We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more facilities”
Review of Melia Maria Pita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Maria Pita
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Needs more facilities”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A perfectly acceptable hotel on the Orzan beach of La Coruna. Nice rooms and lovely bathroom, but all a bit stark. For the price they charge there should be some spa facilities or swimming pool. Very limited underground parking and very expensive - €15 a night ! Breakfast is a real high spot though - the best selection of Spanish and English breakfast food we saw all week.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    578
    153
    46
    17
See reviews for
272
583
46
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room was of a good standard. It was directly above the hotel entrance but was quiet and had an amazing view of La Coruna's beach. The beds were comfortable and the room was of a good size. Bathroom looked recently renovated good condition with two sinks, bidet, and a shower over a good sized bath. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Negatives: Wifi at 12 euros for 12hours access in this day and age is ridiculous! There is also a lack of facilities - no pool, no gym, and no coffee shop/bar. It just doesn't seem to have the facilities that you would expect from a four star hotel (although this is quite usual in four staff hotels in Spain).

Room Tip: Book a seaview - definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoolePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPita, Jefe de Calidad at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for giving your oppinion about Meliá María Pita. It is the best way to improve our product and service. Also, your comments about the staff are a motivation for us and we appreciate them.

About our facilities, we regret we could not meet your expectations. In general, pool is not a facility that our guests request, because of the characteristics of the destination. On the other side, actually bar service is available for our guests in the two bars that we have. Our Piano Bar Sir John Moore is open from 19:30 until 00:15 hours. During the day, the bar of Trueiro Restaurant is open from 11:00 hours. We know that our guests demand this service so we give them the possibility of having a coffee (or any other drink) at the hotel from 7 AM (at breakfast room) until 12 PM.

Anyway, we reiterate our regret because you could not enjoy your stay as you wanted. Thank you, once again for your time and attention, and we hope to see you in the future if you come back to A Coruña.

Ignacio Naya
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicante
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked this hotel with 2 couples. As there was no non smoking room available the other couple got the presidential suite on the 6th floor. Also the other rooms are very specious and the beds are of a very good quality as well as the pillows and sheets. The breakfast was very good only it was very warm in the breakfast room

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent 9 nights at the Hotel Melia Pita, which is situated across from one of La Coruna’s busiest and most popular beaches, Orzan. Across the road from the hotel is the longest promenade in Europe – 10 kms – which circles the city and gives you easy walking access to local attractions such as the old lighthouse, the aquarium, the Old City and the Castle. The hotel is also within close walking distance to the city centre and the viby Maria Pita Square.

The hotel is stylish and the staff are friendly and helpful. Ask for a room with a seaview – it is definitely well worth it! The rooms are not very big but are adequate, with wooden floors and an arm chair with footstool to enjoy your view. The beds are firm and comfortable, and I loved their pillows. Whilst it is wonderful to sleep with the windows open for fresh sea air and the sounds of the waves, we did find the constant night traffic a little noisy. And if you are a light sleeper, either avoid August because the Spaniards party all night long during the fiesta season, or be prepared to join in on the fun.

I was initially a little bit disappointed that the rooms didn’t have coffee and tea-making facilities but was relieved that my morning coffee arrived within 5 minutes of placing my order. Room service is fast and good quality, and their continental breakfasts are great. The food in the hotel is excellent, and there are also coffee bars, bakeries (to die for), shops and other restaurants close by. When in Spain don’t be afraid to try out their delicious local dishes such as pulpo gallego (octopus which is cooked whole and cut into pieces and seasoned with olive oil, paprika and salt - traditionally served on rustic wooden plates), the famous cocido gallego (a yummy stew), empanada (a “pasty” or meat pie with lots of different fillings, including meat, fish and vegetables), caldo gallego (a cabbage, bean and potato soup), piementos de pardon (tiny green peppers fried in olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt), tarte de santiago (a ground almond cake) and lots of different shellfish and seafood options. Their wines are great too!

On the negative side: there aren’t any laundry facilities in either the hotel or in town so be prepared to pay exorbitant laundry rates e.g. 7.50 euros a shirt. Or perhaps just buy new clothes as the shopping experience in La Coruna is a good one.

The hotel’s internet is slow and a little on the expensive side, and we would have loved a gym. However, La Coruna is a ‘walking’ city with lots of little hills so put on your walking shoes and enjoy a walk around town. And if you have the time, take a day trip to Santiago de Compostela which is only a 40 min train drive away at a cost of 10 euro’s each return – it’s a magical place!

The rest of our family stayed at the Zenit Hotel which they were happy with, but they all said that they would have preferred to stay at Melia Maria Pita.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SagMoonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,578 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I just stayed a week at the Hotel Melia Maria Pita and we were very happy to have stayed there. We were given a room on the fifth floor, and it had a wonderful view of the beach. It was very entertaining to watch the people walking by the paseo maritmo with their dogs, and the people on the beach. At night we could hear the surf and the rhythm of the surf would lull us to sleep.

The room was quite big and had a wooden floor. The bathroom was also big. We were very comfortable staying there. The hotel’s public rooms were very elegant, with marble floors, and there was plenty of space. There was a very comfortable arm chair and stool in the room. The TV set was a big new flat screen TV. The closet had plenty of space.

We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast, because they had everything to make you happy. There was a very wide assortment of bread. I enjoyed ordering a fried egg and eating it with the small sausages, which were so very tasty. There was a wide variety of cold meats, such as turkey. There was plenty of the jamon iberico de bellota, which is the favorite of the Spanish. This is very expensive, but the hotel had plenty of it. I know that most foreigners do not know what it is and never even try it, but my wife and I enjoyed the ham very much. There was a large variety of pastries also. This included a wonderful apple pastry, the tarta de Santiago (which is a delicacy in Galicia), and many other goodies that make you fat and happy.

I met the hotel manager and he was very friendly and asked if we were content in the hotel. We could see that he is a man who wants to improve his hotel and is very open to suggestions. We would see him every day taking his breakfast when we were in the breakfast cafeteria.

All the employees in the hotel were super friendly and very helpful and cheerful. Our room was made up whenever we came back after lunch.

The hotel is ideally located and the major sights in the city are within walking distance. We were able to walk to the aquarium, the Maria Pita Square, the Castle of San Anton and the old city. The Museo de Bellas Artes was very close by. There is a good supermarket called Eroski at Calle Ramón del Cueto, 23, which is about 3 short blocks away from the hotel.

We are already thinking of going back to this hotel next year because we enjoyed it so very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
1.1 km away
NH Collection A Coruna Finisterre
1.0 km away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
514 reviews
1.2 km away
Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#5 of 32 in La Coruna
497 reviews
2.3 km away
Tryp Coruna Hotel
Tryp Coruna Hotel
#7 of 32 in La Coruna
808 reviews
0.8 km away
NH A Coruna Atlantico
NH A Coruna Atlantico
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Maria Pita? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Maria Pita

Property: Melia Maria Pita
Address: Avenida Pedro Barrie de La Maza 3, 15003 La Coruna, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Business Hotel in La Coruna
#5 Family Hotel in La Coruna
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,154 - ₹ 13,734
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Maria Pita 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Maria Pita is located in the center of A Coruna, in the promenade and off the beaches of Orzan and Riazor, less than 10 min. Walk from the main attractions of the city such as the Tower of Hercules, the tapas area and the historic and commercial center, with easy access from any route. It has 183 rooms,refurbished in 2015, with fabulous sea views. All are equipped with flat screen 37' TV with international channels, free internet access fiber optic high capacity and bathroom with vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities Melia. The hotel has different dining areas, O`Toxo Buffet Breakfast restaurant, Restaurant -Cafeteria Trueiro two private rooms and indoor terrace with Canal + Liga. We specialize in Galician and Mediterranean cuisine and room service is available 24 hrs. He impressed the large, glazed and bright marble hall overlooking Orzan Cove. We have an exclusive parking for our customers, Internet corner (Point E) and 7 meeting rooms and banquet facilities accommodating up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Maria Pita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Maria Pita Hotel La Coruna
Melia La Coruña
Melia Hotel Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita A Coruna/La Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing