We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, not professional at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencia Universitaria San Marius
Ranked #643 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

I booked a room for the past weekend and I clearly asked if it was possible to check-in at midnight. They didn't even bother to answer me till THE DAY BEFORE I CAME (around 2 weeks after I booked the room).

They actually firstly told me that my accomodation was not available anymore and I should have moved to another place of them and paying 20€ extra for the late check in. After I shown my disappointment, they offer me a discount and they apparently discharge the request for late check-in..

well.. amazingly, 10 mins later they wrote me back that they "fix the problem" with the original accomodation. Even more surprisingly, 5 mins after that they communicated me that I was supposed to pay the extra..

The place is cheap but they don't even give you a towel and the wifi works pretty bad..

I seriously don't recommend this place!!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I spent here three nights and I paid about 90 €. Residencia san Marius is not very well connected to the city center but it's more or less clean and quite cheap. It' recommended for young people.
Close to the Residencia there is a bakery/pastry where I bought the best donuts i've ever eaten in Europe.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lderqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hostel was booked because we were last minute and we were looking for something under 50$ per night but there wasn't a lot of choices. We arrived by night after looking for the place a long time because the indication on the site were really basic ( Take the metro until "Hospital Clinic Stop" and go toward Diagonal, after you will see the street". Then we checked-in on a piece of paper with a lady who was not in charge of the hostel. She did not give us any information ( Showers, wi-fi, attractions, etc)
We were a couple but were given 2 simple bed because there is no double bed as mentionned on the site, we did not receive towels to shower either. We wasnted to wash but almost no water coming out. Then, we went to sleep and realise the hostel is just beside a bar so a LOT of noises until 3 am, just like if we were in the bar!
Really not a good place for people who are travelling in couple and wasnt to relax. We never saw any employee for the rest of our stay and had to look for toilet paper ourselves since it was missing for an nentire day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smile4you30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We booked a stay for 3 nights at this hostel on April 2013. After arriving we were told it's fully booked and they have to send us to another location a few kilometers away - although we had a confirmed booking done a few days before! Person manning the desk couldn't speak a word in English, and this was translated to us with a help of another guest - who also mentioned stuff like this happens all the time. They blamed it on "technical problems with email"! At another location (much farther from the city center) nobody could speak an English word either. Double room was spacious, but not clean, shared showers were really small. AVOID this cheating place and go someplace else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tadasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The year I realized I have to go to MWC very late. So all hotels in the price range recommended by my employer were full. I could only find something above 500 euro per night or below 50 euro per night.

I've chosen this hotel from the later, paying attention to location and quality. I've paid 210 euros for the stay, while most of my colleagues were paying more for a single night. I had to pay in advance in cache though.

Location is good - it took me 20 minutes to walk to MWC venue when I wanted to have a walk, and taxi there was around 5 euros. Despite of it's place is called "student residence", it was not noisy, I slept well all 6 nights. May be I was just too tired to notice the noise after meetings and booth duty on MWC.

I would not say it was a bad experience. Staff did not speak English but using international words, gestures and smiles it was possible to communicate. It was tricky to get in to check in but I managed. Everything was clean enough. There was free wifi in my room, and there was a fridge. Having a fridge was handy because on Sunday and Monday I was too tired to go out for dinner and just bought some food in a nearby supermarket.

If you are limited in money or if there is no where else to go like in my case with this MWC, I would certainly recommend this place to stay. It is very basic, but price is cheap too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izardak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Bonanova
#372 of 515 in Barcelona
129 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#320 of 515 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Exe Mitre
#343 of 515 in Barcelona
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
#311 of 515 in Barcelona
477 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#17 of 515 in Barcelona
717 reviews
Gracia
Residencia Universitaria Augusta
Residencia Universitaria Augusta
#450 of 735 in Barcelona
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria San Marius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria San Marius

Address: Muntaner, 507, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 2,696 - ₹ 3,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria San Marius 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Residencia Universitaria San Marius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing