We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a convenient location”
Review of Hotel Rua Villar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rua Villar
Certificate of Excellence
glen ellyn
Level Contributor
373 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice place in a convenient location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

In the old part of town, spitting distance from the cathedral and skads of restaurants. Nice sitting areas on each floor and confortable rooms. Very helpful staff. I ordered a glass of wine, and instead of the usual tapa, the waiter brought over a bowl of stew he was very proud the restaurant was serving. It made for a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    41
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
59
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Had two glorious nights in this little haven right beside the Cathedral and the Tourist Office. For location you cannot do better, for comfort you will love it, for welcome and efficiency, they will not disappoint and for general satisfaction, this hotel ticks all the boxes. I would particularly mention the receptionist Christine who took care of some problems we had with late arrival of luggage and a problematic taxi driver, a charming girl and most efficient. We will definitely stay here when we return to Santiago.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachedwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LED
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Rua Villar after finishing the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage. Needless to say, I was exhausted and fed up with sleeping bags, rocky bunk beds and snoring. I initailly wanted to stay at the Parador next to the Cathedral, but walked into the cozy Rua Villar hotel on my way to the Praza do Obradoiro and couldn't resist its charm. Eventually, I spent two wonderful, relaxing nights there.

The hotel is located in a narrow street a stone's throw away from the Praza do Obradoiro and the Cathedral. The area is bustling with life: tourists, pilgrims, pigeons, souvenir shops and restaurants are plentiful there. It is not the quietest spot during the day but the noice is not unplesant - it is somehow appropriate and even romantic in a way. The nights, however, are mostly quiet.

My room on the last floor was wonderful: clean, homey, fairly roomy, stylish and practically laid out. I could see the bell tower of the Cathedral from my ceiling window. And hear the bells, too, which, as a pilgrim, I enjoyed very much.

The service was nice. The staff at reception always had a warm welcome and smiles for the guests.

In general, I would say that the Rua do Villar hotel provides great value for money. More importantly, though, it has this special feel to it that one comes to Santiago de Compostela to experience: inside the hotel you feel part of the old town, part of history and part of a beautiful tradition. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Rua Villar hotel. It's location is ideal - very close to the cathedral, restaurants and shopping.
Our room was a deluxe category room with a large bathroom,sleeping area, and balcony sitting area. The queen size bed was a bit low for my 6'5" husband, but tolerable. The room faced a pedestrian street which only allowed limited traffic (the occasional taxi and delivery vehicles) and there were heavy wooden shutters to close at night which shut out any possible noise. However, on Thursday nights the university students are partying until early morning and singing could be heard even with the shutters closed tight.
The reception personnel were friendly and spoke English.
Breakfast was plentiful with hot and cold food and was included in the room price. This was the only food available in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This small hotel is located on a pedestrian street just 1min walk from Santiago Cathedral. I stayed there after walking the Camino de Santiago - it's right opposite the Pilgrims' Office. The decor is very warm, mixing modern with old - lots of exposed stone walls, wooden surfaces, modern paintings on the walls, coloured glass roof... There is a small lift. Reception is on the first floor, as is the open plan breakfast area. Service was very friendly and welcoming, and there was a lot of choices at breakfast.

My double room was right at the top, under the eaves, so there wasn't much head room but it was fine for me. Very quiet, refined place. I am walking the Camino again this year and hope to return to this hotel afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelle304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.3 km away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Airas Nunes
Hotel Airas Nunes
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#36 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 km away
Capitol Boutique Hotel
Capitol Boutique Hotel
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rua Villar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rua Villar

Property: Hotel Rua Villar
Address: Rua Vilar 8-10, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,239 - ₹ 7,714
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rua Villar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rua Villar is located in the historical center of Santiago, just 15 meters from the Cathedral. Opened in 2004, which was an eighteenth century manor house, it maintains original features such as the wooden beams and impressive central skylight. It has 15 rooms equipped with bathroom, minibar, telephone, safe, plasma TV, CD and DVD, as well as air conditioning, climate control, free Wi-Fi service, room service, 24-hour reception and a panoramic elevator. It is worth highlighting our important permanent art gallery with works by the most renowned Spanish artists.The excellent location of the hotel is ideal for walking to all the sights of Santiago. The public car park San Clemente is 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Rua Villar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rua Villar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing