We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel i've ever been”
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is one of the worst hotel i've ever been to, as soon as i arrived i noticed that the floor was full of hairs and bread crumbs, the shower also full of hairs as well of a smell of sewage. The first person that came to clean the room i think that doesn't know how to clean, the second person that was supposed to come up to clean never appeared. The closet was broken and the air conditioning didn't work. I have been to a lot of hostels and this "hotel" should be considered a low class hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. We came the first time because we wanted a hotel near Reus airport (there is a cheap bus to Tarragona from the airport that runs to meet flights). We loved the place so we came back for 2 nights to soak up more of the town. The hotel is on the Rambla Nova close to the view over the sea. The rooms are a little bit old looking, but everything works fine. Most rooms above the ground floor have a balcony. The pool is small, but is enough to cool off when you need a rest during a hot day - but you wouldn't be choosing this hotel if the pool was your main priority.

The hotel only serves breakfast, but that makes sense when there are some many good cheap places to eat close by.

The hotel is also close to the practice hall of Jove De Tarragona where you watch Castellers (human Pyramid builders) on several evenings each week.

Room Tip: Any room above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolDjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and found the hotel to be in a really fantastic location.
We paid a small extra fee for an upgrade and I think it's probably worth it...more contemporary room but more importantly a small balcony with sea views.
Air con worked really well - wifi definitely didn't!
Easy walk to the gorgeous beach in Tarragona (about 10 mins - well worth it), uphill on the way home. There is a small pool in the hotel but with the beach so tempting we never used it - but it's a nice option.A short stroll to the cafe and bars of the old town, as well as the great museums in the town.
Don't miss the food market - great for everything!
Would definitely stay in Hotel Lauria if back in Tarragona again, which I will be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovegrublovegrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were very impressed by this hotel. The location is excellent, right on the main street. One night we were woken up at 3am by bar-goers, but it's expected in Spain. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. There was a pool, but we opted for the beach instead. Our room (triple; two singles and a cot) was clean. We stayed in one of the older, not remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dsd121
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.9 km away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
418 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
585 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
588 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#15 of 20 in Tarragona
259 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range: ₹ 3,750 - ₹ 6,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing