We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice churros”
Review of The Star Bar

The Star Bar
Ranked #39 of 203 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 17
Cuisines: British
Description: As you know, Gibraltar is steeped in history. The Star Bar (Gibraltar's oldest bar) dates back several hundred years, indeed there is a local story that Christopher Columbus diverted into Gibraltar to enjoy a fillet steak meal at The Star Tavern on his way to discover the Americas. Enjoy your visit and may you return safely again one day with your family & friends. We are famous for our full English breakfast but also serve other wonderful dishes such as the classic Fish & Chips, starting from 8am every day (9am on Sunday). Enjoy our Star Coffee or draught beers; these include Heineken, Old Speckled Hen, Murphys and Strongbow cider. We hope our super Star Bar team made you feel like a star.
Restaurant details
Description: As you know, Gibraltar is steeped in history. The Star Bar (Gibraltar's oldest bar) dates back several hundred years, indeed there is a local story that Christopher Columbus diverted into Gibraltar to enjoy a fillet steak meal at The Star Tavern on his way to discover the Americas. Enjoy your visit and may you return safely again one day with your family & friends. We are famous for our full English breakfast but also serve other wonderful dishes such as the classic Fish & Chips, starting from 8am every day (9am on Sunday). Enjoy our Star Coffee or draught beers; these include Heineken, Old Speckled Hen, Murphys and Strongbow cider. We hope our super Star Bar team made you feel like a star.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Little cafe bar down side street. A bit basic but wifi was good. A few draught beers to choose from which were ok. Churros were nice and staff fairly friendly.

Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian U, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thanks for the feedback Andrew, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Star Bar as usually when we visit Gib we frequent one of the other Bars/ Restaurants in Irish Town & was just passing , my wife thought it looked attractive inside so we entered & were greeted by a friendly waitress , the food & coffee was great & at a reasonable price .
The next time we are back in Gib we will definitely visit again .

1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian U, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

What a glowing review! Thanks very much Steve, I've shared your feedback with the team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Stopped for lunch, nice setting down side street off main road,
Highly recommend the nachos and cheesy chips.

Washed day with a pint of cider and old peculiar

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian U, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks very much Steve, I've shared your feedback with the team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We found this bar by accident, It was a Saturday evening around 17:30 and all the bars were closed. (A bit strange for a Saturday evening). We strolled down Parliament lane and found the Star bar open, The owner was cleaning the furniture down so I guess he was also ready for closing however, he invited us in and we ordered drinks and food off the menu. The food was of the highest calibre and fairly priced, At one point one off our party was getting a little chilly (which is not unusual for February) so he gave her his tweed jacket. By the time we left the bar it was almost full of people. Overall a lovely refurbished bar in which the owner and staff take great pride in the food and it's appearance. A must if you like good food in a great environment.

Thank Bozzy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian U, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

What a glowing review! Thanks very much, I've shared your feedback with the team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This is Gib's oldest bar yet it was been completely re-fitted. Inside it has clean modern lines and could perhaps do with a bit more of a link to its roots. The choice of wines was very good, friendly staff and freshly cooked tasty food. Bar staff were helpful and friendly, we called in after being out in the Bay Dolphin watching and it was perfect for a glass of wine and a burger

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian U, Guest Relations Manager at The Star Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thanks very much Simon, I've shared your feedback with the team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Bar also viewed

 
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to The Star Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing