We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of El Balco

El Balco
Ranked #20 of 585 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Nice setting for a meal . Great ribeye steak and Rhind steak . The meal is all about the steak as you only get a potato and a very small pot of veg . Also a beautiful sauce to accompany steak which really adds to the taste. Enjoyed would got back.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank brad pit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

First night in Girona and couldn’t wait to try this place as reviews all amazing but left disappointed. My daughter and I both enjoy steak in uk medium/rare but appreciate we need to order medium when outside uk. Quality of meat was amazing but “medium” was very rare and both unable to finish. Sorry guys but not what we expected and left feeling let down. €51 for 2 rib eye steaks 2 pieces of potato and tiny portion of veg and bottle of water \ not great experience :(

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 57lisa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This Argentinian specialist was a great find - the chef has been working his magic on his charcoal grid for 32 years and he is very very good. We had to book and arrived at 8.30 and noone else there so we sat down and worried we had made a bad choice but within 15 minutes the place was absolutley packed and there was a great atmosphere and the food matched the whole experience. Highly recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

It was easy to see why this place was full of men when we walked in - it is carnivore heaven!
We decided to go there because we fancied a steak after so many tapas meals in Girona and this restaurant came highly recommended, and no wonder!
As usual for Spain not much in the way of vegetables and, in this case, we were told the steak came “with new potatoes” which was a bit of a stretch as it was garnished with half a potato and a small pea fritter and the salad we had ordered never arrived. No matter, the steak was delicious and cooked to perfection. Accompanied by a full bodied red we thoroughly enjoyed our meat fest.
Desserts were good too and we had room for them as we had skipped the started, the traditional cake as recommended by the server was delicious.
Good and friendly service made for a relaxing and enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Gill057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

The steak here exceeded my expectations. It seems to be a family run business and they’re doing it right. It’s not pretentious, just good service and good food. The Novillo steak was excellent,don’t miss out on this one.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank bearwitme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Balco also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to El Balco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing