We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better”
Review of Cafe La Traviatae

Cafe La Traviatae
Ranked #8,973 of 12,982 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was the first café in Madrid where we had drinks, but were not brought tapas. The waiter seemed not to care, and it was the worst calamari we ate in Madrid (and we ate a lot!). The ambiance was nice. It is very cute, and my paella was good.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Good ambiance, pleasant service, good menu for dinner at reasonable prices. Food was good, well prepared and tasty. A good restaurant near to the Teatro Real on Plaza Isabell II.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We initially sat outside and asked to see the menu but were somewhat brusquely told - no food outside drinks only.
So we ventured inside and got a table - 2pm on a sunday and it was very busy.
We ordered from the extremely reasonably priced menu of the day ( a starter a main and a dessert for 12:95)
The entire meal was cooked beautifully
The waiters could've smiled a bit more but service was quick.
The Spaghetti starter was great
The Iberian steak and Veal steaks were delicious
With a jug of Sangria and a beer 3 x 3 course meals for only a little over 50 euros was exceptional value.
As we were eating the few remaining tables quickly filled and a queue formed out the door of people waiting for tables ( mainly locals)

A very reasonable meal at a nice location

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Found this little gem by chance, great place. We opted for 3 course set menu at €17.95 could not fault at all. Tapas to start, veal steak followed by millefuille. Service good, lovely ambiance would definitely recommend. If staying longer would have returned:)

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank moorveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This intimate restaurant is conveniently located within the elegant Habsburg District of Madrid, across from the Royal Theater on Plaza Isabel. We enjoyed the warm atmosphere and reasonably priced dinners on two separate occasions during our visit to Madrid. Service was friendly and welcoming. Located between many of the sites within the historic district, we did not have to venture out of our way after a long day of site-seeing to enjoy a delicious relaxing meal.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe La Traviatae also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe La Traviatae? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing