We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tapas, people, atmosphere, busy, fun, good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerveceria Catalana

Cerveceria Catalana
Ranked #216 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tapas, people, atmosphere, busy, fun, good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Easy to find, a few blocks off Cataluyna Plaza. Very crowded, excellent tapas, fun place. Bar, might be the place to sit, because you can see all of the dishes, but hard to get a seat, next best is a table. Very large restaurant, but busy and the food is great. It should be on everyone's list of places to go in Barcelona. Reservations are probably a good thing, but can be seated with a small wait without. We were there in May of 2012 and the city was very crowded with tourists and locals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,036
    2,879
    745
    227
    170
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must go in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

EXCELLENT! BEST TAPAS RESTAURANT IN BARCELONA. I've visited here three times when I've only been to Barcelona twice for a total of seven days!
It can get overly crowded here tho, since it's a very popular and famous restaurant. We had our names down for a table and they told us it would take over an hour ( ! ) and this place is large! But we luckily got seats by the bar counter, so we only had to wait 20 or so minutes. You don't need to place your name for a seat by the bar, if you're lucky enough to find a spot, it's yours!
And I think it's much more of a fun dining experience if you sit by the bar because you can see all the tapas plates and fresh seafood lined up in front of you.
The squid, shrimp, clams are all delicious. Do try the green peppers too. Actually, everything on their menu is a good bet. And don't forget to order a pitcher of sangria, it's the best that I've ever had anywhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peachkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Too much salt!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We went to Catalana based on the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor and boy were they wrong! the food here was extremely salty! Every dish we had, had insane amounts of salt on it to the point that it was inedible! I really have no idea where all the good reviews are coming from - we ordered about 6 different tapas ( mushrooms and asparagus, pimientos, calamari, montadito with shirmp and chicken etc.) and everything was overly salted. Having eaten AMAZING tapas in madrid and in the south of Spain, this restaurant just doesnt cut it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice, but overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Everyone told us that we HAD to visit Cerveceria Catalana while we were in Barca for 5 days.

So, after visiting some of Gaudi's amazing sites, we headed for Cerveceria Catalana to see what the fuss was about. We knew it was going to be busy, so the wait didnt bother us. Ok, so the tapas was very nice - but it wasnt "the" meal of our time in Barcelona - we found that there were a number of other restaurants and tapas bars which produce equally good meals in a much more atmospheric (rather than just loud) environment.

I suppose what raised our eyebrows was the fact that not all of the tapas we ordered came out to us, and having had our order corrected, our bill was presented to us with both the correct order and incorrect order (which they took away).

We left having enjoyed the meal, but a meal which they made errors on our order and on our bill. Our tip - if its too busy, keep walking... there are a lot of awesome places to eat in Barca.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimTownPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Most memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Cerveceria Catalana was recommended to us by our concierges at Hotel Alma where we were staying in Barcelona. It about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We had been looking for a place to have tapas, but most of the cafes/bars made their tapas before lunch, closed for siesta time and served the same tapas again in the evening. The best time to go to Cerveceria Catalana is between 4 p.m.and 6 p.m. the earlier the better. It is indeed a happening place with long lines as it gets later - we tried to get in around 9 p.m. on two occasions, but the wait was too long. We ordered "angry eggs" which was recommended again by our concierge - a plate of crisp potato sticks in a mild sauce with two fried eggs on top, yolk runny. The server then tossed it all together breaking up the eggs. I am not an egg person, definitely not eggs that are runny, but it was delicious. We had ham croquettes which were also very good, I can't remember what else, but everything was FRESH and tasty. My husband had local beer and I enjoyed a lovely half bottle of cold cava. It was our last meal in Barcelona and our most memorable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerveceria Catalana also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cerveceria Catalana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing