We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Peninsular
Nearby Hotels
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 132
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Carlemany(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Girona Costa Brava(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Condal(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Costabella(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nord 1901(Girona)
US$ 122
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ultonia Girona(Girona)
US$ 84
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bellmirall(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
86
220
94
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
220
94
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationold townthe busacross the bridgeyogurtthe heart of the citythe main squareminute walkweekend breaknarrow streetscosta bravaeurosbarcelonasocketscafeswardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The foyer looked promising but the rooms were primitive and rudimentary. Very clean and tidy, just no personality. We had a triple, plenty of space. All ok, just not memorable. No parking close.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

When our car was towed away from a city centre car park the staff at The Peninsular could not have been more helpful . They made several phone calls for us and arranged a taxi to take us to the pick up point.
Excellent service with a smile .

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Everything turned out positive, the location is superb, close to the Gothic area, close to the main street : Rambla de la LIbertad, it is at the same time at walking distance of the train station. A pleasant 15 minutes walk.
Breakfast was really very nice, the bar area is pleasant. The hotel has 2 entrances on two different streets . The rooms are very nice and the rates reasonable, we paid 80 euros with tax and breakfast, and the room was more of a jr. suite, with a separate area with a big desk, flat TV was nice and NOT hanging someplace on the wall.
I cannot think of anything we did not like and will come back. I believe it is a mistake to limit the visit of Girona as a day trip from Barcelona. One of the highlights of our trip was
walking the old walls of the city. The are stairs to get to the top of the walls. The hotel is near the Puente de Piedra, at the end of the bridge a few meters from the hotel stops a little touristic "train" worth jumping in for a general visit of this fascinating town.
The front desk is effective, I asked for a haridresser, the guy did not know but soon enough he recommended a very good one, around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graziella5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice now and we all would stay at this hotel again..was greeted by friendly staff ,the rooms were always clean ,the breakfast is continental and very nice ,also with different fresh fruit every day .
The beds are comfy and we heard no street noise in our stay .
It is a short taxi ride from the train station about 8 euro but prob about as a few of the streets are one way.. or prob about a 20 min walk .
The area is very nice we caught the little train by the bridge up to the cathedral and it tells you all about the area ,but it is near enough to walk up and well worth doing as there is plenty to see up there and the views are beautiful .
would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocknrose79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We overnighted at the Peninsular after a 6 day stay in Barcelona. I was quite impressed with this hotel. It is quite stylish and definitely centrally located but on a quiet street. Although we only stayed there for a day we managed to see a good number of sights as they were all within walking distance.

The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Although the check -in time is 3 o'clock we checked in a couple of hours earlier than this with no problems whatsoever.

The hotel is currently being refurbished. When we were there they seemed to be finishing the refurbishment of their restaurant. Our room was on the floor above it but we heard no noise.

The reception area is rather impressive, sleek and cool. The old structures that can stil be seen in some parts of the hotel make it quite special. I also liked the antique wardrobe that greets you as soon as you exit the lift ob the first floor.

Our family room was identical to the triple room in the hotel's pictures except that it had a good -sized flat-screen TV rather than the tiny tube type one that you can see in their photo. The bathroom was rather good although it lacked a bidet.

Unfortunately we didn't have breakfast here so I cannot rate it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews