We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel with character and modern facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel with character and modern facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is in the old part of town, close to many small restaurants, bars etc. it's also a short walk to the harbour. The owners of this hotel are particularly friendlyand go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are fairly small but very nicely equipped with good bathrooms, the hotel was recently refurbished / converted, there has been a sympathetic restoration of the building.
There is a little bit of noise outside if you leave the balcony door open but once closed I had no problem sleeping. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
125
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hotel service does not get better then this! This hotel is very modern set in a great location in Vigo. It is a family run hotel and they instantly make you feel like a part of their family. They cook everything fresh and served in the ground floor dining area. The food was better than most top notch restaurants. Every meal was excellents and they even shared their recipee with me!
The entire family will go out there way to make you Spain/ Vigo experience one you will never forget. I was truly sad to leave this place at the end of my trip. I can't wait to go back.

Wonderful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent two nights in this cosy hotel. The rooms are small but have all needed facilities. The bathroom is very modern.

The service was excellent. The hosts José Manuel with his wife and his son Fernando were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast and the dishes they served (fish, jamón and cheese) were delicious.

Fully recommendable!

Sandra & Arne

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my brothers birthday -there was 6 of us -3 bedrooms
From the moment we checked in , we couldnt have had better service. What was nice was that we were put on the first floor -and we had our own little corridor for the 3 rooms. My brother got the room with the balcony which overlooked the street

The breakfast was very filling and it was nice to have a bar that we could go to for a predinner drink before we ventured out into Vigo.

They do provide car parking for a small charge and the man on reception kindly drove with us to show us where it was-it is a minute away from the hotel. The staff spoke great english.

The hotel really is in a great location for the port and old town Vigo. The building is really beautiful and small. When we next go back to Vigo we will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgangeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

A seven week business stay at the Hotel Puerta Gamboa was an absolute delight. The service and family atmosphere at this small but friendly hotel are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. The food, freshly cooked, was wonderful - all introduced by Fernanado the 'Talking Menu'.
All in all a wonderful experience. If you are visiting Vigo this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.3 km away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.5 km away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#9 of 44 in Vigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
3.6 km away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Property: Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Address: Rua Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,764 - ₹ 11,349
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing