We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
159
50
17
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
50
17
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oiltasting menuen routeorange treeslovely private terracepetit foursmonkfishten minute drivean aperitifvineyards and olive grovesbasic roompool areawould stay againreus airporteasy accessyogurtsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Located midway between Tarragona and Reus, La Boella is close to major roads/motorway and yet hidden behind olive trees and wine vineyards. It can be hard to find. It took us about thirty minutes to find despite having directions and La Boella having its own sign on one of the roundabouts.

Considering its proximity to major roads, this hotel and winery is an oasis of peace and quiet hidden behind olive trees and a vineyard. Refurbished in luxurious splendor from a 14th century farmhouse and farm, the design and interior decorations are wonderful and opulent. Las Vegas may have plastic-lined black out curtains. LA Boella's rooms insulate you from the world with very thick and heavy curtains and drapes that I haven't seen outside of a museum or olde world mansion.

The rooms/suites are very spacious as are the modern, exquisite, large twin-sink bathrooms (one very wide sink, two sets of faucets). The shower enclosure is lovely with rain shower head. Many of the rooms have exterior balconies with chairs so you can enjoy the sunsets. The nearby roads are almost invisible and there is hardly any noise.

La Boella is comprised of several buildings around a courtyard surrounded by several acres of tranquil gardens hidden from the outside world by high hedges. Two buildings comprise the hotel. Another building has a gourmet restaurant. We enjoyed some of the best food I have ever tasted. The steaks and fish were all excellent as well the vegetables and desserts.

The excellent food is very reasonably priced. We paid a lot more for less quality in other parts of Spain. Many visitors come simply for the wine and food. I only wish we had time to simply sit around La Boella, strolling through its beautiful and very secluded and tranquil gardens and grounds. We felt like billionaires enjoying our private estate!

Another building houses a winery with a huge stock of wines and locally produced olives and La Boella's own olive oils etc.

La Boella has another building (and parking) for conventions. The large parking lot even has two Tesla charging ports. However, the hotel only has 19 rooms. So, it would be a perfect place for a honeymoon, or a meeting place for a small group of top executives or governmental types who demand privacy and security.

We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of our suite and the grounds so much that we changed our itinerary just to return for a couple more nights at La Boella. We would definitely return if we find ourselves in the area again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with chairs.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mas la Boella, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for making us part of the memory, and also for the best present we could have, with such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed so much your stay and we really hope to see you back here with us very soon. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst on a tour of the area. Lovely grounds set in vineyards and olive groves and a pretty pool. There are lots of shady spots in the garden to read and walk. We had the room Merlot which had a terrace overlooking the pool. The room was lovely - light and bright and extremely comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had the halfboard option which was great value - the menu may get a bit repetative for a longer stay but this hotel struck us as the sort of place people go for just a night or two. There is a huge wine list including lots of local Catalan options, most at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was also good with eggs cooked freshly if required
Wifi is free
Tarragona is just a short drive away and a very interesting place to visit. You are also close to Reus and lots of beachy spots up and down the coast. There are also interesting towns and villages inland which are not far and well worth seeing - especially Montblanc and the monastery at Poblet

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mas la Boella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear davidandm, we are grate to know that your stay with us was to your liking, and also your visits to our surroundings. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you again in the futur, if you ever return to la Costa daurada. Regards from Tarragona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Great location in the olive farm but could make it a bit easier to locate on the first day. Off the main road on a round about when we finally got there we saw the sign. The restaurant for dinner was excellent the breakfast was not up to the same standard as dinner. Learn some Spanish the staff were great but communicating was a challenge . Also don't stay there when there is a wedding we got woken up at 4 am in the morning without any apology from the hotel staff. A pot of tea at 3.50 was a bit rich. Would recommend the hotel but as I said could be some improvements. If you had issues I a, not sure they could be dealt with as the language would be a barrier

Room Tip: Stay away if there is a function
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mas la Boella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you MIke02 for your opinion. We apologize for the inconveniences you explain, and rest assured that we have taken note of your comments to improve our services. With the hope to welcome you again in the futur we remain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

The hotel was great, and the restaurant was fabulous. Laura was so helpful and really made the stay 5 stars. Rose was absolutely wonderful, she helped us pair just the right wines with our food. Rose and Laura really made the stay memorable.

Definitely need bug spray when staying in a room with a patio!

This hotel is outside of Tarragona, so I suggest a car rental, or expect a 20 Euro Taxi ride. I'd suggest a couple of nights at La Boella to rest, relax and eat some fabulous food, then move into Tarragona to stay right in the heart of the city for some shopping and sightseeing if you are there for a tourist visit.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mas la Boella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you very much for your comments, we have transmitted your kind words to our staff, specially to Laura and Roser, who are very happy to know that you enjoy their attentions. We hope to welcome you again if your travel plans returns you to the Costa Daurada again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We had the half board booking and that was a good surprise overall.
We had the room number 2 "merlot" with a good view on the garden. The room was calm even if we could hear the elevator but, since the hotel is small, was not really used.
Our diner was good and fresh.
This is definitely not a 5 stars hotel but with a special discount price at 170€ for one night + diner + breakfast that was fair.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mas la Boella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you Michel V for sharing your opinion and comments about our hotel and hope to welcome you again in La Boella. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews