We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet night..”
Review of Barquet

Barquet
Ranked #24 of 749 Restaurants in Tarragona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2018

It was midweek in Tarrgona and raining... we wandered the streets looking for somewhere to eat, having made a short list before we went out. Some were closed, some didn't really live up to expectations.. This place had a good menu, but we were not sure it was open. The door took some opening and there was a bit of a wait before somebody appeared...
We were eventually shown to a table as far away from the door as possible, despite being the only customers! That said, the food was good, the service friendly...and eventually some other customers turned up... but not many.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant... extraordinary value for the quality of the Catalonian food, and very helpful service even with the language barrier. The seafood paella was superb. Also a very nice ambience.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank GLadner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

The paella is the signature dish here and they do it well. Not the best we've had but very good.
A bit light on the seafood but great flavor and properly au dente rice.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank cdwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We were starving after arriving in Tarragona via train from Barcelona. Found Barquet via yelp. We were super early for lunch 12:30pm (not really but everyone in Spain eats late) so the place was empty. The decor's super cute. Owner greeted and seated us right away and made all the recommendations. Since the menu were all in Catalan we left the decision to the owner to make the choices for us. (see my pics) We sort of told him what we liked and preferred and he did the rest. Every dish from the Gazpacho, cheese and bread to the Seafood Paella tasted so good and so fresh. Please order the Calamari and mushroom stir fry. You won't regret it :) You can actually taste the freshness. The owner's suggestions were perfect for our party of four. We were very satisfied and felt full but not heavy. They serve great coffee and the dessert were to me just okay. The service was wonderful, the restaurant was super clean. Just a really enjoyable experience. Must try if you go to Tarragona. The city is beautiful and perfect for a 1 day excursion.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyme899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Before bill i would give 5 points. They charge me for 2 dishes, but i had ordered only one. I dont believe that this was mistake. Paid and walk away.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Jānis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barquet also viewed

Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Barquet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing