We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Perfect hotel for a weekend break in Girona. Pleasant staff on reception, room modern and clean, but most of all so close to the train and bus station. Girona is a fantastic town, what a little gem. More compact than Barcelona and so friendly. Arrived on Friday lunchtime and did the usual tour of the town, with a trip on the tourist train. Went to a fab indian restaurant called Taj near the historic part of town. Great food and good wine at a reasonable price. Went to Estartit on Saturday, lovely resort with some great fish restaurants, very relaxed and not spoilt with english bars and "all you can eat buffets and breakfasts". Came home Sunday feeling very relaxed after two wonderful days away - because the airport is only 20 minutes from the town you really feel like you have had a break. - and the bus fare is only 5 Euros return.

The great thing about Girona is you can get a bus or train up the coast to Estartit or Figueres or go the other way towards Costa Brava or Barcelona and the fares are very reasonable.

Try it, it's cheaper than a weekend in London and although I am not a culture vulture (I also do all inclusive in Tossa Beach Hotel, Tossa De Mar) I love the history and general relaxed atmoshere of Girona and the Carlemany Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie13nob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    262
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
51
265
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Thanks for the tourist office for finding us this pleasant, business hotel in the heart of "new" Gerona. The front desk treated us well, and we got great recommendations on where to eat from them. The room was fine -- good size, clean and quiet. It's not an exciting place

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This place is located in the commercial area of Girona, and is walking distance from the marvelous Old Town area. Carlemany has all the basic services, is clean and comfortable -- more like a business hotel. We would have preferred to stay in one of the Old Town cozier hotels, but because they are mostly small availability is not easy to come by.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Dear KathyKitty,

Dear Wirral-Tripor,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your accommodation and our services and facilites, these will be shared will all our associates in order to keep up with the good work and service. As you noticed we mostly cater to business type of guest however we are now upgrading some of our rooms to fit independent travellers.

We hope you enjoyed our lovely Christmas decor that has been on since late november.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms very nicely furnished. The only thing I would have liked would have been a coffee/tea hot water pot and service in the room.

The one issue I had was with the internet. -- free but VERY VERY slow. It took 3 hours to accomplish work that should have taken an hour. For that reason, I probably won't be able to return to this property as I spend a lot of time on the internet even during a leisure trip. Otherwise loved the hotel, the location and the breakfast (try the local pastry XiuXiu)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomentsNotice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Dear "MomentsNotice"

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany with other Tripadvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your accommodation and that you enjoyed one of our most typical local pastries: El Xuixo, a sweet thing to remember for sure.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you had with our WIFI system. We do acknowledge that some technical issues took place during your stay, we can assure you that those were properly solved and our Wifi is working at is regular speed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The hotel is in an excellent quiet location, less than 10 mins from Rail/Bus station, a modern hotel, very clean and with all the usual facilities including free internet and restuarant, no breakfast included in our deal but can be purchased at around Euro 13 per person (expensive) attached to the hotel was a very nice cafe with pastries etc.. which would easliy set you up til lunch time. Easy walking distance to the old part of the city, wandering down the narrow streets findings lots of unusual shops/bars and restuarants, surprisingly not too expensive, recommend Cafe Irlandes for food and drink their lunch menu euro 10.50 for three courses was exceptional all home cooked try the pork with apples casserole "yummy" one night we tried the El De La Lleona Morrocan/Catalan style food very well cooked and excellent value three courses with a bottle of wine Euro 40 for two. The old city is compact and a pleasure to walk around. All in all a great hotel and Girona weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirral_Tripor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Dear Wirral-Tripor,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your accommodation, these will be shared will all our associates in order to keep up with the good work and service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.1 km away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.0 km away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.7 km away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.1 km away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,366 - ₹ 16,461
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing