We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Gran Hotel Santiago(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Exe Area Central(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Akelarre Hotel(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Altair Hotel(Santiago de Compostela)
US$ 140
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pension Libredon **(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Airinos Aires(Santiago de Compostela)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$ 289
US$ 259
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue Acuario(Santiago de Compostela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue Alda O Fogar de Teodomiro(Santiago de Compostela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
624
239
39
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
239
39
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking monasteryswimming pool and jacuzzifranciscan monksold townbeautiful hotelconverted monasteryup to datestone wallsthe main squarebreakfast buffetrooms are largeexcellent locationlong walkcamino walkcentral locationcathedralcentre
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Beautifully restored as a hotel, ancient historic convent in a perfect location close to the catedral and old town. Very nice staff, large and well appointed rooms, excellent buffet breakfast. It has parking and an indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed 3 nights here as the wonderful ending to our 105km Camino walk. It is in an old stone monastery so everything was solid and very much old Spain but modernized! The breakfasts buffets were outstanding with pretty much anything one would want from simple toast or yogurt to eggs, bacon, ham, waffles with juice, coffee, tea...the works! Beds were very comfortable and rooms well appointed. The bathroom we had seemed very tight (you could rest your chin on the sink while sitting on the toilet), and a few times the hallway seemed noisy because the wooden floors, but I did not downgrade my rating because these were minor things. The remainder of the stay was perfect. The front desk arranged a taxi for us and another couple to the airport which worked out perfectly. The location is only a few short blocks from the main square in front of the Cathedral and from the Compostela office. We were able to get the Camino tour company's discount rate for an extra night which made it very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to front lobby if you need an elevator. Our wing had stone stairs to access.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GaryH_Colo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We had a large room on the 4th floor, everything was simply top quality. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for experiencing the centre of Santiago. Friendly , very efficient staff, made booking in a pleasure, which is rare in hotels.Cafe for breakfast was fine, but really with all the great food places in the old town, we had all our other meals outside. We will return to Santiago, and this is the only hotel we will consider staying.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The building is fantastic and worth touring, the small squares around which the rooms are placed are well appointed with loads of antiques. Our room, though smallish, was very well designed, and the bathroom had great amenities and again a cleaver design. It was very quiet. Be sure to try the hot chocolate it is insanely good.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms off the street facing the square as they are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRP1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Many strong points in favour - one against.
FOR:
1) Ideal location. Central but not noisy. The Parador in the main square suffers from rowdy crowds celebrating and almost constant music busking. Not so San Francisco - the back rooms overlooking the gardens are very quiet.
2) Staff very pleasant and extremely helpful. Nearly all speak some English.
3) Huge ancient building adapted to the requirements of a modern hotel without losing its atmosphere.
4) The few remaining Franciscan monks live their lives of seclusion and prayer almost invisibly in a separate part of the building. You will not recognise them as they do not wear the brown Franciscan habit.
5) Good food in the Cafeteria abd Restaurant. Simple but wholesome.
Only Room Service sandwiches rather disappointing.
6) Good value for money. Prices moderate.
7) Valet parking - a godsend if you come by car.
8) Background music soothing and classical. But WHY is constant music considered to be indispensible? The atmosphere would be MUCH better without it!
AGAINST:
Freezing air conditioning in September, when the evening, night and early morning temperatures are distinctly chilly anyway!
All temperatures are centrally controlled - the whole building is fixed at one temperature (cold!). You can have your air conditioning turned off but you can't control the temperature of your room. If you feel the cold, you can ask for a supplementary heater/heaters to be brought to your room.
This is the one major fault in an otherwise efficient hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank DuchessadiNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews