We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury apartment hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #122 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury apartment hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We needed a long weekend away and Barcelona seemed a great place to unwind. My girlfriend found a good offer at the Hesperia and we had a large suite, which included a living room with flat screen TV, a bedroom with flat screen TV, a separate dressing room, two separate toilets, and a very large bathroom with a vast shower and a very large spa jacuzzi bath.

The suite was excellent: quiet, and extremely well laid out. However, the decoration was looking a little tired, with some of the furniture in need or a clean, and a little bit banged up. And while the suite had two flat screen TV's there was no HD signal, in-house movie or on demand service, and the only channels were the standard hotel 4:3 news services (BBC, CNN, FOX, etc).

The included buffet breakfast was spectacular, and well worth the price, with a very large selection of hot and cold dishes to suite any taste and style. The hotel had a members bar/club that provided complementary drinks (beer, scotch, gin) and small snacks. However the evening meal in the restaurant was well over-priced for the standard of food: which wasn't bad, merely priced at a level that suggested a chef much better than that which was served.

The hotel is some considerable distance from the city centre (25 minutes on the metro) in a very industrial part of Barcelona next to a housing estate consisting of a domino series of Stalinist tower blocks, and the Oncology wing of the local hospital. It is clearly a good conference hotel that had hoped for greater things, and one can imagine the developers promising to bring jobs and money into the local community. The location - both the distance from Barcelona and the locale - mean that unless you stay in the city centre, or stay in the hotel, there is nothing to see or do, and only one very sorry Kebab restaurant in the nearby street.

Connected with the hotel is a gym and pool, but these are public services; and while there is easy access to the facilities via a hotel corridor, you do run into a gym filled with fit young men and women pumping iron - which can be a bit intimidating if you are a middle-aged couple looking for a relaxing swim. One one occasion the pool was taken over by a home load of retired people who were swimming in a rather confused manner.

The experience was good, and my girlfriend loved the jacuzzi bath, but I would not rush to revisit the hotel due to the location and time taken to get into the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitizen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    876
    249
    104
    52
See reviews for
266
1,263
88
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the end of a cruise. N H group hotel so standards are very good 5 star, clean and tidy with friendly staff. Room excellent with nice features and a large shower room. Did not eat in the hotel but several guests told us it was great for breakfast. Several cafes nearby selling beer, wine, cafe con leche filled baggettes etc at a very reasonable price. Free shuttle to Barcelona centre (but not back.) Metro station 5 minutes walk from hotel that is 20 minutes to/from Barcelona. Also free shuttle to airport which was handy. Please note shuttle goes to terminal 1 so if you are flying from terminal 2 leave time to get across using the free airport shuttle between the terminals. For metro get the T10 tickets giving 10 rides at less than half price. 2 people can use the ticket by putting it through twice. Overall excellent and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent but you can upgrade to a superior room or a suite. The suites are unb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realityracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lovely hotel quite a way out from the main town but we knew this from reading other reviews.This was not a problem as the hotel provide a courtesy bus a few times a day and the metro is just across the road.On arriving we we greeted by a very pleasant lady whose attitude changed when we decided not to take her offer of an upgrade as we knew we would not be spending much time in the room. The standard room was more than adequate,lovely bathroom which takes a bit of getting used to as there are mirrors everywhere. There is a lovely cafe around the back of the hotel called 365 which sells lovely fresh rolls cakes and do a lovely coffee for a few euros also in same area are a few local bars.Make sure you check your bill daily (which can do on the television in your room ) as someone put two breakfasts 48 euros on our room an our last day,when my husband queried this with the lady on reception she said we must have had breakfast and walked out without signing for it which would have been impossible as we never had breakfast in the hotel all the time we stayed as we used the 365 cafe. It was quite embarrasing as she obviously did not believe us.The hotel should change there policy and make people sign before they have their breakfast. They did take it off the bill but it did spoil the end of a lovely holiday

Room Tip: If you intend staying in your room go for the upgrade if not standard rooms are fine.An upgrade is 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank oliviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights leading up to our Mediterranean cruise with MSC, hoping to explore Barcelona a bit. What a great hotel. The building itself is a work of art. We were warmly greeted and checked in with no difficulty.

Even though there are only 4 elevators for highrise building, we never waited much for one to arrive. You enter your desired floor at a console in the elevator lobby, and it tells you which one to go to. This works very efficiently!

As you rise, you experience the reveal of the city that is a rapid ascent to your room floor.

The rooms themselves are spotless, quiet, and adorned with high-quality finishes and modern decor. The bathroom was luxurious, finished in dark, highly polished onyx-type stone, and walk in shower. Great water pressure and lots of hot water available. The toilet was contained in a separate frosted glass room, with accent lighting. The only minus I might say is closet space, there isn't a ton of it, but it's adequate.

The restaurant on the 3rd floor was what one would expect in a 4 or 5 star hotel, with the price to match. Excellent selection of wines. Didn't make it to the restaurant at the top unfortunately, as it was not open at the times we wanted.

The hotel is very close to the public transit subway/metro, giving ready access to nightlife and sights. As well, not too far from the airport, which is convenient.

I would definitely stay here again, especially if I can get a preferred rate like we did when we came.

Room Tip: High floor for the awesome views of the city. If they offer you the upgrade at checkin to the two s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebulaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Hesperia tower last year and we were very impressed with the hotel, staff, price, etc...Definitly a great place to stay in Barcelona. The only inconvenience is the location. It is far from the downtown area but across the street from the line 1 metro station. We are going back to Barcelona this November and we are looking forward to a great stay with them once again..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#216 of 512 in Barcelona
456 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#76 of 512 in Barcelona
1,891 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
2,300 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#185 of 512 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 512 in Barcelona
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,672 - ₹ 16,054
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing