We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived in Santiago after 5 weeks on the Camino and had made reservations in a hotel way outside the city. I cancelled them and our cab driver brought us to this place. They could only give us one night and we took it. Great reception - very professional and helpful. Really lovely little boutique hotel. We had a room up in a tiny attic space for 99 Euro. Had to climb a lot of stairs and it was so worth it. Incredible views over the city. Wonderful beds and a great bathroom. Perfect mix of modern and rustic/old world charm. We never ended up eating there but the menu looked fantastic and they have a beautiful courtyard area for drinks. We moved over to the Parador for the next two nights but I wish we could have stayed here. Much nicer place, quieter and the staff are simply perfect. Friendly, polite, helpful, CONCERNED. The girl who helped us was so apologetic that we had to climb the stairs with our sore feet and massive backpacks. I called down to see about clothes washing service and she told me they had an outside service but that it was VERY expensive. I told her I understood that out that we had no options that I knew of. I had already encountered the mind-blowingly expensive washing service (60 Euro for one load in Burgos)...but we just had to have some clean clothes. We picked up our clothes after we had checked out the next day and it was 9 Euro.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Customer, we are glad that your stay at our hotel was "Fabulous". On behalf of the staff thanks for your comment. It's nice to know that our work is appreciated. And the client would like the small places of our hotel as the garden, the lounge, the bar ... and most of all: our rooms and additions. Thanks again for your feedback. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    78
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
139
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and loved it. Its location is ideal, very close to the cathedral and also to the newer part of Santiago. The staff were extremely helpful: they allowed us to have a late check out as we were going to a wedding and we knew we would have a late night. They also let us borrow a laptop to check something online and recommended places to eat and visit. The only issue was that the air conditioning was not working in our room and it was pretty hot. However, the second night we opened the windows for a while after sunset and it was alright. So overall, an excellent experience!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows over the plaza can get a little loud - ask for a room to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMiguelSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to know that we have done our work, which is none other than to make your stay the best of what you were looking for.
Regards.
Cristina Fanego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Located near the cathedral, it's truly a boutique hotel, with charming rooms (very well decorated, though it lacks a full-body mirror, as my wife was glad to remind me all the time), and a delightful garden. Very ancient building, but completely renovated.

Reception desk was attentive and useful, but service at breakfast must seriously improve (no waiter, but you must ask for coffee, milk, juice, eggs, etc. take too long to serve, mistaken orders, etc.). Dinner was better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank is_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMiguelSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for your comments. We are delighted that your stay at our hotel was so good. It is great that the indications of the reception staff were helpful. We apologize for the incident during breakfast, and try to improve them as soon as possible. Best regards from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I didn't stay at this hotel during my time in Santiago de Compostela, but the large group I was traveling with had a noon meal at the restaurant there. I loved the food. Started with tasty caldo, and the main course was perfectly prepared bluefish. The best I've ever had. Service was timely, pleasant, and gracious. We were so comfortable there that conversations went on and on. It's an excellent place to entertain friends.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanmiguelsantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to know that we have done our work, which is none other than to make your stay the best of what you were looking for.
Regards,
San Miguel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I recently traveled to N.Spain and spent two nights in Santiago de Compostela at Hotel San Miguel. This is our second stay in the hotel and we were a bit apprehensive about whether the hotel would live up to our expectations given our prior memorable stay.

In short this stay met and possibly exceeded our prior stay. Perhaps this was in part due to factors other than the hotel like being able to now successfully find our way by car into the two center without being hopelessly lost and a substantially smaller crowd in town but nonetheless the hotel was quiet, tremendously clean, and professionally operated. The hotel benefits from an outstanding location in the historic old town very close to the cathedral and directly next to the museo de pelegrinos. It is a beautiful characteristic white washed building on a small plaza to the front and garden dining in the back.

Most rooms appear to have small balconies or galerias. These superior rooms are like small suites with a bedroom and galeria with a couch and chair separated from the bedroom by a sliding wood and glass door. Higher floors have views over the rooftops to churches beyond and at all hours there are bells chiming at the numerous churches in the old town. The decor in the rooms is modern and the level of finish is fairly high. It is not over the top luxury but from the sheets to the toiletries it is luxurious and it there is a room safe where you can leave your extra cash, car keys or passport. It surprises me how many hotels both in Europe and the US do not offer room safes.

Service in the hotel is prompt professional and welcoming. They can provide maps and help with most ordinary needs. They showed us up to our room and check in and check out were seemless.

At this quieter time of year I paid 100 eur/night including VAT. Note that this is only 10 eur more than at the Hotel Granda in Cangas de Onis which purports to be a 4* hotel but pales in comparison in all respects to Hotel San Miguel. Also the rate was for a galeria or balcony room.

I did not eat at the restaurant as we wanted to hit R. do Franco and R. Raina both nights but for those who want to eat dinner close to home the restaurant looks and smells appealing.

One hint: they direct you to a parking lot (La Salle) next to the Museo del Pueblo Gallego and contemporary art museum. Use it. The covered attended garage is only maybe 4 blocks from the hotel and easy to find, enter and exit. The hotel web site provides precise directions on getting to the hotel from the lot and vice versa. Make sure you have the hotel validate on check out. Thereafter you just take the parking ticket to the window at the garage where you pay the validated rate (9 eur/day). They then code the ticket as paid and give it back to you to use for the exit gate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanmiguelsantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to know that we have done our work, which is none other than to make your stay the best of what you were looking for.
Regards,
San Miguel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 km away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 km away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.2 km away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 km away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel

Property: Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Address: Praza San Miguel dos Agros 9, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,518 - ₹ 9,244
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing