We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously good”
Review of DiverXO - CLOSED

DiverXO
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Simply the most incredible meal of my life.

We have been lucky enough to have eaten in some seriously good restaurants from world-rocking chefs and, honestly, this meal rocked our world. And hushh, we were even taken here by a Michelin judge no less.

Fusion food has often worried me at best and left me cold more often than not but here I discovered what can be achieved when excellence and creativity are themselves fused.

Just go, enjoy, please (with a few month's notice of course!).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RaguGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    71
    25
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Mind-blowing food, good atmosphere- worth a splurge”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Diverxo last week during our Madrid trip. We had 9 courses, no additions, which was a little over $300 with tip. Obviously this was a splurge, but we felt it was worth it. The presentation of each dish was unique and highly choreographed to go with the texture and type of course, and we were blown away by some of the items (truffle-oil dim sum with ox meat, rib meat raviolli with tamarind foam...crazy good), and impressed with all of them. The only issue we had was that we experienced some negative service due to (we think) 2 things. First, though we're in our mid/late 20's, we look younger and often feel that we don't always get the best service based on that, which is unfortunate, but we usually don't feel like there's much recourse other than in the size of the tip we give (try to be generous anyway though most of the time!). The other issue was that we didn't order anything to drink. Given that this was a very big, once in a lifetime sort of experience, we didn't want to have the wrong kind of wine or drink that might muddy the taste of the incredible dishes. We were there for the food and while we do enjoy wine with dinner on occasion, we didn't feel that it was necessary in this instance, and in fact, that it might take away from the food. I think that the combination of our age, our choice not to order a drink, (and the VIP-looking group that was sharing our waiter), led to patchy service. We literally sat there for 30 min. after being given an appetizer of edamame, but we hadn't seen a menu or anything. I was disappointed in this, but once we actually got served, they were polite and accomodating.

Anyway, definitely worth a visit, the food alone is worth the price!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

One of the best restaurants in Madrid. It has an oriental-sudaamerican fusion theme. Its quite pricey but totally worth it! Recommended to reserve in advance.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank nek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A quick cab ride from the heart of town, this was one of the most interesting and delicious meals ever! Multiple course prix fixe, every course was creative and beautifully plated. service was stellar and when I said I didn't eat meat, the server was more than gracious...as was everyone in the restaurant. Lavender foam and ice cream, yummy..fish dishes wonderful...highly recommend this.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traxnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining Dinner”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Really excellent food - totally modern and creative but not weird. A few subway stops from the center. Clearly the vision of its chef in every aspect. Friendly and attractive wait staff (the men slightly embarrassed, we thought, about wearing culottes). Very grateful that the sommelier recommended a reasonable (€ 25) and excellent wine from the extensive list (one reason why it's more fun to eat in Spain than in France). If you like food and have a sense of humor, go!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhirledTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DiverXO also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing