We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
12
30
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
30
13
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel in May 2013. The location is great, right next to the metro station Tirso de Molina and a few minutes from the Puerta del Sol by foot.
The room was spacious and clean, even though the double bed was actuallt two single beds pulled together. But no harm done there... The bathroom was quite small but it was alright for just a couple of nights, with a good hot water shower. It's a good value for money spot!
The staff was always very helpful and nice, although we had some trouble in their working schedule. We wanted to check out early, leave our bag with them so we could explore the city until we had to leave later on (which we did, and we appreciate the attention) but there was no one at the hostal when we left at 9h. We couldn't find any information about the working hours but we expected that there would be a recepcionist. We ended up going out for breakfast and returned an hour later, when we rang the bell again and finally got an answer.
Aside from that, the place was great. It would be wise to contact via e-mail the hostal and set up all the meeting times in advance so everything goes smooth and there is no worry, like we faced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chihiro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

First it is important to notice that a hostal in Madrid apparently is not a place for backpackers only. It does not have those large rooms for 16 persons. It is more a B&B kind of place with doubles and triples only. This hostal is run by an Irish/American couple, which comes in handy re. the communication. Very nice and warm people.
The rooms are on the second floor of an old appartement building. Authentic atmosphere. There are no additional hotel services (no breakfast for instance) but that is not a problem. To the contrary. You are in the heart of the city, you can eat and drink everywhere. Nevertheless there is a kitchen in which you can cook and which has a fridge.
I booked a room (nr 3, twinbeds, airconditioned) which was located in the front of the building overlooking the square. Really nice, with a balcony. In the weekends at night a bit noisy but with closed windows no problem. The room was very clean and well equipped. The shower was very good (always warm and sufficient water). The beds are OK. No five star quality but you can't expect that for these prices.
The subway station is on the square. Ideal. If you travel from Barajas airport you can buy
a one way ticket for 5€. Don't forget to select "line 1, Tirso de Molina" in the ticketmachine. Then take the 8 to Nuevos Ministerios, then the 10 (direction Puerta del Sur) to Tribunal and then the 1 (direction Valdecarros) to Tirso de Molina. This trip only takes 35 minutes.
At sundays you can visit the (overrated) Rastro market which is just around the corner. All other main features (like the musea, the palace and the plaza mayor) are within walking distance. Nevertheless I visited Madrid together with my son specifically for a Real Madrid game. A great experience. The subway takes you there in a quarter of an hour.
Hostal Tirso Plaza is a very nice place on a great location and for a unbeattable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joannesjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Central location, fine staff and a basic but clean room. You can see all the main attractions by foot and the metro is on the square. Close to nice restaurants.
The free WIFI works perfect and there is a kitchen that you can use to make coffee,thee and a fridge for cold drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esk1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The outside can look a bit off putting and at first confusing to enter, you do so by the second floor, but this is a good inexpensive base to stay. Situated on a bustling square with a small flower Market in front of it.
Rooms are small but spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, good shower rooms, communal guest kitchen. No frills but an excellent situation re access to transport, museums, theatre restaurants, bars shopping etc. and good Wifi connection
It does have a downside as the rooms on the front of the hosal can be very noisy indeed this can continue until late into the night.
One footnote about Madrid do take care with handbags wallets etc. pickpockets are prevelant and work in groups.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of building.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed there reserving two double rooms: one for me and my husband, the second one for my parents-in-law. We spent 2 nights in Madrid and enjoyed our stay at Hostal Tirso Plaza: rooms are new, clean and comfortable, location is perfect as it is just in front of the tube and just a few minutes away by foot from all central attractions in Madrid.
The owners - a gentleman and a lady - are very kind and patient.
In May my parents went to Madrid and they stayed here, as I recommend this hostal: they enjoyed their stay here.

Don't worry about the main entrance: it does not seem an hostal, it seems to be in a building on a "renovation status" but inside, on the upper floor, apartments exist and are fine! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews