We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #215 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel was very reasonable but after reading some of the reviews I wasnt sure what I would make of it! The location was perfect- 7 girls away for weekend looking to see the sights, shop and go out and the location is spot on, could walk metro it everywhere although this ment that there was a bit of noise at night.
Staff were friendly (well most of them if perhaps a little grumpy at times) and they always answered any questions we had! Rooms were clean and not too small with fridge, balcony safe. Shower/bath was nice and powerful and plenty of hot water. Only thing I would say is the air con didnt work so not sure how good that would be in summer but for this time of year is perfect- the balcony gave a nice breeze as we were on third floor.

Room Tip: Some of our group were on 4th floor and they had a more modern room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Very reasonable price, very clean room and comfortable (firm mattress) beds, plenty of hot water and adequate heating. Handy to have a fridge and a safe in the room. Friendly and courteous staff, all English-speaking, and tolerant of my attempts at speaking Spanish!

Above all, this has to be an almost perfect location for a stay in Barcelona: just off La Rambla, and only 2 minutes from the quayside, right in the old city. Perfect for exploring on foot.

We stayed for a five day break just before Christmas and it was pretty quiet - I'd expect it to be somewhat noisier in high season. We could hear street life going on late into the night.

We would stay here again, what more could I say?

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to get away from the street noise! (There is a lift, so no problem with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AdamxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My friend and I stayed here the day/night before a cruise and found the location was perfect!
It was nice to be able to check in at 12pm and not have to wait til 2 or3pm and the staff was very helpful whenever we had a question or need. Now keep in mind even if you look at the pictures of the front of the hotel, you may still walk right by it! To get to the hotel, you come off a street and go down a narrower street that looks like a pedestrian way between the buildings. The entrance is not a grand one and you step down into the lobby! So when you walk in, look down as the first step is a doosey if you don't! But if you wander in the halls and stair wells, the tiles on the wall and decor remind you where your are!

I requested a modern room as someone else suggested and we got a nice balcony room on 3rd floor! The room was clean, had a fridge, safe, flat screen tv and was modestly decorated but in a way that you can tell that there was a problem with guests helping themselves to certain things. The only thing that I did not like is that the floor was absent of any kind of rug as the floor was cold,even with socks! But the bathroom was great, nice and big! The balcony was just enough to stand on, and look down at the people passing by, or the apartments across the way, or the construction of a building 1/2 a block down! As we just came off a 7 hr flight it was nice to put the wine we picked up in the fridge and take a nap! The beds were a bit hard, and when we did go to bed that night (FRI) the noise from the street echoed as it bounced off the buildings and seemed to go on til 3am! Well that's the city and why I brought ear plugs and sleeping tablets! As this was a pre-cruise hotel and we choose it for the location, the liviness of the partiers in the street only added to the charm! I actually thought about checking out what I was missing, but rolled over and went back to sleep! Their little breakfast is well done for the great price! But don't wait till the end as many things are not replaced after a certain time! And the best place for the internet is downstairs in their media area and hard to get in room on 3rd floor! LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION....blocks from Las Ramblas and almost everything you may need!

Room Tip: Non balcony rooms that don't face the street will be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tantakatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

If you're looking for a no-frills, cheap and cheerful budget hotel in downtown Barcelona, look no further than the Hotel Canton.

Finding it is the first part. Located in one of the narrow streets within the maze that is Barrio Gotico, a bit of advance research on Google Streetview or other maps would be advisable. But once you've got your bearings, you're within walking distance of the Ramblas and all the cafes, bars and restaurants that populate this area. Metro is also a short walk away.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room quality was surprisingly good - though the single bed was on the small side, which might not suit a taller or larger person. Digital wall safe and flat screen TV are included, and the bathroom / shower is clean and modern. The size of the room itself is not designed for swinging of cats, but then again, I tend not to bring my cat away for weekends - much less swing her about a hotel room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed in a single room for two nights in early October at a cost of €40 per night. The room was small but adequate with a flat screen TV, a free safe and a nice bathroom with a shower and a hair dryer. The bed was a little bit hard but ok. The hotel is in a central location with La Rambla, the Port and beach all close by. The many bars and restaurants of Carre Ample are a couple of minutes away. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and offers excellant value for money. Although it is a one star hotel I believe it deserves to be at least a superior two star. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leixlip_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#346 of 515 in Barcelona
835 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#280 of 515 in Barcelona
1,296 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#410 of 515 in Barcelona
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#196 of 515 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#352 of 515 in Barcelona
493 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#202 of 515 in Barcelona
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Address: Nou de Sant Francesc 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 3,622 - ₹ 7,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canton 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canton is a familiar and modern hotel, with comfortable and well equipied rooms. Located in the city center, next to the famous Ramblas and the Harbour of Barcelona. You can get walking in a few minutes to the most significative tourist atractions of the city, such as Picasso Museum, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the church of Santa Maria del Mar, the Barceloneta quarter and the beach. Well conected to public transport, with direct metro line to the train station that goes to the airport. Also within walking distance to the Cruise Port Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing