my boyfriend in this restaurant and both times we had a lovely evening. the staff is really friendly and give precious advises :) the food is delicious.
it is very small, so is always better to book in advance. the first time that we were there, it was fully booked. i wish I could eat some artichokes. take those and you will never forget their taste :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Papavero1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“So so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were lucky enough to get a seat for lunch and our meal was so good that we made reservations to return for dinner the following night. The restaurant only seats about 12 people upstairs and maybe half that downstairs. We thought the prices were quite modest. Be sure to check out the daily specials.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As the Spanish would say, ¡Que Rico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to have dinner and I pulled up the Nww York Times' 36 hours in Madrid--I'm very glad I did, otherwise I would never have found this absolute gem of a restaurant. We made a reservation and were luckily able to reserve the last table.

The restaurant looks like a little house and only has a few tables, around four on each of its two floors and a small bar area. The menu is short and simple and the place has an old-world, family-run charm.

The huevos rotos were particularly outstanding, as were the sauteed artichokes which they made vegetarian.

Not to be missed!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bml88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mollete also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Mollete? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing